We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Breaffy House Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castlebar
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Breaffy House Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

462 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 441: English reviews
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I have really enjoyed my stay at Breaffy House, staff were all very helpful, great leisure Facility's, Monday and Wednesday evening Entertainers were Great. Rooms were all very clean. Food in restaurant excellent. Already looking to see when I can visit again

Helpful?
1 Thank mbrannan49
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Just back from breaffy lodges, had a great time again.lodges are very large with 2 bedrooms with 3 single beds in one room and a double and single in the other. Kids playground just outside with plenty of green space for a kick around etc. Food in healy macs bar is really tasty and reasonably priced, pool is huge, kids... More 

Helpful?
Thank tomski15
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We came here from Breaffy Wood for our evening meals on two occasions. The choice of menu,for a 4* was very limited and it appeared that a lot of the diners were on a 'package' which may have explained it. Staff were very friendly on the plus side and everywhere was clean. Main meal was ok,although the pork medallions were... More 

Helpful?
Thank lin652015
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

I recently stayed here for two nights to attend a wedding at the venue and my first impressions were 'wow, this place looks amazing!' and to be fair, parts of it was especially the external aesthetics of the main building. Checking in was easy and the staff were very helpful, as they were throughout the stay. Upon entering the corridor... More 

Helpful?
Thank Graham H
WilsonBirdBreaffy, General Manager at Breaffy House Resort, responded to this review

Dear Graham H Many thanks for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent visit to Breaffy House Hotel. I am happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us and service was to your satisfaction. We are blessed with over 90 acres of beautiful woodland and forestry here at Breaffy and it makes a wonderful, relaxing setting.... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed here to visit family .... Parts the property are a little shabby but I believe it is being upgraded slowly.. It caters for your groups and weddings as well a family stays... The adjoining property is more of a family destination with a pool etc. Disabled parking is sparse with only two or three outside the hotel and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris T
WilsonBirdBreaffy, General Manager at Breaffy House Resort, responded to this review

Dear Chris T Many thanks for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at Breaffy House Resort. It is with regret I read you were not entirely satisfied during your stay. We have recently injected over 2 million euros in refurbishing the Hotel and Grounds of Breaffy House Resort and interior refurbishments and upgrading is still... More 

Killala, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed for a wedding recently, Room was clean and what you'd expect from a 3* hotel. The breakfast was good the following morning and the bar food was excellent. The food for the wedding however left a lot to be desired, our table was not the only to think this and felt disappointed for the couple getting married.

Helpful?
Thank TessyDoo
WilsonBirdBreaffy, General Manager at Breaffy House Resort, responded to this review

Dear TessyDoo Many thanks for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent visit to Breaffy House Resort. I am pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay with us here and that most aspects of your visit were to your satisfaction. It is unfortunate to read you did not fully enjoy your meal and this is something... More 

dublin, ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

lovely staff working at the hotel. place is a bit tired in places, corridors to the rooms were well worn and parts of the rooms too, but a coat of paint will see this rectified. The public areas were well maintained and the food in the bar was quite nice

Helpful?
Thank clairelorraine
WilsonBirdBreaffy, General Manager at Breaffy House Resort, responded to this review

Dear clairelorraine Many thanks for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent visit to Breaffy House Resort. Thank you for your kind feedback and it is with regret I read you were not entirely satisfied with your stay. We have recently invested over 2 million euros in our renovations on the property so far, we are currently... More 

Northolt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Uhmed and Aahed about staying here for a wedding we were attending at the Resort but so glad we did. Rooms are what you'd expect for a 3 star, clean, comfortable and well serviced but there are 3 stand out features for the place. First, never seen a wedding venue so well organised. From start to 4.00 am finish nothing... More 

Helpful?
Thank Crazyuncle
WilsonBirdBreaffy, General Manager at Breaffy House Resort, responded to this review

Dear Crazyuncle Many thanks for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent visit to Breaffy House Resort. It is with great delight I read you had such a wonderful time here at Breaffy House Resort and we exceeded in reaching your expectations in many ways during your stay. Your feedback is important to us and we appreciate... More 

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Beautiful grounds and great looking building, comfortable bed and clean spacious room. The hotel was so hot, windows in the bar were painted shut! There was lots of noisy children, which isnt the fault of the hotel. We stayed in 4 different hotels during our visit and this was the best value. The pool was ok but the steam room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fireguards
WilsonBirdBreaffy, General Manager at Breaffy House Resort, responded to this review

Dear Fireguards Many thanks for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent visit to Breaffy House Resort. I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay at Breaffy House Resort. Thank you for your kind words on the service you received throughout your stay. I hope you can accept my sincere apologies if your meal was charged... More 

Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

From the minute you turn into the drive way you just know it's amazing, the grounds are lovely, lovely walks, gardens, everything about the hotel is 1st class, the rooms are spotless and the bed was very comfortable, staff very friendly and helpful, the food was 1st class and so was the service, reasonable priced too, highly recommend

Helpful?
Thank Tricia F
WilsonBirdBreaffy, General Manager at Breaffy House Resort, responded to this review

Dear Mary Patricia F Many thanks for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at Breaffy House Resort. It is with delight I read you had such a wonderful time with us here at Breaffy and that everything was to your satisfaction throughout your stay. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

116 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (102)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlebar
2.1 mi away
Breaffy Woods Hotel
Breaffy Woods Hotel
#4 of 8 in Castlebar
3.5 of 5 stars 127 reviews
3.1 mi away
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
#2 of 8 in Castlebar
4.0 of 5 stars 758 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#4 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 stars 1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 stars 679 reviews
11.8 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 stars 1,777 reviews
3.1 mi away
TF Royal Hotel and Theatre
TF Royal Hotel and Theatre
#5 of 8 in Castlebar
3.5 of 5 stars 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Why stay in a Hotel when you have the luxury of a Resort! Home to the Award Winning Healy Mac’s Irish Bar & Restaurant Location: Located just a 3km drive from the vibrant town of Castlebar in Co. Mayo, Breaffy House Resort is nestled on 90 acres of majestic parkland. The picturesque resort provides our guests with a combination of old world charm in Breaffy House Hotel and modern luxury in Breaffy Woods Hotel just two a two minute stroll apart (seasonal hotel). Westport is only a 15 minutes’ drive. The Great Western Greenway starts at Turlough, only a 5 minute drive from Breaffy! Style & Ambience: Breaffy House Hotel offers traditional old world Irish charm and hospitality. Retaining some of its original Country House atmosphere, the house dates back to 1890 while Breaffy Woods Hotel built in 2006 offers a more modern option. The Irish Times and Diageo has named Healy Mac’s as the Best Irish Bar in the World (outside Ireland) and now, this award-winning Bar has arrived at Breaffy House Resort . Those who have visited Breaffy will agree the two million refurbishment programme in 2015 has added to the splendour of this magnificent Resort Amenities: The Resort is comprised of two superb hotels; Breaffy House Hotel & Breaffy Woods Hotel located on the private woodlands of the resort. Each hotel boasts a Bar & Restaurant. Live entertainment at weekends and nightly during peak times. During school midterm and summer breaks, our renowned Breaffy Buddies Kids Club is in full operation. Fantastic on site facilities include: outdoor playground, crazy golf, astro pitch and games room. Business Breaffy House Resort is the ideal location for your conference, congress or event, with accommodation to facilitate up to 700 residential delegates on the resort and conference facilities for up to 2000 delegates in a single auditorium. This outstanding conference destination offers two options; The Breaffy Suite or the Breaffy Arena both with syndicate suites depending on your specific requirements. Home to one of Ireland's premier sporting facilities and incorporates the 'Centre for Sports Training and Excellence' Leisure Breaffy Leisure Club features a 20 metre indoor swimming pool, paddling pool, gymnasium ,aerobics studio, sauna ,Jacuzzi, Steam Room , Swimming Lessons, a range of fitness classes &highly qualified Instructors Breaffy Spa features 12 treatment rooms which includes 2 Dry Floatation Therapy Beds, a Hydrotherapy Bath, our signature Rasul Mud Chamber and a spacious Tan Room. Enjoy a variety of inventive and restorative massages, facials and body treatments that provide a sense of wellbeing and tranquillity. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Breaffy House Resort

Address: | Breaffy, Castlebar, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Castlebar
Price Range: $68 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Breaffy House Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Also Known As:
Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
Breaffy Hotel Castlebar
Breaffy Hotel House
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing