We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Green Door Hostel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Drogheda
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Green Door Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

18 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 14: English reviews
Start your review of Green Door Hostel
 Click to rate
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Hi just letting whoever know that this place changed hands and the new owners are running it well really enjoyed my stay clean rooms clean kitchen clean living space friendly environment so was really happy especially after the bad reviews it got from before so hope you will all the reviews on here

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael D
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Good atmosphere, bunk beds had no ladders on them so you had to do a balancing act to make your way up to bed. The showers were very unclean with hundreds of bugs crawling around. Unclean facilities. The rooms were basic but good, beds comfy. Worn out hostel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bru89
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I am from Eastern Europe and generally consider myself prepared for nearly anything when it comes to accomodation but this was way beyond my worst nightmares! It was very similar to what you would see in "How clean is your house" before the place gets cleaned - dust, stains, dirt and grime, cobwebs and plenty of spiders, toilets just about...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Irina M
Cork, Ireland
Reviewed January 25, 2012

loved it the place the people the buzz, i'll be back

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank easyj j
Claremorris, Ireland
Reviewed April 5, 2011

Probably the worst hostel in Ireland. I stayed there for a few nights in February, when it was quiet. There was an overriding smell of damp about the whole place. The beds were ancient, lumpy, and damp. The shower was covered in black mould. The 90s TV only picked up two channels, depending on where you positioned the antenna, which...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hostelinspector
thegreendoorgrogheda, Front Office Manager at Green Door Hostel, responded to this review

The Green Door Hostel has recently changed ownership and has undergone recent major renovations. There is a problem with TV reception in this area because of the large trees behind us on the hill. However, the common TV room has lots of channels if if are unable to get reception in your room. (if you booked a room with a...

Eugene, Oregon
Reviewed January 5, 2011

A fun and comfortable establishment! I passed through intending to stay one weekend and ended up returning the next four weekends. The location is prime for those exploring Co. Meath which is brimming with tons of diverse history. The staff made me feel so incredibly welcomed. I stayed over Christmas and the New Year's and an amazing dinner was prepared...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank roguecat9
Berlin, Germany
Reviewed November 15, 2010

it's not the first hostel i saw, so i didn't expect something special. but this was just an awful night. i slept in a 10person bedroom in an upper bunk bed without any protection to fall down. it was dirty. especially the bedding and the bathrooms. there were one toilet one wash-bowl and three showers for the whole house. we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank welcominberlin
Pleasanton, California
Reviewed September 18, 2010

The Green Door was a very good hostel, despite looking very old and worn. The 2 guys that greeted us were very nice and helpful finding our way through Drogheda and how to get to Dublin airport the next morning. The dorm rooms are HUGE, but we had it all to ourselves that night, which was very nice! The toilets...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pearlramone
Oregon
Reviewed January 8, 2010

The Green Door staff were the friendliest and most fun staff I have encountered in all my years of traveling Europe. If you stay there, get to know the owner Eamon (sp??, sorry dude haha). He is one of a kind. When my wife and I stayed with there he was more than helpful with what to do in Drogheda...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank melncolline
Tuam, Ireland
Reviewed September 20, 2009

we arrived very late in the evening at the green door without reservation, but we got a very friendly welcome. The owner made us a cup of tea and told us they took over the hostel a couple of weeks ago and were busy making renovations to improve the hostel. The dorm we stayed in was big with en suite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank essewes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Drogheda hotels
0.1 mi away
The d Hotel Drogheda
The d Hotel Drogheda
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
1,123 reviews
0.5 mi away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#3 of 5 in Drogheda
308 reviews
0.4 mi away
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Glenside Hotel
The Glenside Hotel
#4 of 5 in Drogheda
234 reviews
1.2 mi away
Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
0.9 mi away
Aaron Vale
Aaron Vale
#5 of 15 in Drogheda
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bus Eierann front door service, Dorms & En-Suite Rooms, Self-Catering Kitchen, 24 Hour Security, Free Hot Showers, Group Rates, No Curfew, TV Room, Free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Green Door Hostel

Address: Spoon & the Stars 13 Dublin Road, Drogheda, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Drogheda
Price Range: $15 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 63
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Green Door Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?