We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Breaffy House Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castlebar
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Breaffy House Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

514 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 489: English reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Overall very nice hotel and I have been here multiple times now for kickboxing competitions. The food is always lovely although sometimes it can be a struggle to get a table and the waiting times in the evening can be quite long. However overall this is a great hotel and I believe that the issues I've experienced are due to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danielle B
Ballinasloe, Ireland
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

I arrived to Breaffy House on Tue evening the 27th of Dec to have a nice relaxing evening & get a good night sleep (so I thought) before a wedding the next day also in Breaffy & also check the hotel out for my own wedding venue in 2017. All was going fine until i was awoken about 2am with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank holsmaker78
Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely setting, has received somewhat of an overhaul over the last 2 years. Always busy with weddings etc. Have attended a function and the food was good. Have visited the bar - Healy Macs, franchise type bar, numerous times. Atmosphere great, loads of tv's for sport, always busy. Food is pub grub, can be a bit hit and miss. Staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank philipfarrell
WilsonBirdBreaffy, General Manager at Breaffy House Resort, responded to this review

Dear Philip, Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review, it is always nice to get positive feedback and i will be passing on your comments to all the team. Kind Regards Wilson Bird General Manager

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

Checking in was a pleasant, professional and welcoming experience. The room was all one could ask for - clean, warm and well appointed Dined in Legends first night. Excellent food and lovely staff Dined at the New Years eve gala Dinner - it was out of this world regarding food . The staff were so helpful and professional.The seating arrangements...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mjcarty
WilsonBirdBreaffy, General Manager at Breaffy House Resort, responded to this review

Dear mjcarty, I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your break at Resort over New Years, thank you so much for the lovely comments. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Wilson Bird General Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed two nights and we thoroughly enjoyed it! Everything was top class especially the food. Special mention to out waitress Mairead who was a lady. Spa and leisure centre was great too. All round a lovely hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. Great location. We will definitely be back again soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lisc91
WilsonBirdBreaffy, General Manager at Breaffy House Resort, responded to this review

Dear Lisc91, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your recent visit to the Resort, i was delighted to read that you enjoyed everything. I look Forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Wilson Bird General Manager

London
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We usually go to the West to visit relations a couple of times a year and usually stay in Breaffy House as it is central to our needs and very good value for the grey brigade. Our last visit was disappointing as we felt the place was dirty and in need of serious upgrading and management. This time however we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bert025
WilsonBirdBreaffy, General Manager at Breaffy House Resort, responded to this review

Dear Bert025, Thank you taking the time to write your review of your recent stay at the Resort, i was delighted to read that our improvements are being noticed and recognised by our guest's. There has been an investment of over €2 million euro over the past 2 years with a further investment of €1 million over the coming year....

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had reservations about staying here after hearing mixed reviews some time ago, however we were left with little alternative as limited options over Xmas period in castlebar. What a pleasant surprise this hotel turned out to be, however. Really lovely christmas decor in reception and throughout hotel. Pleasant staff who were so co-operative from the time of booking, during check...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank William O
WilsonBirdBreaffy, General Manager at Breaffy House Resort, responded to this review

Dear William, I am glad that we were able to change your opinion of the Resort and that we lived up to our own high standards that set. Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review , i have passed on your lovely comments to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely hotel and very friendly staff. Gorgeous food in both bar and restaurant. Lovely festive atmosphere. Super pool and children's facilities. Would highly recommend it. Second visit and will definitely be back.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Oranmore1
WilsonBirdBreaffy, General Manager at Breaffy House Resort, responded to this review

Dear Oranmore1, Thank very much for the kind comments about our team and food, we are always delighted to read such kind words. I have passed on your review to all the team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. Kind Regards Wilson Bird General Manger

County Mayo, Ireland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Recently attended a wedding at Breffy house and I have to say it was a brilliant day. All the staff from the management down to everybody else helping out they were magnificent...a special word of praise to the general manager Wilson and the bar manager Corna!! Nothing we asked for was too much trouble. The service was five star. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dill0
WilsonBirdBreaffy, General Manager at Breaffy House Resort, responded to this review

Dear Dill0, Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for your lovely comments, i was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay at the wedding and that we lived up to the very high standards that we set for ourselves. Thank you so much much for spreading the word and we look forward to welcoming you...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed December 11, 2016

Overall very positive , rooms clean and spacious , breakfast average, bar food average , spa and heath facility excellent , spacious grounds for a nice country amble , good value for the money , staff very attentive.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rory G
WilsonBirdBreaffy, General Manager at Breaffy House Resort, responded to this review

Dear Rory G, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your recent stay at the Resort, i am glad that your overall experience was an enjoyable one and thank you for your kind comments about our team. I have passed on your comments about the food to our executive chef. The team looks forward to welcoming...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

118 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (106)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlebar
2.1 mi away
Breaffy Woods Hotel
Breaffy Woods Hotel
#4 of 8 in Castlebar
144 reviews
3.1 mi away
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
#2 of 8 in Castlebar
806 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#5 of 15 in Westport
1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 15 in Westport
777 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 15 in Westport
1,262 reviews
11.8 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 15 in Westport
1,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Why stay in a Hotel when you have the luxury of a Resort! Home to the Award Winning Healy Mac’s Irish Bar & Restaurant Location: Located just a 3km drive from the vibrant town of Castlebar in Co. Mayo, Breaffy House Resort is nestled on 90 acres of majestic parkland. The picturesque resort provides our guests with a combination of old world charm in Breaffy House Hotel and modern luxury in Breaffy Woods Hotel just two a two minute stroll apart (seasonal hotel). Westport is only a 15 minutes’ drive. The Great Western Greenway starts at Turlough, only a 5 minute drive from Breaffy! Style & Ambience: Breaffy House Hotel offers traditional old world Irish charm and hospitality. Retaining some of its original Country House atmosphere, the house dates back to 1890 while Breaffy Woods Hotel built in 2006 offers a more modern option. The Irish Times and Diageo has named Healy Mac’s as the Best Irish Bar in the World (outside Ireland) and now, this award-winning Bar has arrived at Breaffy House Resort . Those who have visited Breaffy will agree the two million refurbishment programme in 2015 has added to the splendour of this magnificent Resort Amenities: The Resort is comprised of two superb hotels; Breaffy House Hotel & Breaffy Woods Hotel located on the private woodlands of the resort. Each hotel boasts a Bar & Restaurant. Live entertainment at weekends and nightly during peak times. During school midterm and summer breaks, our renowned Breaffy Buddies Kids Club is in full operation. Fantastic on site facilities include: outdoor playground, crazy golf, astro pitch and games room. Business Breaffy House Resort is the ideal location for your conference, congress or event, with accommodation to facilitate up to 700 residential delegates on the resort and conference facilities for up to 2000 delegates in a single auditorium. This outstanding conference destination offers two options; The Breaffy Suite or the Breaffy Arena both with syndicate suites depending on your specific requirements. Home to one of Ireland's premier sporting facilities and incorporates the 'Centre for Sports Training and Excellence' Leisure Breaffy Leisure Club features a 20 metre indoor swimming pool, paddling pool, gymnasium ,aerobics studio, sauna ,Jacuzzi, Steam Room , Swimming Lessons, a range of fitness classes &highly qualified Instructors Breaffy Spa features 12 treatment rooms which includes 2 Dry Floatation Therapy Beds, a Hydrotherapy Bath, our signature Rasul Mud Chamber and a spacious Tan Room. Enjoy a variety of inventive and restorative massages, facials and body treatments that provide a sense of wellbeing and tranquillity. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Breaffy House Resort

Address: | Breaffy, Castlebar, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Castlebar
Price Range: $66 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Breaffy House Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Also Known As:
Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
Breaffy Hotel Castlebar
Breaffy Hotel House
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Breaffy House Resort staff and other travelers.
8 questions
Ask a question
clare
Brookline, Massachusetts
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
4 months ago
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Breaffy House Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Probably top floor would be quieter”
 of 5 bubbles mjcarty, 1 week ago | Read review
“all rooms are lovely with a scenic view throughout,”
 of 5 bubbles sheilareaney, Oct 23, 2016 | Read review
“Up stairs rooms have views and would be quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles 674maureeng, Oct 4, 2016 | Read review
“Depending on your mobility it might be a good idea to get one close to reception.”
 of 5 bubbles Joey95, Oct 2, 2016 | Read review
“room 311...the tower room!”
 of 5 bubbles susanmsexton, Sep 26, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question