We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Connacht Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
Panoramas (16)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,414 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,275: English reviews
Start your review of The Connacht Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

From the moment we arrived the staff were so welcoming. We stayed in the suite and it is very spacious for a family of 4. They have a leisure centre and kids club so our kids really enjoyed the pool and club. The hotel was so good that when we ventured out into galway our kids begged us to go...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ali K
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ali, Thank you so much for your lovely review of our Hotel following your recent stay with us. We are delighted to read that you and your family enjoyed your second visit to our Suites and that the children enjoyed the kids club and the pool. I was also so happy to hear that our Team remembered that your...

Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I booked a very (very) last minute Confirmation dinner for my Son and all my family (all 25+ of us) at the begging of March and I was put in contact with Rebecca in conferencing, Rebecca went above and beyond to fit us in and treated it like it was no problem, even though I increased the numbers each time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Saracaylem
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sara. We very much appreciate that you took the time to give us your feedback and post your review on Tripadvisor. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to be part of your family's very special occasion. It was great to read that your son and all the family were so happy with every aspect of your dining experience....

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed for one night here recently whilst attending a soccer match in nearby Deacy Park. There’s plenty of parking to the front of the hotel, and also some underground parking. The hotel is in a good location, and is on a very busy road. Check in was prompt, and it seemed like an age before we got to our room;...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DubTwosome
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest. Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor and for completing our comment card, which I received. I am delighted that you both were happy with many aspects of our visit. I wish to sincerely apologise to you, having read on both your review and comments card regarding your experience with one of our Supervisors or Team Leaders,...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Family of five we stayed here recently. We booked a suite on the fourth floor. The suite included 2 bedrooms and two ensuites and a little sitting room kitchen combined. This made a great difference to our stay children had there own room own telly etc and we had ours. The kitchen is very handy for families with plenty of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jezebel7
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest. Thank you so much for your lovely review of our Hotel and the very nice feedback on David and the rest of the team. I was delighted to read that you and your family enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and that you will return to visit us based on your last experience. Our Suites do offer...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The staff at the front desk and in Ryan's (attached restaurant) were absolutely brilliant! We were a part of a VERY large group who had reserved more than 50 rooms. We found the hotel to be quite comfortable with firm beds, plenty of pillows, new carpet in the bedrooms, wonderful water pressure, hot showers, etc. They were quick to meet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SmokeyBlueTulle
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It was wonderful to read your lovely comments and feedback following the visit of your group to our Hotel. I am delighted that you all enjoyed your visit to us and that you found the staff so helpful. I am sorry that the "Wifi " did not work in some rooms, had you made us aware of the...

Canada
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Not our normal hotel level stay but traveling with teenagers. We had a two bedroom suite that was spacious and the breakfast was excellent. To the negative? Carpets in the suite were dated and seemed dirty. Pillows very uncomfortable but beds were okay. Location was fine for the most part. For a family with a budget I would say this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frozenrose
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My family of 14 adults and 4 children stayed here on St Patrick's Weekend. Although the weather was wet and windy, this did not dampen our stay! The food and service was excellent and we all had a lovely time. The children enjoyed the pool and the kid's club in the evening. A special mention to Laura (girl from Kilkenny)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pauline M
ireland
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Myself and my husband stayed here over St Patrick's day weekend with 2 more couples and we had the most amazing weekend....despite the weather! We drove 4 hours from Derry and when we explained this to the staff the got our room ready for us to check in asap and they were so helpful. The rooms were lovely, spacious and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fi36
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback and for posting your review on Tripadvisor. It was wonderful to read that your stay with us was "amazing" and that you are already looking forward to visiting us again. It was our great pleasure to look after you over St. Patrick's weekend and we are looking forward to welcoming...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed in one of the suites and it was perfect for us and our 4 year old daughter.we had a seperate living room with fold out sofa bed for her and a seperate bedroom just off this for myself and my husband.this meant she could go to bed without all 3 of us having to go at the same time.it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne O
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Suzanne, I am delighted to read that you and your family enjoyed your recent visit to us and that you were happy with the facilities of the suite and the service your received. We wish to thank you for taking the time to share your experience and posting your review. We are always delighted to hear from our Guests...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I would never stay here again nor would I ever recommend it. Booked two days as we were planning on staying in the area for St Paddies day weekend. The hotel was so poor we decided to leave a day early. The room was not very nice. The carpet was disgusting. The vent in the bathroom made a constant whistling...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank POSCHtravel
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I was very sorry to read that you were so unhappy with your stay, that you felt it necessary to check out early. It is very unfortunately that you didn't bring your dissatisfaction with your room to our attention prior to your departure as I am sure we would have offered you an alternative room that was to...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

439 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (169)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (62)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (252)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (43)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (36)
Viewed
Suite (61)
Viewed
The Hotel (74)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.4 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
1.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
1,641 reviews
1.7 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 46 in Galway
1,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#20 of 46 in Galway
816 reviews
3.5 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#10 of 46 in Galway
222 reviews
1.1 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#12 of 46 in Galway
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about The Connacht Hotel

Address: Dublin Road, Renmore | Galway City East, Galway, Ireland (Formerly Carlton Hotel Galway City)
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Price Range: $77 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Connacht Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Connacht Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Galway
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Galway
#16 Family Hotel in Galway
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Connacht Hotel staff and other travelers.
22 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (22)

Questions? Get answers from The Connacht Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“B-wing room 3079 faces the soccer field out back and is quiet”
 of 5 bubbles SmokeyBlueTulle, 5 days ago | Read review
“We overlooked a back garden grassy area that was nice and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Frozenrose, 5 days ago | Read review
“Block D near the pool if you intend to use the facilities.”
 of 5 bubbles Bawn00, 1 week ago | Read review
“Simply ask reception staff for type of room, as they aim to please.”
 of 5 bubbles idehussey, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“jsut book at the connacht and they will do the rest”
 of 5 bubbles stevewalker2017, 2 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question