We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

TF Royal Hotel and Theatre

Traveler (18)
Dining (37)
Room & Suite (12)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Family Owned, centrally located 24 bedroom hotel. Under new Management since 16th November 2017. Accommodation & ground floor recently renovated.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Room Service
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Babysitting
Business Center with Internet Access
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Concierge
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Quaint
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
81Good for walkers
Grade: 81 out of 100
44Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
10Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
32Reviews
64Photos
2Q+A
6Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 21
  • 5
  • 0
  • 2
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Attended Scór na nóg finals here . Seats were cramped. Stayed in the hotel and the staff were friendly. Had breakfast on 2 days First day it was Roasting hot well presented etc 2nd day not as good. We had requested a 1pm checkin but didnt manage to check in until
Read more
While doing the wild Atlantic way from Kerry to Donegal we stopped over for a night at the TF Royal. Lovely hotel. Inside the hotel really tells a story, the decor is of old style but it fits the building. Our room was beautiful and fairly clean, the bathroom was... I wouldn’t
Read more
Response from Pat J, General Manager at TF Royal Hotel and Theatre
Responded 1 week ago
Hi, Thank you for your review, We are a historic Hotel, in the course of updating our facility over a period of time.Could you please outline your Room no? as I am not aware of the " grouting problem" and " Ceiling problem" as I wish to rectify immediately. I confirm we do not use key cards. I am pleased you did enjoy your stay, and thank you for your constructive comments.We continously strive to improve our product, and service,and broadly we have been quite successfull, many thanks again. Pat Jennings MD
Read more
We stayed here for one night and also went to Pat Shortt in the Royal Theatre and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We arrived in the afternoon and were greeted by a very nice receptionist who gave us the keys to our room etc. The room was warm and very spacious and a good powerful
Read more
Response from Pat J, General Manager at TF Royal Hotel and Theatre
Responded 4 weeks ago
so very nice of you to issue such a positive review, it much appreciated, by management and staff. We continue to strive to improve our product and service, and your positive endorsement has given all of our staff a great lift. Many thanks, Pat Jennings MD
Read more
Stayed two nights at the hotel and it was perfect for our needs. We were visiting a family member who was in the hospital just across the street so it made coming and going from the hospital so easy. Our room was big, clean and had a very comfortable bed. The complimentary
Read more
Response from Pat J, General Manager at TF Royal Hotel and Theatre
Responded Jan 17, 2019
Many thanks for your positive review, Thank you also for staying with us, and I look forward to meeting up in the future. Pat Jennings M.D.
Read more
called here last week for carvery lunch, I had the roast beef and it was really nice, the mash was delicious also, my friend had the stew and said it was really good too. the chef that was serving was very friendly and helpful with my allergies.
Read more
Response from Pat J, General Manager at TF Royal Hotel and Theatre
Responded Dec 13, 2018
Many thanks for your positive review, yes , we take great pride in our Carvery, and it continues to prosper every year. Pat Jennings MD
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerDining Room & Suite
View out window lot of dirt and rubbish outside window on roof NOT pretty Loads of noise from that room below
steps from old fashioned bathroom to the actual bedroom
Cramped room hard to get around the beds
Bird poop on blinds
Instead of a beautiful free standing bath, we got this
PreviousNext
123
Yes as far as I know most events now are at The Linenhall Theatre
0 votes
"Make sure you get what you book"
"Ask for a quiet room."
"Rooms at the back are away from the street."
"Make sure you don't get room 123 unless travelling with children!"
"The Beer battered fish and chips are very good"
PreviousNext
12
PRICE RANGE
$75 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
tf royal castlebar
LOCATION
IrelandWestern IrelandProvince of ConnachtCastlebar
NUMBER OF ROOMS
24
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing