We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Connacht Hotel

Expedia.com$82*
View Deal
05/07/2017 05/08/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
Panoramas (16)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,455 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Connacht Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,315: English reviews
ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

My partner and I booked a suite for a 3 night midweek break with our one year old son in March and this hotel ticked every box! From the moment we arrived, the staff made it for us. Each and every one of them greeted us with a smile and chatted to us about our crazy toddler exploring every inch...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IrishTiger82
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We very much appreciate that you took the time to post your review on Tripadvisor and share your experience with us. I was delighted that you and your family had such an enjoyable stay and it was especially nice to read that you were so impressed with our Team here. They work very hard to help make our...

Lebrija, Spain
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was once the worst experience un a Hotel I've never had. In my opinión we paid a lot And the acomodation was not great. The furneture IS quite old. The ubication IS far yo go walking And id You call a taxi You can wait over 30 minutes. The only thing was good was the staff, they were very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paloma A
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paloma, I was very sorry to read that you were not happy with your stay with us for the reasons you have highlighted in your review. If you had made us aware of your dissatisfaction with your room, we would have changed your room for you, if that was acceptable to you. We are in the middle of a...

Carlow, Carlow, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I really cannot fault this hotel as it ticked all the boxes for me. Comfortable beds ✔ Coffee/Tea dock ✔ Safe ✔ Free Wifi ✔ Clean ✔ Variety of food for breakfast ✔ Leisure Centre ✔ My daughter really loved the pool and although kids are not allowed in the jacuzzi, the pool has a little corner for kids that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MarigoldRT
Kilkenny, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed overnight while on business in Galway. Check in efficient and friendly. Lay out of hotel is strange and we were in "D Wing". Sounds a bit like a prison! Was a bit of a trek to the room- along the front corridor, up a stairs, along another series of corridors around the gym and then up a lift. I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank majo56
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on "Tripadvisor". We appreciate your positive feedback and it was great to read that you were happy with your room. All of our Bedrooms are located in wings off the reception. The D wing is actually one of the newer wings of the hotel and many of our...

Carrickfergus Co. Antrim Northern Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Guest satisfaction is important at the Connacht. The rooms are clean and comfortably fitted out. The bathroom was limited on shelf space but this was a minor issue when everything else ticked the boxes. The range and quality at breakfast was up there with and even better than some of the pricier hotels we stayed in. Hats off to them...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tripstaker
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for the lovely opening sentence of your review. I am delighted that you noticed that " Guest Satisfaction" is important to us. This is absolutely true and our Team here make every effort to deliver the best possible service to our Guests on a daily basis. I am delighted that you enjoyed so many...

Dundalk
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed on 31st March to 2nd April. From the moment we entered the hotel to the moment we left, we received excellent service. The room was very nice and spacious. We ate in the restaurant on arriving after a long journey and were given our drinks immediately and the food was so tasty we opted to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Aoife_S189
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Aoife, I am delighted to read that you were so happy with every aspect of your stay and it was so great to read that you found the service you received " Excellent". The Team really appreciate your very positive feedback. Thank you for taking the time to post your review on "Tripadvisor". Thank you for staying with us....

Celbridge, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Staff are excellent, wifi is good, free parking. Rooms spacious! Dinner and bar are good. The gym is 24 hours and the pool is very large. Good for family outings or a business trip to Galway. Their Facebook is excellent with up to date news. The website blog is always on point for news in the area which helps us...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KingGeorge710
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your lovely review. We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience and post your review. I was delighted that there were so many aspects of your visit that were to your full satisfaction and it was great to read that you follow our Blog. I wish to thank you for...

London
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Overall I would recommend this hotel. The rates were reasonable for our stay. The family room was a decent size and comfortable for 2 adults and 2 (small) children. The room was clean on arrival and cleaned to a good standard throughout the stay. The staff were all helpful and friendly and a credit to the hotel. The kids club...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank clerical
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I appreciate that you took the time to share your experience and write your review on "Tripadvisor" following your recent visit to us. I am very happy to read that there were many aspects of your stay that were to your full satisfaction. I am sorry that your dining experience was only average. This would certainly not be...

County Sligo, Ireland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely catch up with friends last weekend even though the hotel was really busy everything, room, dinner, breakfast was excellent! Great spot! Well done to the hard working and friendly staff. The pool was busy though lots of kids and families! Very good value.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hegartyvalerie
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valerie, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on "Tripadvisor" , we are delighted that you were so happy with every aspect of your stay. We appreciate your very positive comments and that you found everything "excellent" Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to us again in...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Have stayed in this hotel twice before but was extremely disappointed this time. Cleaniness of room was poor, windows had cobwebs & long black hair on towel rail. Stayed for two nights & cleaners never came near the room. Building work continuing so loud noise from 8am which we were not even warned about. However on a positive note breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JulesAnnC21
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and posting your review on Tripadvisor. I am very disappointed to read that you were so unhappy with the cleanliness and presentation of your bedroom. If you had made us aware of your dissatisfaction during your stay, we would have made arrangements for you to move to...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

447 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (177)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (68)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (252)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (43)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (36)
Viewed
Suite (61)
Viewed
The Hotel (74)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
05/07/2017 05/08/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.3 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
1.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 46 in Galway
1,815 reviews
3.7 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#8 of 46 in Galway
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
1,703 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#17 of 46 in Galway
837 reviews
4.0 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 6 in Oranmore
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about The Connacht Hotel

Address: Dublin Road, Renmore | Galway City East, Galway, Ireland (Formerly Carlton Hotel Galway City)
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Price Range: $80 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Connacht Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Connacht Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Galway
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Galway
#16 Family Hotel in Galway
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Connacht Hotel staff and other travelers.
24 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (24)

Questions? Get answers from The Connacht Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Not sure there are any - our room 3022 had no view apart from air conditioning units”
rosemaryt415, 2 days ago | Read review
“3023 in B Wing was quiet with high speed Wi-Fi.”
PRIVATEA, 2 days ago | Read review
“B-wing room 3079 faces the soccer field out back and is quiet”
SmokeyBlueTulle, Mar 22, 2017 | Read review
“We overlooked a back garden grassy area that was nice and quiet”
Frozenrose, Mar 22, 2017 | Read review
“Block D near the pool if you intend to use the facilities.”
Bawn00, Mar 14, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Expedia.com
$82* /night
View Deal
HotelQuickly$103
Hotels.com$82
Booking.com$85
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates