We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Ardilaun Hotel

Show Prices
#16 of 47 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Ardilaun Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,218 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,188: English reviews
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A fine hotel but a little bit out of town. You will need a taxi for transportation to and from the city center.Room and hotel has free wifi which worked fine,room was comfortable and bed was fine and plenty of hot water for showering. Taxi from Spanish Arch to hotel ran about 9 Euro.

Helpful?
Thank Tom a
JDNORyan123, Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tom, Many thanks for your review. Your positive feedback is appreciated. Kind regards, The Ardilaun team More 

Carlow, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent 3 nights recently at the Ardilaun Hotel and we couldn't praise it highly enough. I was with my husband and 2 kids (4 yrs and 2 yrs). We were given a family room with a double bed, single bed and pull out sofa and still had loads of room. The staff were really friendly and were so nice... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank fionn173
JDNORyan123, Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review

Dear fionn173, Many thanks for your lovely review of our hotel. We are delighted that you and your family chose to stay with us and that you enjoyed your time here at The Ardilaun. your recommendation of our staff, accommodation, food and leisure facilities are greatly appreciated. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, The Ardilaun... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I was charged the rate of €159 for a Superior rate. Even though I asked for a single room which is € 139. Refused to reduce the price for me. Receptionist got the Manager who said she didn't have the power to reduce the price!!!! Why bother getting her over to me so. I had eaten in the hotel too.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Claire O
JDNORyan123, Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ms Claire Owens, We have thoroughly investigated your condemnation of The Ardilaun Hotel as having 'ripped me off' and we find your review to be misleading and inaccurate at the very least. Insulting and damaging is more accurate. You were attending a conference at The Ardilaun on 14th-15th September this year. You booked on August 16th for September 14th... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived at the Ardilaun. After driving from Dublin. We were most impressed as we drove in the lane way, a beautiful hotel in the nicest part of the city. We checked in and found our room was beyond our expectation. Large, nicely furnished, very comfortable bed and everything working as expected. The bathroom was large and nicely finished. The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jim B
JDNORyan123, Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jim B, We are delighted to read from your recent review that you had such a positive and enjoyable experience here at The Ardilaun. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated and your compliments regarding our staff, food and accommodation facilities are very welcome. We hope to see you back at The Ardilaun ih the future. Kind regards, The Ardilaun team More 

Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we booked a night away in August for approx 12 people as we were celebrating a 50th and an 80th. we booked a meal in the resturant for all but it was extremely disappointing. the food was only ok. very disappointing as we were celebrating two big milestones . we were asked when paying at reception was everything ok and... More 

Helpful?
Thank fcamcgovern
JDNORyan123, Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review

Dear fcamcgovern, We are very disappointed to read your review of The Ardilaun recently. We are retraining front desk staff immediately to appropriately deal with any issues that arise. If there is anything which you would like to discuss with a manager regarding your experience here I encourage you to contact reservations@theardilaunhotel.ie without delay. Our reservations manager will be able... More 

Isle of Man
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed over weekend to 12th September. First impressions upon arrival were very good. Hotel exterior looks great, lobby area large and spacious. Staff on check in - excellent. Disappointed with room, very dark and cold! Enquired at reception regarding heating - it cannot be controlled by the room guests only by the management! Very disappointing after having a nice hot... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly64
JDNORyan123, Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kelly64, Thank you for your recent review and your lovely comments about our staff, food and accommodations. We apologise for your discomfort because of heating issues. The heating is in fact on a timer and is controlled centrally. As you can imagine it would be impossible to have each room individually controlled as there are 123 rooms in the... More 

Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
266 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Ardilaun is situated about ten minutes outside of city center Galway. About a 10 euro cab ride into town. The hotel has a button that contacts the taxi service directly. Rooms were nice, great night of sleep after a long traveling day. Mild wear. Free wifi. The grounds and garden areas are gorgeous and definitely the main attraction at... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank TBLJTiki
JDNORyan123, Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TBLJTiki, Thank you for your recent review and your recommendation of THe Ardilaun. We are delighted you chose to stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards The Ardilaun team More 

Tokyo
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel: This hotel is located outside of the city center about ten minutes away by car. Beautiful, quiet neighborhood for a stroll. Dining: Dinner menu had minimal vegetarian options and the breakfast buffet was skimpy. Spa/Gym: Extra point given for the amazing leisure club with its huge pool and gym! There is also a spa that I didn't use directly... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank NicoleAlexis28
JDNORyan123, Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review

Dear NicoleAlexis28, Thank you for your review and your comments regarding food service. We have passed on your feedback to our chefs for review. Your positive feedback on the leisure club is very welcome. Kind regards, The Ardilauhn team More 

Overton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Nice enough hotel but the usual problem with Select when it comes to room allocation and you are using (Tesco) vouchers. In the cheap suites, room by the bins and delivery wagons, accessed by going outside. Shame really- why they don't offer a lesser conversion rate and give you a decent room instead. Still, very nice Leisure centre - pool... More 

Helpful?
Thank DavidD4204
JDNORyan123, Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David 4204, Thank you for your recent review. We value your feedback. The Ardilaun is an old hotel and has seen many additions over the years. There is interior access to the room you were allocated, but the most direct route is via a covered walkway through the gardens. We are sorry that this was a great inconvenience for... More 

Michigan
Level Contributor
193 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here 2 nights; nice size room, clean, comfortable bed; pretty toiletries; clean towels. Hotel staff helpful & friendly. The buffet breakfast was a disappointment. They had cold pieces of toast set on the table already; no toaster anywhere in the dining room to warm them up. Other breakfast food was just so-so. They do have very good dinner;... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank floRDMichigan
JDNORyan123, Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review

Dear floRDMichigan, Thank you for your review and positive feedback regarding f your dinner experience, staff and facilities. Cold toast on your breakfast table was certainly not normal and restaurant managers have been alerted to this. We are designing and installing a new breakfast buffet this year. Kind regards, The Ardilaun team More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

553 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (153)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (64)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (366)
Viewed
Amenities (40)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (30)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Single Room (33)
Viewed
Pool (14)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Standard Double Queen Room (25)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (34)
Viewed
Standard Double Single Room (27)
Viewed
Suite (37)
Viewed
Superior Double Single Room (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 stars 2,565 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 stars 1,334 reviews
4.0 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#8 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 stars 1,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
3.4 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 stars 1,479 reviews
1.3 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 stars 2,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Ardilaun is a family owned hotel, newly refurbished to a 4**** standard, Ideally located amongst spacious private grounds, minutes from city centre. 125 Luxurious bedrooms to include garden rooms and unique suites. Comfortable spacious lounges, award-winning "Camilaun Restaurant" and superb leisure club with its 18m swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and gymnasium. Beauty salon on site. Conferencing facilities for up to 650 delegates. Complimentary car parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Ardilaun Hotel

Address: Taylors Hill, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Price Range: $75 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ardilaun Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your The Ardilaun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Galway
#7 Family Hotel in Galway
#10 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#12 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#20 Business Hotel in Galway
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay