We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Killarney International Youth Hostel

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Killarney International Youth Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

65 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 44: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

On arrival I was greeted with s very warm and sincere welcome, all my questions answered and ample information provided. The rooms are basic, but then this is a hostel after all. The self catering kitchen was exceptionally tidy and clean. Encouraging others to do the same. Ample seating as well. The public areas are all very comfortable.

Helpful?
Thank MikeH66
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed at the Killarney International Youth Hostel by myself for a week in mid-March. I was spending my spring break in Killarney and Dingle hiking and biking around the countryside during the daytime and drinking with locals at night. Overall my experience was very nice. The staff were extremely friendly and the building is large and has nice amenities... More 

Helpful?
Thank Simeon D
Roy M, Head of Marketing at Killarney International Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Simeon, Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review our hostel. We really appreciate the time you took and the recommendations that you left regarding bicycle hire etc. I will bring up the matter of the breakfast and the vending machines with the hostel manager and see if we can improve on those. More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at the Killarney International Youth Hostel for 2 nights in late June, 2016. In all honesty it is a very nice hostel with a beautiful common space, great TV room, nice relaxing reading room, and the self catering kitchen has everything and more than you could expect except for a coffee maker. The hostel itself does provide Tea &... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul_Phelan
Roy M, Head of Marketing at Killarney International Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Paul, Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review our hostel. We appreciate your suggestion for the coffee maker and will pass it on to the hostel manager along with your other comments. The Killarney International Hostel was deliberately located outside the town because our ethos is to introduce young people to the outdoors... More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2016 via mobile

This place is quite pretty from the outside, the inside fairly basic but for the price that's no surprise! Free basic breakky in the morning, fairly well equipped kitchen. Easily accessible with a car. Mattresses were a hard, but the showers (although initially looked very basic) had good temperature and pressure which is what you want really. Not too bad... More 

Helpful?
Thank stefanya89
Roy M, Head of Marketing at Killarney International Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Stefanya, Thanks for choosing our hostel and for taking the time to review us. We are delighted to hear that the showers were full blast. We hope that the rest of your adventure goes well. More 

Cork, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2016

I brought a group of 25 youths to this hostel last Monday. From start to finish our experience was first class. The staff were the most helpful and friendly staff I have ever met. We stayed there for one night, ate three meals and did three activities. The food was lovely and there was loads of it, if anybody wanted... More 

Helpful?
Thank eoinkelly90
Roy M, Head of Marketing at Killarney International Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks Eoin, We are delighted that you chose Killarney International Hostel to bring your group to and that you gave us a such a good review. John in the hostel likes to cook lots of food so we are not surprised by that! Credit must go to our activity provider Play-at-Heights who look after all the groups that need activities.... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2016

My main issue with the hostel is that it was way too far from the town/bus stop. You either wait forever for a bus to take you to the hostel (almost 7 euros), or take a taxi (around 14 euros). I wish they had a shuttle to/from the hostel. It was pretty much empty when my friend and I stayed... More 

Helpful?
Thank katie l
Roy M, Head of Marketing at Killarney International Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Katie, Thanks for staying in our hostel and for taking the time to review us. We are delighted that you enjoyed the look of the building. It certainly has character. I can imagine that it would feel strange if it is empty but it is not often that you would have the whole building to yourself in the Summer... More 

Travelers are raving about these Killarney hotels

5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Voelklingen, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2016

The Hostel is very cheap in price and serves a good accommodation with plenty of possibilities concerning sightseeing tours. The self catering kitchen is well equipped and offers enough space to prepare and store food. There is a tv room, where you can sit in front of a fire and relax. People are very friendly and polite.There is free WiFi... More 

Helpful?
Thank eke82
Roy M, Head of Marketing at Killarney International Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Eke, Thank you for staying with us and for giving us a review. It sounds like you really got to experience the area! More 

Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2015

I stayed in this hostel in July 2015. It was my first time staying in a hostel so I was very apprehensive about it. I was sharing a two bunk bedroom with two people I knew so it probably meant that our room was a little quieter than others who have reviewed this place as being noisy. Unfortunately there was... More 

Helpful?
Thank SusanM
Roy M, Head of Marketing at Killarney International Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Susan, Firstly let me apologise for taking so long to respond to your review. Secondly I am very sorry that your first hostel experience was a negative one. It is not always like that. We get a lot of young people in our hostels because our ethos is to encourage them to experience the outdoors. Our hostel in Killarney... More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
226 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2015

Basically ok. We had 4 people in a room - very tiny room, but others looked bigger. Small bunks, just ok in terms of comfort. Look around for a reasonable shower as my first one was a mere cool trickle and my husband's had only one choice of temp - extremely hot. On our 2nd morning I searched around and... More 

Helpful?
Thank memee08
Roy M, Head of Marketing at Killarney International Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Memee08, thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that your showers were not working correctly but glad that you managed to find some that were suitable. As you discovered, we are a popular hostel with youth groups during the high season and it is bit more peaceful at other times. We hope that you enjoyed the... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2015 via mobile

Typical hostel. Room, bathroom, and kitchen were clean. Push button showers with only one temperature (decently hot). Bed was hard and pillow was thin. A little outside of town so we had to drive to everything. Nice large sitting rooms and dinning hall.

Helpful?
Thank Kim B
Roy M, Head of Marketing at Killarney International Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Kim. We are delighted that you enjoyed the hostel and will pass on your comments about the mattress to the hostel manager. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
3.0 mi away
Neptunes Hostel
Neptunes Hostel
#9 of 45 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 stars 270 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Sugan Hostel
The Sugan Hostel
#29 of 45 in Killarney
3.5 of 5 stars 96 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Black Sheep Hostel
The Black Sheep Hostel
#7 of 45 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 stars 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Dunloe View Hostel
Dunloe View Hostel
#1 of 2 in Fossa
5.0 of 5 stars 237 reviews
23.6 mi away
Dromid Hostel
Dromid Hostel
#23 of 45 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 stars 7 reviews
2.9 mi away
Paddy's Palace
Paddy's Palace
#39 of 45 in Killarney
3.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Ring of Kerry Youth Hostel is an impressive 17th Century mansion, set in 75 acres of lawns and forests, overlooking the Lakes of Killarney and the Macguillycuddy's Reeks. If you want good food, a good night's sleep, washing and drying facilities and a great atmosphere, then Killarney International Youth Hostel is the place to be. The Hostel was renovated in two phases, early 1999 and early 2000 to include smaller rooms and family rooms, a very large self catering and catering area and very comfortable common areas. This hostel is the centre for exploring the impressive scenery that is the Ring of Kerry. The 'Ring of Kerry Tour', the 'Dingle Tour' and the 'Gap of Dunloe Tour' depart daily from the Youth Hostel and show the visitor some of the most impressive scenery in the world ... more   less 

Additional Information about Killarney International Youth Hostel

Address: Aghadoe House, Ring of Kerry Road | Fossa, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Price Range: $25 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Killarney International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay