We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Breaffy Woods Hotel

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Breaffy Woods Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

127 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 124: English reviews
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We tried to book at their sister hotel but no luck so knew that this is a family hotel rather than a couples hotel. On check in I went to the room to realise it was not the accesible room I had asked for. We were given an accesible room but it had a lovely view over the waste bins... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank lin652015
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Portions are very small and expensive for what you get in Breaffy Woods for adults and kids menu. Apart from that, great for a family visit. Facilities and staff are child orientated but food lets it down. Pool is good and clean. Magician is brilliant.

Helpful?
Thank Cormac D
Co. Donegal, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed 5 nights last week in one of the Residences. They are so well laid out with lots of room. Kids entertainment in the Woods Bar every evening was great, Kids really enjoyed the Magic Dan & Captain Jack shows. Food was excellent and reasonably priced. We also had cooking facilities in our room so didn't need to eat... More 

Helpful?
Thank Barcarolafan1
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On arrival receptionists were extremely helpful and friendly and booked us in immediately, Myself, my husband and two kids were assigned a nice clean family room, however during our first night on getting into bed we soon realised that the mattress had seen better days extremely uncomfortable and we just couldn't sleep but on complaining the next morning we were... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank donna h
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

On arrival the hotel reception hadn't our booking in their system and after a 30 minute wait while they were faffing about trying to find us a room. I asked for my money back. Which at first was refused to me by the receptionist, who I might add was totally incompetent. She was joined by the hotel manager who seemed... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Daragh M

Travelers are raving about these Castlebar hotels

Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Checked in after 4pm Friday, no record of my booking (booked through 3rd party online) slightly annoying as I had been in contact with hotel both by email and fb message with details of my booking the day previous! Assigned a room (which I can only assume was a family room - 1 double, 3 singles, no cot) Disappointed as... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank OrlaghMarie
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights midweek with our 7 & 4 year olds. This hotel is perfect if you want your kids to be entertained. The staff are so helpful & friendly. The room was very comfortable, spacious & spotless. Our kids loved the disco with captain Jack! The bar area is literally taken over with kids dancing &... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank cupcakeprincess1
WilsonBirdBreaffy, General Manager at Breaffy Woods Hotel, responded to this review

Dear cupcakeprincess1 Many thanks for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at Breaffy Woods Hotel. It is with delight I read you had such a wonderful stay with us and I am happy to hear everything was to your satisfaction. I am also glad to hear you and your family made good use of the... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just back from this fantastic hotel after spending a week there with my wife & 2 year old son. After booking it at the last minute we didn't know much about the hotel but are so glad we did. From the moment we checked in the staff were amazing in particular kamal who upgraded us to a room with a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Philip R
WilsonBirdBreaffy, General Manager at Breaffy Woods Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Philip R Many thanks for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at Breaffy Woods Hotel. I am humbled to read your pleasant review and I am happy everything was to your satisfaction and more. We aim to provide the highest standard of holistic care to all of our guests and I am glad Kamal... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Arrived too early to check in ,we had hoped we might get lucky and get an early checkin, to out delight girl on desk got us our room just in time as we had to be at saint Michaels church at 12.30. When we got back to drinks reception not knowing what to do as bride and groom would be... More 

Helpful?
Thank abbie m
Cliffony, Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Nice clean spacious room .Great central point in Mayo for touring .The hotel caters well for children with kids club , Captain jacks pirate show and magic shows kids dosco etc . The food was good and you also have choice of Healy macs in Breaffy house . Grounds gardens leisure centre all very good . 2nd visit here in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Reginald H
WilsonBirdBreaffy, General Manager at Breaffy Woods Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reginald , Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on your recent visit to Breaffy House Resort. I am thrilled to hear you had such a wonderful time with us here during your stay and you made good use of the many facilities we have on site. I am also humbled to hear the kids entertainment... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlebar
1.1 mi away
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
#2 of 8 in Castlebar
4.0 of 5 stars 758 reviews
10.0 mi away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#4 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 stars 1,431 reviews
1.1 mi away
TF Royal Hotel and Theatre
TF Royal Hotel and Theatre
#5 of 8 in Castlebar
3.5 of 5 stars 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 stars 674 reviews
10.3 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#10 of 15 in Westport
4.0 of 5 stars 826 reviews
10.0 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 stars 1,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Breaffy Woods Hotel

Address: Station Road, Castlebar, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Castlebar
Price Range: $66 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Breaffy Woods Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Breaffy Woods Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breaffy International Sports Castlebar
Hotel Breaffy International Sports
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay