We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel

#44 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
O\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,121 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,052: English reviews
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here twice in a two week span. The first stay was top flight on every level. After exploring NW Ireland we returned for a pre-departure stay. This was a significantly different experience. The TV didn't work, the toilet worked when it wanted to, a housekeeper woke us at 8 AM slamming furniture against the adjacent wall, and idling... More 

Helpful?
Thank Charlie B
Nashville
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

An excellent base location for walking to anywhere in central Dublin. We have zero complaints with this hotel, the staff were very accommodating. We spent 3 nights in a junior suite on the 4th floor, the king size bed was large and very comfortable, and the separate sitting room came in handy when our sleep schedules got out of sync.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stejane
Nottingham
Level Contributor
101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

The Hotel has a good location, on one corner of St Stephens Green, but like all Dublin hotels is expensive for what it is. The Classic King provides a good sized room, with comfortable King-sized bed, TV, safe and en suite with over-bath shower (good water pressure). The illuminated shaving mirror was excellent and a nice touch. They offer a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Perfect10
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Great location hotel albeit with fairly standard rooms. Literally a stones throw from Stephen's green so plenty of bars and restaurants with a short walking distance. Stopped for a night cap in the bar which proved to be disappointing both in the atmosphere and in the very basis wine knowledge of the bar man on duty. Not a hotel for... More 

Helpful?
Thank 2BSure2BSure
RKaurOCH, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 2BSure2BSure Thank you for reviewing our hotel post your recent stay with us and for recommending us. I have noted your comments regarding your bar experience and would like to assure you that we will use your feedback for corrective training. Hoping to welcome you back again. Regards Rishnoor Kaur General Manager More 

Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Staff pleasant, room nice and spacious, king size bed, right beside Stephen's Green, 2 minute walk from Grafton Street. Room needed a bit of updating (chipped paint etc) but generally comfortable. Room on 4th floor - side with even numbers - have large windows, which I saw in official photos wasnt the case for all floors.

Helpful?
Thank smmie
RKaurOCH, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Dear smmie Its great to hear that your stay with us was comfortable and that you found our facilities to your liking. We hope to welcome you back. Regards Rishnoor Kaur General Manager More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Looks good online and okay from the outside... savour that! It doesn't last. You see the tired old lobby, worn sofas in the lobby, shabby staff... get to your room (one lift, schlep your bags along a dirty corridor, drag your bags though 4 sets of doors, take another lift, more doors, find your room) and be confronted with more... More 

Helpful?
Thank RJB1234
RKaurOCH, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Dear RJB1234 I am so sorry that you left disappointed with our service and facilities. It is never our intention to inconvenience our guests in any way however sometimes our best efforts are ill received. While we are disappointed that we did not meet with your expectations, we wish you an enjoyable stay in Dublin. Regards Rishnoor Kaur General Manager More 

Boyne City, Michigan
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Stephens Green O'Callaghan is a lovely hotel across from Stephens Green (a smaller version of Central Park in New York City, which was based on it). It is within walking distance of Trinity College and the Book of Kells, Temple Bar district, the river, lots of shopping, and great evening venues. Rooms are nicely appointed, and the bar is... More 

Helpful?
Thank SuzanneetRon
RKaurOCH, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SuzanneetRon Thank you so much for your endorsement and for recommending our hotel, it is a great feeling to hear that our guests had an enjoyable stay with us as all of my colleagues aim to do just that every single day, so its a great boost when we learn we got it right. We hope to welome you... More 

dawnsternaz
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed at this hotel when we first arrived in Ireland for two days before we drove to the west coast to see family. I had called to request an early check in as we had an overnight flight. I also asked about parking and it was communicated it was on site. The night manager who was... More 

Helpful?
Thank dawnsternaz
RKaurOCH, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Dear dawnsternaz I am disappointed to hear that you were not entirely happy with all aspects of your stay with us. While our hotel is busy we do try and make every effort to meet most of our guests requests however it is not always possible especially when the house is full, to guarantee a room on arrival its best... More 

Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel needs to be spruced up, including the tapestry at the front desk, the worn couches in lobby and older blankets in rooms. That being said, it is a very good location and breakfast is held in a bright, cheery room where you can watch people walking to work and get a feel for the city. The breakfast food... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ellen G
RKaurOCH, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ellen G We are all delighted that your stay with us was enjoyable and that you especially liked our breakfast offering and pie dish bistro where we serve breakfast, like you it is also one of my favourite space in the hotel at par with our library suites. Hoping to welcome you back. Regards Rishnoor Kaur General Manager More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Work beside hotel so pop in for lunch. They got it right a couple of months ago with a €10 in 10min lunch including tea or coffee. Then they stopped the tea/coffee, but still have menus for €10. Last week ordered a coffee, knew I would pay extra but did not believe it would be €4.50 for an americano .... More 

Helpful?
Thank Orla182
RKaurOCH, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Orla182 I am glad that you like our 10Ten10 lunch offering. We recently participated and were the highest graded hotel ambassador for Dublin in the Specialist Coffee Association of Europe 2016 expo in Dublin. The process entailed numerous stringent audits of our baristas, coffee techniques, presentation and skill by some of the top baristas in Europe. We are very... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

822 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (213)
Viewed
Room/Suite (78)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Other (59)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (585)
Viewed
Amenities (108)
Viewed
Classic King Room Accessible (67)
Viewed
Classic Queen Room (70)
Viewed
Classic Twin Room (68)
Viewed
Junior Suite #1500 (85)
Viewed
Junior Suite #1526 (58)
Viewed
Dining (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (89)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Drury Court Hotel
#25 of 150 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 1,148 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 2,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The hotel comprises of two magnificently restored Georgian buildings, with a heritage of great historical and cultural importance to Ireland. One was home to the great Irish playwright, George Fitzmaurice, while 4 Harcourt Street was the birthplace of Lord Edward Carson, one of the founders of Northern Ireland and a central figure in Ireland’s Unionism movement. Entering through the tasteful reception area, guests will be struck by the stunning glass atrium, filling the lobby with natural light and overlooking the idyllic Stephen’s Green park. The stylish interior design throughout the hotel, with wood panelling and soft leather furnishings sitting alongside Georgian stucco ceilings and elegant fireplaces, beautifully showcases the fusion of old and new. George Fitzmaurice is honoured in the hotel through our bar and restaurant, which are named after two of his plays. The ‘Magic Glasses’ Bar is an opulent, comfortable bar where local businesspeople and visitors alike regularly meet over a coffee or drink, while the ‘Pie Dish’ Bistro, set in the bright atrium and the inner rooms of the Georgian houses, serves the finest in contemporary Irish and international cuisine. Located on the first floor, the Georgian library has a charming old-world feel, where you can sit in 19th century surrounds, featuring open fireplaces and chandeliers – an ideal way to unwind over a pre-dinner drink. A gymnasium is available for the exclusive use of residents, while the business centre is open 24 hours, with a secretarial service available for the business guest. Flexibility and choice is a core value of O’Callaghan Hotels. Guests can use the facilities and services of any Dublin O’Callaghan Hotel and have the account conveniently billed back to your room. ... more   less 

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel

Address: 1 - 5 Harcourt Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: $175 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel
o Callaghan Stephens Green Dublin
St Stephens Green Hotel
Stephens Green Hotel Dublin
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Dublin
#30 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#37 Business Hotel in Dublin
#47 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay