We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Forster Court Hotel

Traveler (68)
Dining (41)
Room & Suite (19)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#6 of 45 hotels in Galway
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
The Forster Court Hotel is situated right in the centre of Galway, just steps from the famous Eyre Square and minutes from Shop Street. Relax and unwind in our newly refurbished and stylish rooms. A boutique hotel offering a warm welcome, with friendly service throughout your stay. Choose from Double, Twin and Triple Rooms offering modern conveniences, including complimentary high speed WI-FI, Plasma Screens and designated USB charging points and Tea/ Coffee making facilities as normal. Our newly opened Hyde Bar & Gin Parlour, is a relaxing place to have Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch or Dinner. Hyde Bar & Gin Parlour is elegant,stylish and refined, stocking more than 500 gins from around the world. Discounted car-parking is available in a nearby multi-storey car park, to the rear of the hotel. The Forster Court is easily accessible from all routes and is located near to the Train, Bus and Coach Station in Galway.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Fax / photocopying
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Parking garage
Free internet
Wifi
Public wifi
Internet
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Flatscreen TV
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Value
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
109Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
55Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
653Reviews
6Q+A
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 386
  • 187
  • 55
  • 20
  • 6
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We stayed here for 3 nights in Dublin. Its a solid three star hotel. Breakfast included was made to order. We were just a 1 minute walk from Eyre square and 5 minutes walk from beginning of pedestrian area, and train/bus station are close -so a perfect based for exploring the area. Staff at the desk were very pleasant. Nice bar too.
Read more
Although the staff was friendly and helpful, the hotel was disappointing. The major disadvantage was that there was no air conditioning in the room. Even with the fan provided, I still needed to keep the window open which then caused me to wake up from street noise. The breakfast at the hotel was well priced and delicious.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from DouglasN1110, Manager at Forster Court Hotel
Responded yesterday
Dear guest. Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. It pleases me to see you were impressed by our staff, they are our best asset! I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with your experience in the hotel. Unfortunately we do not have air conditioning but we have fans placed in rooms to ensure the comfort of our guests. As a city centre hotel we do experience a certain level of street noise, however we do provide ear plugs in the rooms for our guests comfort. I hope you will return to us again in the future. Warm regards, Cliona- reception
Read more
Nice rooms great location . Breakfast very disappointment no organisation floor staff all over the shop no structure. Ruined what could have been a good experience. As a manager in hotels we all know the most important meal you will have in your property is Breakfast and it was far far far below par.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from DouglasN1110, Reception at Forster Court Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Lorcan, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay . We are disappointed to hear that you didn't experience our usual high standard of service. We completely agree that breakfast is a very important meal, particularly for hotels. As you can see from previous reviews, we are often praised for our fresh, made to order breakfasts. Had you made the reception or manager aware, we would have done our best to rectify the problem and improve your experience. We apologise that your experience did not meet your expectations and I have passed your comments along to management. We appreciate your feedback as we find guest feedback to be the best way improve our services. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel so that you can see our improvements. Warm regards, Meidhbhin, Reception
Read more
The pics are not at all realistic It is noisy and no air conditioning so you have twice the choice to not sleep We had a room 301 the lavatory is at the level of your knees Never see that in 30 years.
Read more
Response from DouglasN1110, Manager at Forster Court Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Pascale, We are disappointed to hear that we did not live up to your expectations. Due to our central location, just next to Galway's city centre and all its amenities, we do experience some street noise. We provide ear plugs in the rooms for our guests comfort and if notified, our front desk team do their best to accommodate guests in a quieter area of the hotel. Unfortunately air conditioning is not very common in Ireland, as such we do provide fans for our guests for their comfort. I am amazed to hear that you had not seen a bathroom with a low setting before. When you first raised your dissatisfaction with reception you did mention that you were aware you had been allocated a room for wheelchair access. When you mentioned that you found the sink too low, we immediately offered to move you to a different room. As you can see from previous reviews we do our best to ensure our guests comfort throughout their stay. Please note that as a newly refurbished hotel, the photos of our rooms and facilities have all been updated recently. We welcome all feedback and thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is through guest feedback that we can continually improve our services. Kind regards, Douglas Niland
Read more
We spent 4 nights at the Forster Court Hotel. It has a wonderful location and is in walking distance to all the sights in Galway. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful and the rooms were clean and modern. We had the breakfast included...made to order and buffet. The buffet was small and could had more fresh fruit and options. However the food we had was good.
Read more
Response from DouglasN1110, Manager at Forster Court Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Georgia. Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am delighted to see you enjoyed your stay. I will pass on your comments to our kitchen and we will improve our buffet selection where possible. Warm regards, Cliona- Reception
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$121 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IrelandWestern IrelandProvince of ConnachtGalway
NUMBER OF ROOMS
50
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing