We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Breaffy Woods Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Breaffy Woods Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

141 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 136: English reviews
wales
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our annual Welsh Male Voice trips from Mid Wales has taken us to many wonderful areas of Britain and beyond and this wonderful visit to Ireland was equal to everything we had experienced. As quite a large choir of forty plus , with partners and friends we need special accommodation- The Breaffy Woods did not lets us down, infact the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alwyn E
Donegal, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel staff friendly and accommodating - I ordered a room with a bath but this was overlooked when we booked in however the girl at reception relocated us immediately. Not all rooms have a bath so you need to ask when your making your booking. Rooms with spacious and clean. Hotel was very kids orientated.

Helpful?
Thank goodchoice
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was a mid-week break with the kids for Halloween. We arrived relatively late on the first night and drove up to the Woods Hotel. It was incredibly busy and quite loud - it was Halloween after all. The place was bursting with kids screaming and running about. Which wasn't so bad since our two kids joined in the evening... More 

Helpful?
Thank Patrick K
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Pleasant visit with family and friends. Staff were friendly but given there were a lot of families with children onsite the evening service could have been better. Entertainment in the evenings was well done and children enjoyed it. Onsite gym is of a good standard and the pool and pool area is clean and well staffed, staff were excellent. Overall... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shaneo78
WilsonBirdBreaffy, General Manager at Breaffy Woods Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Shaneo78, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Resort, i am glad that you and your family enjoyed your break away, and i look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Wilson Bird General Manager. More 

Celbridge, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2016

Has to be the worst hotel I never stayed in. The first room had a radiator that could not be turned off as the switch was broken and the room was too hot. The second on the ground floor had a patio door out to the back of the hotel. This would not lock and was open and a security... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth F
WilsonBirdBreaffy, General Manager at Breaffy Woods Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Elizabeth F, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your stay, we take all feedback very seriously as it allows us to improve our level of service and standards. I apologize sincerely that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that we did not offer our usual high level of service. I am... More 

Travelers are raving about these Castlebar hotels

Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2016

Stayed here for a wedding, room was comfortable, clean and met our needs for the night. Had a small fridge and kitchen in the room too. Wasn't an issue that we were late out of the room either because I read in the room the checkout was at 12pm when in fact it was 11am. Can't comment on the food... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joe H
WilsonBirdBreaffy, General Manager at Breaffy Woods Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Joe H, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your recent stay at Breaffy Woods Hotel, i was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and at the wedding party. The team and i look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort in the near future. Kind Regards Wilson Bird General Manager. More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
121 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2016 via mobile

We stayed one night in Breaffy Woods Hotel. Very nice place. Room was lovely. There were three of us and each of us had a decent bed. No camp beds which was great. The staff very friendly and receptionist very friendly and helpful. We had dinner in the bar in the Breaffy house hotel which was almost beside Breaffy Woods.... More 

Helpful?
Thank alila60
WilsonBirdBreaffy, General Manager at Breaffy Woods Hotel, responded to this review

Dear alila60, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your recent stay at Breaffy Resort, we take all feedback very serious as this allows us to improve on areas which have let the customer down. I apologize sincerely that you did not enjoy your experience in Healy Macs Bar and i have passed on your comments... More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2016 via mobile

Checked in on Saturday night last and paid €94 room only. Receptionist Christina was friendly. Gave us a family room 4 beds that had terrible mattresses. Room was Worn looking. Christina said the hotel was 'family friendly'. I could see that by the wear and tear in the room. I knew I should have checked the room before I paid... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sean M
WilsonBirdBreaffy, General Manager at Breaffy Woods Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sean M. Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your recent stay, we welcome all feedback as this helps us improve our level of service and standards. I do apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us, it is a pity that one of the management team did not get to speak with... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2016

I recently organised a group booking of 42 people to stay in the hotel for 2 nights to include breakfast and dinner on both days. From the time of our arrival we were warmly greeted by a guy named Kamol who went out of his way to make sure our stay was comfortable and enjoyable. Some of our group had... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Martina S
WilsonBirdBreaffy, General Manager at Breaffy Woods Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Martina S, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your recent stay, it was a pleasure to host you and your group, i have passed on your lovely kind words to all the team especially Kamel. It is always so nice to get such feedback of all departments at the Resort. The team and I... More 

limerick
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2016

We booked in for two nights. The rooms are large and comfortable but feels a little dark. It is a hotel for sport enthusiasts. Staff were very helpful. My only disappointment was I had decided to eat in the bar for my last evening and it was a mad house. It was loud with screaming children running around. I had... More 

Helpful?
Thank clevercat123
WilsonBirdBreaffy, General Manager at Breaffy Woods Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Clevercat123, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your recent stay, i was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay overall. Due to the size of our rooms and our entertainment at night we get a lot of families staying with us and sometimes this can lead to the bar been quite busy or... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlebar
1.1 mi away
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
#2 of 8 in Castlebar
798 reviews
1.1 mi away
TF Royal Hotel and Theatre
TF Royal Hotel and Theatre
#5 of 8 in Castlebar
44 reviews
0.0 mi away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 15 in Westport
767 reviews
10.0 mi away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#5 of 15 in Westport
1,481 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 15 in Westport
1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Breaffy Woods Hotel

Address: Station Road, Castlebar, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Castlebar
Price Range: $66 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Breaffy Woods Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Breaffy Woods Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breaffy International Sports Castlebar
Hotel Breaffy International Sports
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Breaffy Woods Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Specify if you wish to have a room with a Bath.”
 of 5 bubbles goodchoice, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“ask to be away from the bar area.”
 of 5 bubbles clevercat123, Sep 27, 2016 | Read review
“None of the rooms have nets so you are overlooked anywhere on the frontor back”
 of 5 bubbles lin652015, Aug 24, 2016 | Read review
“Pool is across the car park at Breaffy house”
 of 5 bubbles Bat100, Jul 22, 2016 | Read review
“We had a very enjoyable stay, food, facilities, staff, Hotel, and surroundings well worth a visit. Great location for Knock Airport.”
 of 5 bubbles geraldinemcnulty, Jun 14, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay