We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Barnacles Hostel Galway

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Barnacles Hostel Galway
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

392 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 283: English reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a great time at the barnacles hostel in Galway, great location, very clean and all staff very kind and helpful (cheers Srdjan and Demian)... We were happy there, and next year we have plans to come back :-) ;-) If we can make a suggestion, that would be one PS4 or XBOX in common room and than you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Blitz23
Lidija R, Guest Relations Manager at Barnacles Hostel Galway, responded to this review

Hi Blitz23 Thank you for your review and your kind comments about our staff, I'm sure they will be please to hear this. And thanks for your suggestion of a PS4 or Xbox, we did have a PS4 and wii available in our common room for our guests in the past and maybe we should consider installing again. Many thanks... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Barnacles is in a great location in Galway! It's in the midst of a ton of shopping, restaurants, and pubs. We stayed on a Friday night and the nightlife was great! Because of this the room was a little loud, but not terrible. It was pretty clean and the room had crates to store your luggage.

Helpful?
Thank Toni Y
Lidija R, Guest Relations Manager at Barnacles Hostel Galway, responded to this review

Hi Toni Y Thanks for leaving a review of your stay with us, we are grateful for your feedback. Our hostel is in a fantastic location close to all the great bars and restaurants everyone loves about Galway. We hope to have you stay with us again in the future. Regards Team@barnacles More 

County Kildare, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

had a great time at the barnacles hostel in galway , great location , very clean and all staff very accommodating , however one of the nights it was quite loud with noise from outside and room above ,

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Helpful?
Thank emmalH1817DB
Lidija R, Guest Relations Manager at Barnacles Hostel Galway, responded to this review

Hi Emmaa!H1817DB Thanks for staying at our hostel and taking time to leave a review of your stay. We appreciate your kind comments about our location and staff. Sorry to hear it was a little loud on one of your nights stay, with so many festivals in town at the moment visitors to the city are a little more excited... More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Was in a really good spot . Right in the middle of it all . You don't get to choose your bed though which is annoying as I hate the top bunk and my head was 30cm away from the bright exit light that intended having to put my towel over it to get to sleep. Also right above me... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hannah K
Lidija R, Guest Relations Manager at Barnacles Hostel Galway, responded to this review

Hi Hannah K Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and let us know about your stay with us. We assign all our dormitory room beds so there is no confusion among guests who should be in which beds. This is particularly helpful for guests returning to their room late at night so they don't find... More 

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed in Bernacles Hostels in Dublin and in Galway and I would definitely recommend it! This hostel has an amazing location, the neighborhood is full of bars and restaurants, you have everything right next to you. Good breakfast and an amazing, friendly and helpful staff! The only thing I dislike was my room, I stayed in a female room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Magui2012
Lidija R, Guest Relations Manager at Barnacles Hostel Galway, responded to this review

Hi Magui2012 Thanks for choosing Barnacles hostels to stay at, we appreciate your custom. And thank you for your lovely comments about our location, facilities and staff, its always encouraging to get good feedback. We are sorry you found our female only room to be to small, on your next visit remind of which room you stayed at and we... More 

Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Clean rooms, Great location, Reasonable price and Friendly staff... What more do you want? :)) and again; Clean rooms, Great location, Reasonable price and Friendly staff... What more do you want? :))

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank cozgid_490976
Lidija R, Guest Relations Manager at Barnacles Hostel Galway, responded to this review

HI Cozgid_490976 Thank you for your wonderful view. We appreciate you staying with us and taking the time to tell us about your great stay. Happy travels! Regards Team@barnacles More 

County Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice location in Center if town. Very disappointed with there rigit breakfast time. We went down for breakfast at 9.33 after completing in the triathlon event the previous day and were just looking for a coffee but was told we were too late. I try to explain that generally here in Ireland we have a lovely tradition of a giving... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Noel O
Lidija R, Guest Relations Manager at Barnacles Hostel Galway, responded to this review

Dear Noel O Thank you for leaving a review, we appreciate your feedback about your stay with us. I am sorry our breakfast staff did not offer you coffee after breakfast finish. I agree this is a kind gesture and we do have a policy of allowing lea way after breakfast time as there are always some late risers. I... More 

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Except''excelent'',what can I say? Excelent location,excelent staff and excelent atmosphere. I will defenetly come back again,because I simply love Galway,and of course,I recomend Barnacles,because I had a great time there.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank blue_stefanex
Lidija R, Guest Relations Manager at Barnacles Hostel Galway, responded to this review

Hi Blue_stefanex Thank you for your fantastic review, you make us really happy!:) We are looking forward to having you stay with us again soon. Regards Team@barnacles More 

Pau, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

a very low price for comfortable beds, safe and clean room located in the most central area of Galway. Free breakfast, wifi and access to a lounge with tv, computers, music instruments and many board game.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank emmanuel_roquette
Lidija R, Guest Relations Manager at Barnacles Hostel Galway, responded to this review

Hi Emmanuel_roquette Thank you for taking the time to write us such a nice review, we appreciate this. We look forward to having you stay with us again in future. Regards Team@barnacles More 

Dublin
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great place to stay with very friendly staff, perfect for a trip to Galway. My friend and I stayed in a 10 bed dorm and we really enjoyed it. The room was clean and quiet. Close to everything in the heat of the centre of the city.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anne C
Lidija R, Guest Relations Manager at Barnacles Hostel Galway, responded to this review

HI Anne C Thank you for your lovely review for your stay with us. We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us and hope to host you again in the future. Regards Team@barnacles More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

56 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 stars 1,195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#10 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 stars 1,222 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 stars 2,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kinlay House Hostel Galway
0.2 mi away
Savoy Hostel
Savoy Hostel
#2 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 stars 165 reviews
0.5 mi away
Snoozles Hostel
Snoozles Hostel
#4 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 stars 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Start your Irish experience at Barnacles Hostel Galway, the perfect location to explore the West of Ireland. Barnacles hostels in Galway and Dublin are specifically designed for you, the modern day global backpacker - with state of the art facilities, superior comfort and a relaxed and friendly vibe, all at affordable rates. You can find the Barnacles team 24 hours a day, ready to give you tips and local knowledge on how best to enjoy your time with us. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Barnacles Hostel Galway

Address: Quay Street House, 10 Quay Street | The Latin Quarter, Galway, Ireland (Formerly Barnacles Quay Street House)
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Price Range: $36 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Barnacles Hostel Galway 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Barnacles Hostel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnacles Hostel Galway Hotel Galway
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay