We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

MacGabhainns Backpacker Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
MacGabhainns Backpacker Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

130 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 100: English reviews
New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed here for two nights whilst travelling around Ireland. There was some kind of mess up with our booking (no ones fault) and we ended up in a 6 person room the first night and a 4 person room the second night - thanks to Fergus for helping us out. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank kezzelify
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Typical Hostel, wasn't the cleanest & visa machine didn't work which caused some of out party to with draw from ATM with big service charges/exchange rates as we are from out of country. Other than the cleaniness it was a typical hostel and the attendant showed us some things to do in town during our stay.

Helpful?
Thank Greg S
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It's exactly what you would expect for a hostel. We arrived with no booking as 4 friends and the owner was happy to accommodate us and move some bookings around so we could all share one room. We went during Easter when you're not allowed to drink alcohol but from what I've heard you're not allowed to drink alcohol here... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Shania B
Samarate, Italy
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2016

PROS: -Centrally located (and if you're lucky you get a room with a breath-taking view on the nearby cathedral and round tower). -Staff are willing to fulfil your particular requests (they let me park a bicycle in the back garden for a night, and they opened the kitchen one hour earlier for two French guys that were staying in my... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ale5875
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2016 via mobile

I stayed in the hostel for the August Bank Holiday weekend with 10 other girls. We all collectively agreed within a few moments of arriving that we wouldn't stay here again. We were greeted by the owner with a quick hello and then a request to pay the remaining balance together instead of individually. Not very accommodating I thought but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jobbles25
macgabhainn, Manager at MacGabhainns Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review our backpackers hostel. You are quite right we are not a party hostel, we are just a small backpackers hostel and we love sleep??. All our windows have child latches(as per regulations) but you can open wide if you so wish. Sorry to see your group were so unhappy here. Happy travel MacGabhainns... More 

Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2016 via mobile

This is a great hostel we were well looked after by the manager he explained all the best places in Kilkenny for eating and drinking our room was great the food supplied for breakfast was great the manager went out his way to make sure our motorcycles were parked safely in the back yard of the hostel good man

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert F
Toelloese, Denmark
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2016 via mobile

Good location, helpfull staff and nice clean rooms. Everything you could ask for in a hostel. The breakfast was light, but it kept you going for a little while. It was close to the town and it was easy ro get around.

Helpful?
1 Thank Nathalia S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2016 via mobile

As soon as you arrive you are treated warmly by staff (Fergus). The check in is swift and easy, the rooms, common areas of clean, the beds are comfy and spacious for bunks. Kitchen has everything you need to cook. Common area basic nothing fancy but great for chilling. Location is great easy walk to everywhere and close from from... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sairafregoso
Ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2016

Stayed here on a Saturday night recently and it wasn't great. The staff were fine and location good, I didn't arrive with high expectations considering it is a hostel. I had two main issues, first issue I had was that 9pm was the latest you could check in, very inconvenient, even an extra hour would have helped a lot. Secondly... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank A1K3
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2016 via mobile

Nice rooms all with codes at the doors. Close to the center with a kitchen and a place outside. I spend 2 great nights! The staff is friendly and the hostel is quiet. Good if you need some sleep after a big trip.

Helpful?
1 Thank gohugohu
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.5 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#7 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 stars 1,496 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 stars 1,603 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pembroke Hotel
Pembroke Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 stars 1,534 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Inn Hotel
Kilkenny Inn Hotel
#14 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 stars 260 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kilford Arms Hotel
Kilford Arms Hotel
#12 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 stars 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Property Information:Proudly voted best hostel in Kilkenny in 2011 Macgabhainns Backpackers Hostel is a small hostel located in the heart of the city centre, just ten minutes' walk from Kilkenny Castle, close to the railway and bus station.We offer a comfortable and friendly atmosphere for weary travellers.We have lots of free facilities, such as free breakfast, parking, security lockers, internet access, Wi-Fi and even a free map of the city! Breakfast includes porridge, corn flakes, toast and tea or coffee; you can also have as much free tea and coffee as you want, all day long. We even wash your dishes for you!There's a cool barbecue area in our garden. We're also located near pubs with traditional Irish music and some fine restaurants that are quite inexpensive.We were voted the best hostel in Kilkenny in 2011, and one of the top hostels in Ireland. We were approved by the Irish Tourism Board in 2012 and are recommended by Lonely Planet, Routards and Let's Go.We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 

Additional Information about MacGabhainns Backpacker Hostel

Address: 24 Vicar Street, Kilkenny 0, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Price Range: $33 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your MacGabhainns Backpacker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay