We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Barnacles Hostel Galway

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Barnacles Hostel Galway
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

461 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 332: English reviews
Austria
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The location is good: right in the center of Galway. The staff was very nice and helpful, happy to answer whatever question I had. Rooms and bathrooms are rather small and very poorly furnished and it gets rather cold in the night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 766i
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Adam my heartfelt thanks for managing to get me into a four bed dorm which ultimately i had to myself ensuring i had a good night's sleep much appreciated after the long bus journey. I found the room clean and love the individual reading lamps My only criticism is the push button shower fixed to the wall i prefer an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aoife M
Ennis, Ireland
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I absolutely love this hostel I've stayed here over 5 times and will be coming back !! So a clean hostel and rooms are clean to I would suggest that if you have never been here you should at least try it out ! You won't be disappointed as for staff and security very nice and helpful x

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amo1988
Lidija R, General Manager at Barnacles Hostel Galway, responded to this review

Hi Amo1988 Thanks for leaving a wonderful review of our hostel. We're delighted to hear you are a regular guest of ours and look forward to having you stay with us again soon. Regards ~Team@barnacles

B.c.
Reviewed 1 week ago

My room was very very cold. Otherwise the beds were comfortable and the staff was very friendly. Anytime I had a question they were very happy to help. I appreciated the discounts on various tours and nights out as well. Thanks!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 736devinf
Lidija R, General Manager at Barnacles Hostel Galway, responded to this review

Hi 736devinF Thanks for leaving a review of your stay at our hostel. We are sorry if your room was cold, we have portable heaters available at reception to lend out had you let us know at the time. And thank you for your lovely comments about our staff, we appreciate your feedback. We were delighted you were able to...

Ballina, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

Cannot recommend it highly enough! ideal location right in the center of galway. It was one of the coldest nights of the year and the room was perfectly warm. Staff are friendly and hostel is modern! Light breakfast was good, cereal and toast and coffee! Long story short...if you are looking for a hostel in Galway, stay here!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank P6471CHjoe
Lidija R, General Manager at Barnacles Hostel Galway, responded to this review

Hi P6471CHjoe Thanks for leaving a wonderful review of our hostel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We look forward to having you stay with us again in future. Regards ~Team@barnacles

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very central, great bar across the street with live music - The Quay? Only negatives- the heater in my room didn't work at all, but was given a small portable heater that worked fine. 10.30am check out seemed a bit early. Otherwise good value.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarkDublin2016
Lidija R, General Manager at Barnacles Hostel Galway, responded to this review

Hi MarkDublin2016 Thanks for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review of your stay. Sorry there was an issue with the heater in your room, I hope the portable heater kept your room nice and warm. Our check out time is 10.30 but we have a late check out option available until 12 noon, our reception...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Shane & Anthony from the desk were lovely. Helpful little perks like free earplugs/candy at the desk. Clean, simple rooms. Bathrooms within the room were nice as well. PRIME location. walking distance to everything (latin district, spanish arch, bars, restaurants etc) in addition to walking distance from the bus station. Really have nothing bad to say. Fair price. Cozy atmos....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna J
Lidija R, Guest Relations Manager at Barnacles Hostel Galway, responded to this review

Hi Anna J Thank you for your wonderful review of Barnacles. Shane and Anthony will be delighted to hear your kind comments and to know their hard work is recognised. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon. Regards ~Team@barnacles

Limerick, Ireland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The water in the bathroom was warm in the first night. And the second night was worst, it didn't have hot water, the water was totally COLD. And you need to keep pushing the bottom for the water coming out. It's a little bit inconvenient. And from our room, we can hear the voice from other bathroom beside us. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank k890188
Lidija R, Guest Relations Manager at Barnacles Hostel Galway, responded to this review

Hi K890188 Thanks for your feedback about your stay with us. We are sorry the water was not hot enough during your stay. Had you brought it to our attention at the time we could have arranged the use of another room for you instead, apologies for the inconvenience caused. Some of our showers have water saving push button controls...

London
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I slept in an 8 person mixed dorm which I have no issue with. The cleanliness, staff, and location were wonderful.However, the room was extremely small.The carpet needs a really good cleaning as well, considering one of my hostel mates peed on the floor. I'm pretty convinced that it wasn't cleaned.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chloep641
London, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Easy to find, staff was extremely accommodating and knowledgeable. Loved the friendliness of the front desk staff. The rooms are unfortunately quite small, having 4 people in one room and attempting to get ready with the lockers open is actually impossible.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pinkdresses
Lidija R, Guest Relations Manager at Barnacles Hostel Galway, responded to this review

Hi Pinkdresses Many thanks for your review and thanks for your lovely comments about our front desk staff, they will be very pleased with your feedback. We do have some larger rooms with extra space so if you are coming back to us again be sure to ask our reception staff to arrange one of these rooms for you. Regards...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

64 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 47 in Galway
1,495 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 47 in Galway
2,516 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#19 of 47 in Galway
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#11 of 47 in Galway
1,321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Hostel
Savoy Hostel
#3 of 50 in Galway
186 reviews
0.1 mi away
The House Hotel
The House Hotel
#6 of 47 in Galway
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Start your Irish experience at Barnacles Hostel Galway, the perfect location to explore the West of Ireland. Barnacles hostels in Galway and Dublin are specifically designed for you, the modern day global backpacker - with state of the art facilities, superior comfort and a relaxed and friendly vibe, all at affordable rates. You can find the Barnacles team 24 hours a day, ready to give you tips and local knowledge on how best to enjoy your time with us. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Barnacles Hostel Galway

Address: Quay Street House 10 Quay Street | The Latin Quarter, Galway, Ireland (Formerly Barnacles Quay Street House)
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Price Range: $32 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Barnacles Hostel Galway 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Barnacles Hostel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnacles Hostel Galway Hotel Galway
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Barnacles Hostel Galway staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Barnacles Hostel Galway staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“A room away from 7am loud radio at reception”
 of 5 bubbles annemarieg698, Aug 24, 2016 | Read review
“200--it's big, airy, easy to live in!”
 of 5 bubbles F3585TPtomd, Aug 20, 2016 | Read review
“Whatever is better”
 of 5 bubbles SansansanB, Aug 8, 2016 | Read review
“We had 15 I believe, it had a view of Quay Street.”
 of 5 bubbles Siren6214, Aug 1, 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in a private room with private bath at Barnacles on Quay Street in Galway. This room overlooked all the people and sounds of the pedestrian-only street, but we that's why we went to Galway. We liked it so much, we went back a week later!”
 of 5 bubbles JayS645, Jul 28, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay