We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Royal Marine Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Royal Marine Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,783 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,705: English reviews
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Myself, sister and parents stayed at the hotel for a 2 night pamper package! Magdalena checked us in, she spoke so low it was impossible to hear her with no eye contact. She took payment straight away and gave us room cards without asking us if we needed any meals or treatments booked. She did not tell us about breakfast... More 

Helpful?
Thank GrainneF808
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

It was an excellent experience in this hotel from the check in till the check out. The free WiFi was very strong all over the hotel. Security was amazing. The scene from our adequately-sized and relaxing room was extra-ordinary. The hotel reception staff was very helpful and understanding. The room was clean and the tea and coffee making facility was... More 

Helpful?
Thank averrhoes2015
Scotter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Stay here regularly for business staff are professional, service is excellent and rooms are 5 star. Spa and gym facilities are available and of a good standard. Harry's bar is friendly and welcoming. Food especially breakfast is of a high quality and staff are attentive. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Steve80742
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed here recently for a friend's wedding, and I cannot fault a single thing. The hotel is beautiful, we were lucky to get a Victorian room (one of the rooms on circular part of front). The room was huge and so beautiful, and great value. By far the best hotel we have stayed in Ireland in. Staff and food... More 

Helpful?
Thank obdue00
Camden, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Spacious comfortable room. Beautiful view. I hope to return with my husband and see the seaside sights. Big breakfast buffet with hot and cold offerings. We caught the air coach to the airport right outside the door.

Helpful?
Thank veet09r
ManagerRoyalMarine, General Manager at Royal Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear veet09r, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Royal Marine Hotel on Trip Advisor. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel so much and thank you for your nice comments about your spacious and comfortable room and about the food served at dinner... More 

Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The Royal Marine Hotel is a great spot about 20 minutes from downtown Dublin.If you are looking for a nice quiet Hotel, this is it. The accommodations were very nice. The only drawback in the room is that they didn't provide bottled water. The beds were very comfortable. The Bar scene was just ok.

Helpful?
Thank Jim L
ManagerRoyalMarine, General Manager at Royal Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jim L, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Royal Marine Hotel on Trip Advisor. Thank you for your positive and constructive feedback on your stay with us and I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for mentioning the comfort of our... More 

Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Great hotel wonderful position and nearby shopping Traditional in every sense Friendly staff Only criticism is that the bar area is dingy and resembles a fast food restaurant Given everything else about the hotel is good this is a disappointment and worth upgrading

Helpful?
Thank peter s
ManagerRoyalMarine, General Manager at Royal Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear peter s, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Royal Marine Hotel on Trip Advisor. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and thank you for your nice comments about the hotel and our staff. I was disappointed to read that you did not... More 

Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Convenient location with parking - we were going to a concert at The Pavillion Theatre in Dun Laoghaire. This was the second time we've stayed this year, and this time we were upgraded to a lovely room with views of the harbour. Breakfast wasn't included, and was a bit pricey, so we ate at the Weatherspoons a few doors down.

Helpful?
Thank kk19632015
ManagerRoyalMarine, General Manager at Royal Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear kk19632015, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Royal Marine Hotel on Trip Advisor. I was pleased to read that this was your second visit to us this year and thank you for all of your nice comments about your stay in the hotel. I was delighted to read that... More 

Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very please with the location of this hotel. Only a few mins out of Dublin on the dart railway ! The hotel was great, I had a sea view which was worth it. Breakfast was good, service good, dinner good. My wife enjoyed the spa treatments and I enjoyed the pool. Tip: take swim hat and flip flops!

Helpful?
Thank steveglenn56
ManagerRoyalMarine, General Manager at Royal Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear steveglenn56, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Royal Marine Hotel on Trip Advisor. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel so much and thank you for all of your nice and kind comments about the service and experience and food that you... More 

Philadelphia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a CIE tour and this is a lovely property. Bright and cheery, close to DART and some places to eat. Breakfast was very good, service was excellent. I thought it was very lively here.

Helpful?
Thank immer-sonnig
ManagerRoyalMarine, General Manager at Royal Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear immer-sonnig, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Royal Marine Hotel on Trip Advisor. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay as part of a tour group that stayed with us and thank you for all of your compliments about the hotel. We are pleased that... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

829 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (422)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (84)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (83)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (33)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (181)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (356)
Viewed
Amenities (59)
Viewed
Double Room (59)
Viewed
Frank Sinatra Suite (85)
Viewed
Dining (60)
Viewed
The Hotel (93)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dun Laoghaire
1.6 mi away
Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa
Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
4.0 of 5 stars 311 reviews
1.8 mi away
Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin
0.2 mi away
The Haddington
The Haddington
#3 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
4.0 of 5 stars 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel, Dublin
5.8 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,189 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Beacon
The Beacon
#1 of 2 in Sandyford
4.5 of 5 stars 1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Steeped in history and a favourite with the locals, this landmark Hotel is an impressive sight on the Dun Laoghaire skyline. Since 1828, a Dublin Hotel has occupied the site now occupied by the Royal Marine Hotel. With 228 Bedrooms, 14 Dedicated Meeting Rooms and a Conference Centre as well as The Pier Health Club and sananaSPA; the Royal Marine Hotel has it all. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal Marine Hotel

Address: Marine Road, Dun Laoghaire, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dun Laoghaire
Price Range: $95 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Marine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Marine dún Laoghaire
Hotel Royal Marine
Royal Marine Hotel Dublin
Royal Marine Hotel Dun Laoghaire, Ireland - County Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay