We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kilkenny Tourist Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Kilkenny Tourist Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

108 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 76: English reviews
Pollock Pines, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When we arrived, we were happy to see that we were right in town and able to walk everywhere! We had such a lovely time in beautiful Kilkenny. The staff at the hostel was very polite and we expected on a Friday night that everyone would be loud and we probably would have trouble sleeping but everyone was just as... More 

Helpful?
Thank Diane and Dave S
Köln
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hostel is perfectly situated in the town center, so that everything could be reached by food. The common room as well as the kitchen have a nice atmosphere. Besides the spat out gum on the floor besides my bet and the carpet in the bedrooms I liked the hostel.

Helpful?
Thank Ikear
Canton of Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2016

Centrally located, with very friendly and helpful staff, small, but nice rooms, surprisingly quiet, a friendly atmosphere, self-catering possible. We stayed in the family room (four people). A place to recommend.

Helpful?
Thank chrischris211
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2016 via mobile

Staff was very rude and intimidating I came back at 8 o'clock in the morning to sleep until 10 when we had to check out and because my friends brought one guy back to stay in the room where there was a spare bed we were rudely a woken by the staff and we had to get changed straight away... More 

Helpful?
Thank Holly P
miss A, Manager at Kilkenny Tourist Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for letting us know your experience of staying with us. I think your comment regarding your friends bringing guys back and being noisy is explanation enough as to why you were asked to leave early. We do not tolerate this and aim to deal with it as efficiently as possible so that other paying guests are not inconvenienced.... More 

Travelers are raving about these Kilkenny hotels

Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2016

Lovely hostel in an old building. It was interesting wondering around this building trying to imagine what a house it must have been, once upon a time! They have turned it into a hostel but you can still feel the character of the old house. The place was really clean, the kitchen nice and bright, staff very friendly and helpful.... More 

Helpful?
Thank SmagP
Bray, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here on the weekend for Rod Stewart in an eight bed dorm with my friends, the hostel is in a perfect location for heading out on the town and all the staff were lovely! The facilities are great and the hostel is lovely and clean! Would DEFFO stay again!

Helpful?
1 Thank Jen D
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2016

I walked in in May - knowing nothing of the place. Upon realising how big the place is I was expecting more noise, less comfor and generally lower level of maintenance than a smaller hostel. I was wrong. The staff is nice and welcoming, there's a relaxed atmosphere and even with stags in I have no complaints about noise. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Heather M
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2016

The building was older, but maintained and clean. The staff was mostly helpful and gave good recommendations of what to do/where to go. The location was nice, near lots of the pubs and restaurants. The rooms were not cramped and good value for the amount of money.

Helpful?
Thank Amanda E
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2016

Simple hostel that (I think) is ran by backpackers too... The staff is very nice and helpful. Rooms and bathrooms are clean. They offer free milk or tea for breakfast (no food thou) but you have to go early because milk will be finished by 9:00.

Helpful?
Thank Fockowoko
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2016 via mobile

Good hostel at a great price. Excellent value for your money. Descent enough beds, clean and roomy. Shared bathrooms but also clean. Great location, right in the centre of town. Wifi signal a little on the weak side. Google phonology php photo phone

Helpful?
Thank dgrayzweb
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.4 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#7 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 stars 1,496 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.4 mi away
Pembroke Hotel
Pembroke Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 stars 1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 stars 1,602 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kilford Arms Hotel
Kilford Arms Hotel
#12 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 stars 620 reviews
0.3 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 stars 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kilkenny Tourist Hostel is the best located Hostel in Kilkenny with great low prices, the friendliest staff and lots of guests from all over the world to socialise with. There's a mix of dormitories and private rooms, free WiFi and computer access, a fully equipped kitchen to cook in, tea and coffee, and lots of information on how to see Kilkenny like a local. Plus there's free lockers, free towels, and a cheap laundry service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kilkenny Tourist Hostel

Address: 35 Parliament Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Price Range: $32 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kilkenny Tourist Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay