We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Skeffington Arms Hotel

Traveler (108)
Room & Suite (36)
Dining (25)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Imagine a stay in the heart of the city in a luxury hotel, with everything on your doorstep for that perfect stay in Galway, city of the tribes. The Skeffington Arms Hotel is ideally located in an enviable position, overlooking the newly refurbished Eyre Square, within distance of rail & bus terminals & just a short stroll from an array of shops, restaurants, bars and theaters. With just 24 bedrooms, a strong emphasis is on personal service and attention to detail, so whether its business or pleasure our friendly and helpful staff will make your visit an enjoyable one.
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Room service
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Laundry Service
Non-smoking hotel
Public Wifi
Wheelchair access
Room features
Air conditioning
Accessible rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
175Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
102Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
593Reviews
149Photos
9Q+A
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 256
  • 176
  • 61
  • 43
  • 58
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We arrived late and went to the room. The only room available was a twin room that stank of smoke and was the worst looking room I have even seen. There was noise and loud music coming from the bar and nightclub DNA. It was so loud, that we slept in our car. I cant believe this
Read more
Extremely disappointed in my stay here last week. From beginning to end I had a negative experience. When I called to make the reservation I asked a lady would it be possible to get a quiet room as I had an important meeting the next day. I was assured on several times that I
Read more
Response from Skeffingtonmanager, Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear KathleenK1706, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay in The Skeffington Arms Hotel and apologies that your time with us was not enjoyable. When you have a moment could you contact me on ashling@theskeff.ie with the date of your stay as this information will allow me to fully follow-up on this feedback with the whole team. We take all feedback that we receive very seriously and actively try to grow and improve from it . Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention and I look forward to hearing from you. Kind regards, Ashling Dudley Group Operations Manager
Read more
We were informed that lunches would be served at 12.30.......we ordered when the menus were given out and the bill was left on our table timed at 12.27. Lunches were served elsewhere but NOT for us! We made 5 enquiries ( yes, 5 ! ) and at 13.05 gave up and left ! It seemed that
Read more
Response from Skeffingtonmanager, Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Anthony C, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent visit to The Skeff Bar & Kitchen and apologies that your time with us was so disappointing. When you have a moment could you contact me on ashling@theskeff.ie with the date of your visit - this information will allow me to fully follow-up on this helpful feedback with the whole team. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and I look forward to hearing from you. Kind regards, Ashling Dudley Group Operations Manager
Read more
We had a lovely visit here for 2 nights. Small cozy hotel, Nice roms, and the workers where lovely. We were 3 People and got a big Nice room. The beds were lovely and we slept all night long. In the weekend Its a bit noisy from the bar but IT didnt matter for us. Very central
Read more
Response from Skeffingtonmanager, Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear lillianfossumolsen, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay in The Skeffington Arms Hotel. I was delighted to read that your stay with us was most enjoyable and I will make sure to pass your kind comments on to the whole team. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Skeffington Arms Hotel in the near future. Kind regards, Ashling Dudley Group Operations Manager
Read more
Had lunch there on Sunday, very disappointed with the standard served. We ate in the bar and to be honest it was very poor fair. Meal looked like it had sat there for a while and then popped in microwave. Portion was small, in fact I thought it was a kids portion or half portion
Read more
Response from Skeffingtonmanager, Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear AngelaBunny, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent visit to The Skeff Bar and apologies that your time with us was so disappointing. When you have a moment could you contact me on ashling@theskeff.ie with what dishes had been ordered a rough time of your visit. This information will allow me to fully follow-up on the helpful feedback with the whole team. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention and I look forward to hearing from you. Kind regards, Ashling Dudley Group Operations Manager
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuiteDining
uninspired
big barn
small and functional
They even put a great deal of thought into the brochures.
Bathroom wall
PreviousNext
1234568
We will be traveling by motorbike.Is there anywhere to park outside?
Hi Sweatpea073, We have no on-site parking and the street outside is pedestrianised. We do operate a reduced rate with a carpark around the corner from us. Kind regards, Ashling
0 votes
We will be traveling by motorbike.Is there anywhere to park outside?
Yes plenty of amble parking outside
1 vote
Fajitas are the one veggie option for anyone wondering (parmesan isn't vegetarian).
0 votes
Hello, is there parking anywhere near the hotel? What is the typical parking fee? Thanks
PreviousNext
12
"Request a room not over the bar."
"103 very noisy (only room with a bath which I'd requested). Room 205 at the front much quieter but very cold."
"Very good value!"
"Ask for a quiet room to avoid potential late night noise from the Skeff Bar or street."
"Second floor rooms may be quieter"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
$81 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
skeffington arms galwayhotel skeffington arms
LOCATION
IrelandWestern IrelandProvince of ConnachtGalway
NUMBER OF ROOMS
24
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing