We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
33 Harcourt Street, Dublin D02 WC81 Ireland
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Priceline
ZenHotels.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (666)
360
Panoramas (10)
Room & Suite (264)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-in
  • Contactless check-out
Updated 08/02/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 08/02/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#90 of 178 hotels in Dublin
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
We don’t do conventional. We do fun. Super cool & comfortable rooms filled with stuff that will make you smile. Spaces for work & play. Food & drink to shout about. Smack bang in the heart of Dublin City. We've got The Dean Bar, our event space - The Blue Room, the Penthouse Loft, Sophie's Restaurant, Bar and Terrace on the roof, Everleigh in the basement. Everyone is welcome, it's an open house. You don't need to be staying at The Dean to hang out at The Dean.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Wifi
Restaurant
Special diet menus
Rooftop bar
Nightclub / DJ
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quirky Hotels
Trendy
1177Reviews21Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 540
  • 261
  • 121
  • 103
  • 152
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Lynn M wrote a review Oct 7
Bangor, United Kingdom88 contributions49 helpful votes
Fantastic location, funky, fashionable decor and superb customer service make this a great choice for a couple’s break. For perfection I’d have loved better storage in the room (we only had 3 hangers) and complimentary water and biscuits. Breakfast was super and the new pool is a brilliant addition. When we visited, the sauna was out of action which was a little disappointing. My top tip is to book dinner in Sophie’s and a time slot for the pool so you don’t miss out.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from PressUp Hospitality, General Manager at The Dean
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thanks for the feedback - we really appreciate it! Please let us know if you have plans to return! Dave L
Read more
Laura M wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
I booked this with friends to celebrate some big birthdays. We got a a really good deal which covered dinner and drinks and we barely left the hotel! The rooms are very cool, I really liked the selection of records and gadgets. The food and the vibes in Sophie’s are just fabulous and the service from all of the staff was warm and generous throughout the weekend. When can we come back?! I have never been so sad to leave a hotel
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from PressUp Hospitality, General Manager at The Dean
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hey Laura, Thank you for the amazing review. It's so good to hear you enjoyed the entire experience, from the room to the restaurant and most importantly, our staff. Stay safe and we can't wait to have you back for the next one :) Tom.
Read more
Rach K wrote a review Sep 2021
Kildare, Ireland7 contributions10 helpful votes
Paid 225 euro for a box. Health and safety hazard and it was so small. The stairs to the bunk was vertical which was not easy to climb! Had to go into the toilet for someone to pass you to get to the bedroom. Hotel staff in general were lovely apart from the manager when we complained, very condescending, pretentious and didn't care at all. You can get a cheaper hotel in a similar location were you can actually walk around in the room.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from PressUp Hospitality, General Manager at The Dean
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi Rach, Once again I'm sorry you were disappointed with your room. Our PunkBunk rooms are indeed on the smaller side. I'm sorry the offer of free cancellation or a transfer to one of our sister properties were not an option for you. If we were not fully booked on Saturday, we of course would have tried to move you to one of larger room types. I can understand that you may not wish to return again but the offer still stands of trying out one of our larger room types in the future. Kind regards, Tom.
Read more
Laura M wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
I stayed in the Dean Monday night with 2 friends, we stayed in the punk bunk room, it was small but so cosy! The beds were honestly so comfortable! We had a nice pizza and cocktails in Sophie’s when we got to the hotel and the breakfast the next morning was amazing! The location is also really handy it’s close to lots of bars and restaurants.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from PressUp Hospitality, General Manager at The Dean
Responded Sep 2, 2021
Thanks for the lovely review! See you soon, Dave L
Read more
Mandy wrote a review Aug 2021
Kansas City, Kansas37 contributions2 helpful votes
Wow is all I can say about the Dean. Their customer service is next level and I can truly say I’ve never felt so welcomed and cared for at a hotel like I did at the Dean. They let us check in early and even upgraded our rooms for free so we could check in early. Their rooms were spacious, cute, and had everything we needed. They also stored our belongings for us while we traveled to another place for a couple of days. I already can’t wait to stay here again! Their restaurant Sophie’s had excellent servers and fantastic food. Don’t bother looking anywhere else and book this hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from PressUp Hospitality, General Manager at The Dean
Responded Aug 28, 2021
Hey Mandy! Thanks so much for such a fantastic review. So happy to hear you were looked after by our team and that you enjoyed our SupeRoom upgrade. Enjoy the rest of your travels and looking forward to seeing again soon :) Tom.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$143 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of LeinsterCounty DublinDublinSouth City Centre
NUMBER OF ROOMS
51
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Dean
Which popular attractions are close to The Dean?
Nearby attractions include St Stephens Green (0.3 miles), Escape Dublin (0.3 miles), and Cherry Comedy at Whelan's (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Dean?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Dean?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Dean?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Dean?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Dean?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mister S, Richmond Restaurant, and Gerry's Coffee Shop.
Is The Dean located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the center of Dublin.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Dean?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to The Dean?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Kilmainham Gaol Museum (2.0 miles), Trinity College Dublin (0.7 miles), and Guinness Storehouse (1.1 miles).
Is The Dean accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.