We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
33 Harcourt Street, Dublin D02 WC81 Ireland
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$278
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/24/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Only 4 left at
$276
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/25/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
Only 4 left at
$246
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/25/22
Travelocity$276
Priceline$278
Trip.com$277
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (692)
360
Panoramas (10)
Room & Suite (277)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-in
  • Contactless check-out
Updated 08/02/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 08/02/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#94 of 177 hotels in Dublin
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.3
Value
3.6
Travelers' Choice
We don’t do conventional. We do fun. Super cool & comfortable rooms filled with stuff that will make you smile. Spaces for work & play. Food & drink to shout about. Smack bang in the heart of Dublin City. We've got The Dean Bar, our event space - The Blue Room, the Penthouse Loft, Sophie's Restaurant, Bar and Terrace on the roof, Everleigh in the basement. Everyone is welcome, it's an open house. You don't need to be staying at The Dean to hang out at The Dean.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Wifi
Restaurant
Special diet menus
Rooftop bar
Nightclub / DJ
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quirky Hotels
Boutique

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
128Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
36Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
1214Reviews21Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 555
  • 266
  • 128
  • 107
  • 158
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Louis Ryan wrote a review Aug 17
Fethard, Ireland3 contributions
I stayed at The Dean, Dublin recently and was looking for something different, something unique and that’s what we found! Upon arrival the amazing lady at the Reception, she was all through our stay so facilitating and welcoming a 5⭐️ rating. She really matched the vibes of the hotel and I think the aspect of no uniforms is fitting too! We were upgraded to a fantastic room with an amazing view of the Dublin rooftops with comfy beds, a large minibar with every kind of treat, and a great bathroom. There were a few small things about the room that could have improved, like the TV glitching and windows in need of a clean. We went down to the outdoor heated pool and sauna which we both amazing, so was the gym. You could even order a drink to the pool! The gym was also amazing! The pool is quite small but 100% worth a visit. Sophie’s rooftop bar is a fantastic place for cocktails/food too, definitely check it out! We had an amazing stay overall and without a doubt will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Really accessible to the city centre, only 5/10 mins by bus and luas stations next to the hotel!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Soxfan37 wrote a review Jul 2022
Boston, Massachusetts14 contributions
The front desk people were very receptive and helpful for issues we had and the restaurant is great. The super room is a normal sized hotel room. Having said that, the down side was getting the triple room for the kids. I was thinking that the triple room would be a great option for our 3 kids, but unfortunately the photos don't truly show you how small the rooms are. To put 3 kids and their suitcases in the room, was a near impossible task. The room has a short hall next to the bathroom and room enough for a single chair. The kids had to walk over their suitcases to get to the beds. The area that the hotel is in is surrounded by night clubs, so it can be a little loud at night, but they do supply ear plugs. I would stay there again, but I definitely would not consider the Punkbunk as an option.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: The odd number rooms are farther away from the night club noise.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from PressUp Hospitality, General Manager at The Dean Dublin
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thanks for the great rating - we're sorry that the pod room was not suitable to your space requirements - we do our best to accurately describe them through all online channels. We'd always urge bookers with substantial luggage to book the super-spacious SupeRoom. Please let us know if you ever have plans to return, Dave L
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
paul r wrote a review Jul 2022
Dublin, Ireland4 contributions
very good, we really enjoy staying and being able to experience the dean . hotel is stunning, staff is also just amazing and very well aware of what to do around. we got some very good tips and that made our stay even better.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from PressUp Hospitality, General Manager at The Dean Dublin
Responded 3 weeks ago
Excellent stuff Paul - we're really glad you enjoyed what we do! We take great pride in creating amazing spaces and even better staff - so happy to hear we hit the mark with service and local tips! Hope to see you again soon, Dave L
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anthony-Minnis wrote a review Jul 2022
Bangor, United Kingdom141 contributions61 helpful votes
+1
Fabulous hotel style and sass with fabulous staff interiors rooms and location. Truly unique and a real gem of a hotel in a world of ordinary. The reception and bar in reception are fabulous as are also the roof top bar and restaurant. Truly unique and a discovery made !!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Rooms under the roof top kitchen can be a little noisy
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from PressUp Hospitality, General Manager at The Dean Dublin
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you so much! We're delighted that you had a great stay with us! Creating a unique hospitality experience outside of the norm is what we always strive to do, glad that translated into a memorable experience! Hope to see you again soon, Dave L
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joanne P wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
This hotel is LOUD. As I write this, it feels like I am being assaulted by the unnecessarily aggressive bass of the music outside. If the noise isn’t enough, the hotel actually SHAKES. Rooms are beautifully decorated and staff wonderful, but please avoid unless you plan on partying until 3am.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from PressUp Hospitality, General Manager at The Dean Dublin
Responded Jul 10, 2022
Thanks for your review Joanne - We are delighted to hear you liked our décor and most importantly our staff! Please le us know if you have plans to comeback to us for a much quieter room away from the nightclub area. Thank you, Naira
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shell wrote a review Jun 2022
Ireland140 contributions123 helpful votes
I booked this for a group of 9 of our friends for one of our 40th. From booking it, to checking out- everything was fantastic! I had to make some adjustments to the bookings with some people pulling out and the staff were always so friendly and nothing was a problem or too much trouble. We had a package deal with breakfast and dinner in Sophies. We got a brilliant rate for it, hotels are crazy money lately and it was the weekend of pride so we were very happy with the pricing. The hotel is gorgeous, decorated beautifully, the rooms were small but comfortable, we didn't hear any noise from outside. The location was perfect, near everything we needed to be near. The food in Sophies was absolutely gorgeous, everyone really enjoyed dinner all our meals were very tasty, breakfast was the same. A great selection. The staff were lovely. 2 of the group used the pool facilities and said they had felt like they had been to a spa they were so relaxed after it. All in all we would give the hotel a 10/10 and would definitely return. Thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from PressUp Hospitality, General Manager at The Dean Dublin
Responded Jun 30, 2022
Hey Shell - what a pleasure it was to take care of you all! We're delighted that we delivered an amazing stay across all departments - always amazing to hear when our super friendly staff hit the mark in this regard! I'll be sure to share your kind words with our teams. Please let us know if there's ever an opportunity to take care of you all again ;) All the best, Dave L & The Dean Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
alkay898 wrote a review Jun 2022
Sacramento, California3 contributions
We are a family of 3 — myself, my husband and my 18 yr old son, who stayed in The James Suite. The suite itself was lovely, but my God, the noise. I am not sure how this place managed to land a recommendation from The New York Times, but unless you are someone who doesn’t like to go to sleep until 2 a.m., I would avoid this hotel. We are here on a Monday night, which I wouldn’t have expected would be a super loud evening, but after drifting off to sleep at about 9:30 p.m. (we had just arrived on a red eye from California), I was abruptly awoken to the sounds of a live band an hour later. It literally sounded like the band was in our room. The walls were vibrating. I called downstairs and the front desk told me there was a wedding on the rooftop bar, but that the band would finish at 11. This sounded unlikely — and indeed turned out to be untrue. The band played until midnight…at which point the music switched to a DJ — a DJ with very loud speakers. I called down to the front desk again at 1:10 a.m. and was told that the party only had a contract to go until 1, but the music went on for another 20 minutes anyway. Finally, blessedly, it all stopped at 1:30 a.m. This was a Monday night. I have no idea what the situation might be like on weekends. I would say that the combination of a live band and an open air rooftop bar are a bad combination from a noise perspective, and would indeed seem to be a design flaw in this entire concept. As a bar, I can imagine this place is a lot of fun. In fact, we at dinner at Sophie’s earlier in the evening and thought it was very nice. The restaurant has a great view and cool vibe. But as a hotel — a place where you could actually sleep — I would avoid this place. I can’t imagine that anyone on this entire city block gets to sleep when there is live music, or a DJ frankly, up on the roof. When I say it was loud, I mean it was LOUD.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Very Noisy
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from PressUp Hospitality, General Manager at The Dean Dublin
Responded Jun 21, 2022
Hi there - thanks for staying with us and we're sorry that we didn't have a quieter option to offer you during your stay with us. We appreciated the opportunity to meet you at Reception and offer some value back in light of the disturbance. Please let us know if you ever have plans to return for a quieter room assignment. We'd love to showcase The Dean again in the most positive light and be most-grateful of any opportunity. Apologies again, Dave L
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Christina R B wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
Starting with the positives- the hotel is beautiful, clean, and well maintained. Great restaurant and rooftop bar on site, nice room amenities, large new bathrooms, very comfortable bed, friendly and helpful staff, and pretty, safe area of Dublin. The lobby is fun and welcoming, the rooms are large and well decorated, fun and unique hotel all around. the downside- this was the loudest hotel room I have ever stayed in anywhere- there is an open air night club next door with thumping base until nearly 3 in the morning. I live in a city and have stayed in temple bar loads of times, so my noise threshold isn't unrealistic. The earplugs did nothing, I dont even think noise canceling headphones would cut it because of the percussive base. apparently the rooms on the other side of the hall are quiet because they don't overlook the bar/dance club, but there was no room to move me to. Had to be at the airport early so got maybe two hours of sleep- and that was only possible because I folded up the duvet and laid on the bathroom floor with the door shut to drown out the noise. I hate to post a negative review because I know it's not really the hotel's fault some genius gave planning permission for that club, but feel guests need to know ahead of booking. if guests plan to be out till 2 and sleep late, then this hotel would probably be a good fit.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: lovely hotel, even number rooms are VERY loud
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from PressUp Hospitality, General Manager at The Dean Dublin
Responded Jun 11, 2022
Thanks for the honest review and positives about our property - we appreciate you sharing your experience! We would always urge guests to let us know if there is a preference for a quieter room and we'll always do our best to accommodate - I'm sorry we didn't have any quieter options when you had called us. Please let us know if there's ever an opportunity to look after you again in a quieter room at the best possible terms. Many thanks, Dave L
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
dmode4sm wrote a review May 2022
Carbondale, Colorado50 contributions40 helpful votes
We had really high expectations for this hotel. The location is great and the decor is fantastic along with the rooftop restaurant but OMG, there is a club next door that made our three nights miserable. They go until 2 to 3 in the morning and the ear plugs the hotel gives you are not enough to drown out the noise. This was disclosed to us at check-in but what are you to do that that point?!?! We also wanted to reserve the sauna on our last night but they close it at 8pm. There were just too many disappointments so we would never stay here in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from PressUp Hospitality, General Manager at The Dean Dublin
Responded May 30, 2022
Hey there - we're sorry that you were disturbed by late night activity and that we didn't have an opportunity to move you to a quieter bedroom on the 2nd night. We always do our best to make things right when we learn of any issues. I understand that you may not wish to return but if your position changes, please let us know and we'll always do our best to make it up to you with us or even a sister property. Many thanks, Dave L
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
StevenDesmet wrote a review May 2022
Antwerp, Belgium27 contributions15 helpful votes
You have a 50% chance of a great stay. The Dean has a good restaurant with great views over Dublin and a nice cosy rooftopbar. But half of the rooms (the ones with even numbers) face an open-air dancing, making it extremely difficult to sleep. We stayed here for 2 weekendnights with many friends and all shared the same experience. The morning after our first night half of us tried to change rooms (all except the ones with odd-numbered rooms). A nice hotel, but if you can’t sleep for 2 nights in a row, not a great experience.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from PressUp Hospitality, General Manager at The Dean Dublin
Responded May 30, 2022
Hey Steven - thanks for sharing your experience and we're sorry that you were affected by noise. We always do our best to get room assignments right and I sincerely hope we looked after a room swap ok for you after learning of the difficulty. Please let us know if you ever have plans to return and we'll lock in that quiet room request at booking stage at the best possible terms. Dave L
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$217 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of LeinsterCounty DublinDublinSouth City Centre
NUMBER OF ROOMS
51
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Dean Dublin
Which popular attractions are close to The Dean Dublin?
Nearby attractions include St Stephens Green (0.3 miles), Cherry Comedy at Whelan's (0.1 miles), and Escape Dublin (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Dean Dublin?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Dean Dublin?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Dean Dublin?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Dean Dublin?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Dean Dublin?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mister S, Richmond Restaurant, and The Landmark.
Is The Dean Dublin located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the center of Dublin.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Dean Dublin?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to The Dean Dublin?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Kilmainham Gaol Museum (2.0 miles), 14 Henrietta Street (1.2 miles), and Guinness Storehouse (1.1 miles).
Is The Dean Dublin accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.