We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Skeffington Arms Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Skeffington Arms Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

452 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 411: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Disappointed with this pub, out for a few after work drinks we ordered a popular branded bottle beer and got a flat unrecognisable drink instead, the barman did exchange for a fresh one but when it came to the next round it was the same flat unrecognisable drink. Suspect that they are rebottling draft beer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barry G
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Barry G, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent visit and apologies that you did not have an enjoyable time with us. I would like to take this opportunity to reassure you that such practices do not happen within our bar & we pride ourselves on serving quality drinks and food,...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It was only a one night stay however the location is ideal and within the city centre of Galway , the check in and check out were easy and fast. The room are tidy, cleaned and of a decent size. We needed a remote for the TV which the receptionist bring it to us right away.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan G
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Staff were friendly- The two girls at the front desk but otherwise. Falling asleep and only to be woken up with people coming back at 1am cursing and screaming for hours and singing karaoke the whole night until 4am when I had to get on a 9am bus to the Aran Islands the next morning. I told the staff about...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AngelDanger
County Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Came to make an enquiry on staying for a few days in this central hotel. Was met by a very rude Steven. The hotel manager he informed me when i asked could i talk to someone else. We left without booking anything. Rudeness is unacceptable

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
County Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a great location for lunch. They do one of the best carverys in Galway. We had lunch there on two recent Saturdays and the food was top of the range. The place is busy as you expect coming up to Christmas. The service and the food is excellent. I would very much recommend the Lamb, you wont beat...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank westerntravelerah
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear westerntravelerah, Many thanks for your review. I was glad to read that you enjoyed the food and service here on both of your visits and we look forward to welcoming you back again when your travels allow. I will be sure to pass your kind comments along to the staff. Wishing you a very Merry Christmas. Regards, Stephen Mc...

Galway, Ireland
Reviewed December 14, 2016

I'm a frequent customer of the carvery lunch which is served in the bar area. The menu is varied and prices reasonable but its a hit and miss from day to day, in that the vegetables have been cold on several occasions. The meat and potatoes are fine. I have informed the staff of this and they are happy with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _teachnaleachtai
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear _teachnaleachtai, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I have passed your comments along to our food manager here who will look at the matter further you can also reach her on: ashling@theskeff.ie if you would like to talk to her directly. Wishing you a very Merry Christmas, Regards, Stephen Mc Donald, Front Office Manager

Ireland
Reviewed December 9, 2016 via mobile

Have stayed in this hotel multiple times over the last couple of years. My latest stay was as excellent as ever. The service from checking in, to eating and drinking in the bar, to the breakfast was top standard. The location of the hotel is hard to beat. The Christmas market is basically on your doorstep along with multiple bars,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul O
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paul O, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your kind comments. We are blessed with both a great location and a great staff and I will be sure to pass along your comments to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Skeffington Arms again when your travels allow. With...

County Meath, Ireland
Reviewed December 9, 2016

This eatery/bar is a regular haunt of ours while shopping in Galway. The warm fire and the friendly welcome from staff, as well as good service and tasty food is worth the shop by shop visits! It is always busy - on all floors and is good value. Will be back, of course!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RetireeOldcastle
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear RetireeOldcastle, Many thanks for your review and your kind words, I was happy to read that you enjoyed your visit to the Skeffington Arms. We will pass your kind comments along to all the team here. With Kind Regards, Stephen Mc Donald, Front Office Manager

Cork, Ireland
Reviewed November 21, 2016 via mobile

I highly recommend staying here, staff are amazing and rooms are excellent value for money, Im really looking forward to staying here again. From the second we checked in our experience here was perfect.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meghan H
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so very much for your kind words on all aspects of the Skeffington Arms hotel and we are delighted to read how well you where looked after by all of our team. We will pass on your very kind words and thank you for sharing your review. Looking forward to welcoming you back to stay with...

Reviewed November 9, 2016

I spent a couple of days at a conference in Galway city at the end of October. I choose the Skeffington Arms as my base. I enjoyed the hotel very much, especially for its local helpful staff. It was refreshing to have servers who were familiar with their town and could advise genuinely on the right places to eat, have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aidan G
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so very much for your kind words on all aspects of the Skeffington Arms hotel and we are delighted to read how well you where looked after by all of our team. We will pass on your very kind words and thank you for sharing your review. Looking forward to welcoming you back to stay with...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

117 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (79)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel Galway
Imperial Hotel Galway
#26 of 47 in Galway
558 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eyre Square Hotel
Eyre Square Hotel
#34 of 47 in Galway
573 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#21 of 47 in Galway
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Meyrick
Hotel Meyrick
#25 of 47 in Galway
1,301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 47 in Galway
2,551 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 47 in Galway
1,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Imagine a stay in the heart of the city in a luxury hotel, with everything on your doorstep for that perfect stay in Galway, city of the tribes. The Skeffington Arms Hotel is ideally located in an enviable position, overlooking the newly refurbished Eyre Square, within distance of rail & bus terminals & just a short stroll from an array of shops, restaurants, bars and theaters. With just 24 bedrooms, a strong emphasis is on personal service and attention to detail, so whether its business or pleasure our friendly and helpful staff will make your visit an enjoyable one. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Skeffington Arms Hotel

Address: Skeffington Arms Hotel 28 Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Price Range: $55 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Skeffington Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Skeffington Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skeffington Arms Galway
Hotel Skeffington Arms
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Galway
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Skeffington Arms Hotel staff and other travelers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Cork, Ireland
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Skeffington Arms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Can't advise really- perhaps not to the front of the hotel at the weekend”
 of 5 bubbles AidanG819, Nov 9, 2016 | Read review
“Just ask for a quiet room”
 of 5 bubbles indieannabish, Nov 3, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room that does not face out to the street to avoid noise from the nightclub etc”
 of 5 bubbles helenreilly_1980, Oct 24, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the middle of the building have no view but are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles JeremyPaul99, Oct 21, 2016 | Read review
“Reception will advise ... I think at the back (so no view of Eyre Square) and higher up. This wasn't an issue for us this time.”
 of 5 bubbles DO549, Aug 4, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay