We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Breaffy Woods Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Breaffy Woods Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

144 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 139: English reviews
Start your review of Breaffy Woods Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed January 7, 2017 via mobile

Stayed here the night before New Year's Eve. The family room was fine. We ate in the house hotel and the food here was ok also. The fun just about to begin, we (2 adults & 2 kids) visited the bar in the Woods and it was an eye opener, kids running wild jumping on seats, music blaring, bar was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Endatra
WilsonBirdBreaffy, General Manager at Breaffy Woods Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Endatra, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of the hotel of your recent stay at the resort, i do apologise sincerely that you did not enjoy stay. We had our Kids club entertainment disco in the woods bar during the Christmas break to allow for convenience to all the familes staying. I can assure you...

Reviewed January 4, 2017

This property is not up to hotel standards. The experience was awful, when we arrived in our room, someone had used the bathroom and flushed. It did not get any better, the room was dirty, the overall premises was grubby, the heating could not be regulated and we could not open the window/patio door to let in fresh air. Next...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Duhollow
WilsonBirdBreaffy, General Manager at Breaffy Woods Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Duhollow, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your stay, we take all feedback very seriously as it allows us to improve on our service and standards. The hotel is currently undergoing a full repaint of all bedrooms and public areas. I do apologise sincerely for the continuous interruption from house keeping this was certainly...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed January 4, 2017

The "Hotel" was appalling. My room had a kitchen sink in it with a death trap balcony. The kids club as advertised did not exist which resulted in hoards of kids running wild through the hotel (at 4.30am in the morning). No food available (after breakfast) until 5.30pm.The "bar" was a function room. The Woods is like a holding area...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank grwall420
WilsonBirdBreaffy, General Manager at Breaffy Woods Hotel, responded to this review

Dear grwall420, Thank you for taking the time to write your review, it was a pity that you felt that our kids club did not exist, the kids club team were running the club every evening from 6pm to 10pm which started with either a movie or the magic show, face painting was available every night as was the captain...

wales
Reviewed November 12, 2016

Our annual Welsh Male Voice trips from Mid Wales has taken us to many wonderful areas of Britain and beyond and this wonderful visit to Ireland was equal to everything we had experienced. As quite a large choir of forty plus , with partners and friends we need special accommodation- The Breaffy Woods did not lets us down, infact the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alwyn E
WilsonBirdBreaffy, General Manager at Breaffy Woods Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alwyn E, Thank you for taking the time to write your review, i was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at Breaffy Resort, it was a pleasure to host you and your colleagues. The team thoroughly enjoyed looking after you and i was delighted to read that you would return in the future. I have passed on...

Donegal, Ireland
Reviewed November 7, 2016

Hotel staff friendly and accommodating - I ordered a room with a bath but this was overlooked when we booked in however the girl at reception relocated us immediately. Not all rooms have a bath so you need to ask when your making your booking. Rooms with spacious and clean. Hotel was very kids orientated.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank goodchoice
WilsonBirdBreaffy, General Manager at Breaffy Woods Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Goodchoice, Thank you for taking the time to write your review, i was gad to read that the reception team were able to accommodate your request and i apologise this was over looked in the first instance. I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future....

Reviewed November 7, 2016

It was a mid-week break with the kids for Halloween. We arrived relatively late on the first night and drove up to the Woods Hotel. It was incredibly busy and quite loud - it was Halloween after all. The place was bursting with kids screaming and running about. Which wasn't so bad since our two kids joined in the evening...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patrick K
WilsonBirdBreaffy, General Manager at Breaffy Woods Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Patrick K, Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we try at all times to ensure that children enjoy their time with us while staying here and this is why we offer our children's entertainment in the Woods bar , we have Healy Macs bar in Breaffy House, with the entertainment being offered for adults. We...

Reviewed November 4, 2016 via mobile

Pleasant visit with family and friends. Staff were friendly but given there were a lot of families with children onsite the evening service could have been better. Entertainment in the evenings was well done and children enjoyed it. Onsite gym is of a good standard and the pool and pool area is clean and well staffed, staff were excellent. Overall...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shaneo78
WilsonBirdBreaffy, General Manager at Breaffy Woods Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Shaneo78, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Resort, i am glad that you and your family enjoyed your break away, and i look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Wilson Bird General Manager.

Celbridge, Ireland
Reviewed October 26, 2016

Has to be the worst hotel I never stayed in. The first room had a radiator that could not be turned off as the switch was broken and the room was too hot. The second on the ground floor had a patio door out to the back of the hotel. This would not lock and was open and a security...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Elizabeth F
WilsonBirdBreaffy, General Manager at Breaffy Woods Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Elizabeth F, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your stay, we take all feedback very seriously as it allows us to improve our level of service and standards. I apologize sincerely that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that we did not offer our usual high level of service. I am...

Sherborne, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 26, 2016

Stayed here for a wedding, room was comfortable, clean and met our needs for the night. Had a small fridge and kitchen in the room too. Wasn't an issue that we were late out of the room either because I read in the room the checkout was at 12pm when in fact it was 11am. Can't comment on the food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joe H
WilsonBirdBreaffy, General Manager at Breaffy Woods Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Joe H, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your recent stay at Breaffy Woods Hotel, i was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and at the wedding party. The team and i look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort in the near future. Kind Regards Wilson Bird General Manager.

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed October 25, 2016 via mobile

We stayed one night in Breaffy Woods Hotel. Very nice place. Room was lovely. There were three of us and each of us had a decent bed. No camp beds which was great. The staff very friendly and receptionist very friendly and helpful. We had dinner in the bar in the Breaffy house hotel which was almost beside Breaffy Woods....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alila60
WilsonBirdBreaffy, General Manager at Breaffy Woods Hotel, responded to this review

Dear alila60, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your recent stay at Breaffy Resort, we take all feedback very serious as this allows us to improve on areas which have let the customer down. I apologize sincerely that you did not enjoy your experience in Healy Macs Bar and i have passed on your comments...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlebar
1.1 mi away
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
#2 of 8 in Castlebar
816 reviews
10.0 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 15 in Westport
1,897 reviews
11.2 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 15 in Westport
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#7 of 15 in Westport
1,223 reviews
10.0 mi away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#6 of 15 in Westport
1,522 reviews
10.2 mi away
Clew Bay Hotel
Clew Bay Hotel
#5 of 15 in Westport
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Breaffy Woods Hotel

Address: Station Road, Castlebar, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Castlebar
Price Range: $65 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Breaffy Woods Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Breaffy Woods Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breaffy International Sports Castlebar
Hotel Breaffy International Sports
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Breaffy Woods Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Go to another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Duhollow, Jan 4, 2017 | Read review
“Specify if you wish to have a room with a Bath.”
 of 5 bubbles goodchoice, Nov 7, 2016 | Read review
“ask to be away from the bar area.”
 of 5 bubbles clevercat123, Sep 27, 2016 | Read review
“None of the rooms have nets so you are overlooked anywhere on the frontor back”
 of 5 bubbles lin652015, Aug 24, 2016 | Read review
“Pool is across the car park at Breaffy house”
 of 5 bubbles Bat100, Jul 22, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question