We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dun Aoibhinn House

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Dun Aoibhinn House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

70 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 57: English reviews
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2016 via mobile

Location very good near town €5 in taxi Room very small and poky Only heating was a portable heater Cheap at €50 but not even worth that The credit card machine was out of order There was no staff to be found when you wanted them I had to knock st kitchen door for service for breakfast Lock on door... More 

Helpful?
Thank ros22
Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2016 via mobile

I had no choice but stay here for 2 nights as it was all I could afford. The place was not cleaned from the people who were here before me! And I couldn't find the owner anytime after I checked in to even tell him! I took my makeup off the first night and went to put a cotton bud... More 

Helpful?
Thank Audreyhep

Travelers are raving about these Galway hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2016 via mobile

I was recommended this place by a local first and foremost. It's walking distance from all the clubs and bars. The owner is so nice and so personable. It's well heated, I had a brand-new shower in my room, I don't know what these other people are talking about sounds like they have unrealistic expectations, I stayed here for €30... More 

Helpful?
Thank Janae C
Sallins, Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015 via mobile

I wasn't expecting the Ritz but neither did I think from the pictures on the website that it would resemble Bleak House ! Ok it was cheap but more cheerless than cheerful .. room was small and cold .. sheets clean but mattress lumpy - a small dimplex heater was insufficient to warm the room small as it was 😔... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joan T
Tatworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2015 via mobile

Booked using reviews based on Booking.com which were good. Arrived to find the owner Jim was very pleasant and friendly. Shown to our room which looked clean and tidy if a little tired. Facilities were ok, wifi good and parking excellent. Only 1 pillow each, so I went in search of Jim to request 2 more. Returned to find wife... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tony S
Italy
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2015

Little guesthouse, room was not very cleaned and general condition of the hotel was not very good (walls with humidity trace, dirty sheets, sink was in front of the bed and not in the bathroom). Spite this, the breakfast was a complete Irish one and the owner has been very gentle in providing us information to organize our stay in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marco5872
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

We were delayed arriving in Galway and as such missed the check in time. This was due to travel disruption and we couldnt call ahead due to being in the air. The response from the B&B was to leave for the evening, switch on an answering machine and leave no note at the B&B. We were unable to contact anyone... More 

Helpful?
Thank powderbear2012
Dublin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015

Stayed for 1 night, tiny room, dirty, mould and mildew on ceiling, upholstery on chair holed and frayed, tiny bathroom. Left very early in morning, so glad to leave. €55 per night FOR THIS!!!! Shower didn't work in the morning. Strange plumbing sounds during the night. Owner told me to help myself to breakfast in the morning as I was... More 

Helpful?
Thank EamonDublin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015 via mobile

Booked this place as it was the only available place left closest to my other friends accomodation for a trip to Galway. It's reasonably priced. Clean sheets. However if you are a breakfast person do not stay here as you will clearly be disappointed. The shower place leaked and I had wet floor everytime after showering. Do not expect toilet... More 

Helpful?
Thank Angela S
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

Stayed in Dun Aoibhinn House B&B for 1 night while spending weekend in Galway. Very easy access, quiet road and on street parking. Walking distance to Galway City centre and all restaurants and bars, so therefore no need to spend money on taxis. Room was good size, very clean and simple. It does exactly what it says on the tin.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Eva G
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.4 mi away
Ash Grove House
Ash Grove House
#23 of 192 in Galway
4.5 of 5 stars 167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Griffin Lodge
Griffin Lodge
#42 of 192 in Galway
4.5 of 5 stars 180 reviews
0.5 mi away
Savoy Hostel
Savoy Hostel
#2 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 stars 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#8 of 192 in Galway
4.5 of 5 stars 411 reviews
0.3 mi away
Adare Guesthouse
Adare Guesthouse
#40 of 192 in Galway
4.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
1.2 mi away
Abbey Lodge Guesthouse
Abbey Lodge Guesthouse
#30 of 192 in Galway
4.5 of 5 stars 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Dun aoibhinn house is a beautifully restored period style residence in Galway city. It is located within 5minutes walk of the city centre and within 5 mins walk to the beach in Salthill, National university of Ireland(nuig)and university college hospital Galway(uchg)Dun aoibhinn house is an ideal base from which to enjoy the capital of the west and its beautiful surroundings,enjoy the wonderfull shopping on offer, go to the theatre, museum, relax and enjoy a meal in one of the citys fantastic restaurants,or visit any of the numerous city pubs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dun Aoibhinn House

Address: Dun Aoibhinn 12 Saint Mary's Road, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Price Range: $86 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Dun Aoibhinn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay