We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Abbott Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Abbott Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

278 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 171: English reviews
India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was a sad experience. We were given a tiny room n the topmost floor -- the attic. There were 67 steps to climb up. No elevators, no porters. No phone connected to the reception. The showers didn;t work properly. the room itself was -- oh, my God! -- no place to put down your luggage, no cupboard, barely any... More 

Helpful?
Thank manju2013
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at Abbott Lodge for five Nights and we really enjoyed it. Everyone was really friendly, the rooms were clean and everything else was perfect. The towels had a weird smell but that doesn't matter. Thank you!

Helpful?
Thank Anna T
Piacenza, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I don't have nothing good to say about the Abbott Lodge. My boyfriend and me stayed there in August and our room had many problems: very small with not much place left around the bed for our luggages; the moquette was completely consumed; no air conditioning which forced us to keep the window open all the time. Unfortunately the window... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chiara_machi

Travelers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Kingwood, Texas
Level Contributor
124 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2016

We booked this hotel because it was a featured hotel on Expedia, the photos of the place looked good and the location was within walking distance to O'Connell Street. First the plus: it is within walking distance of the southern end of O'Connell. It has nice high ceilings and is in a Georgian style building. However, the building isn't as... More 

Helpful?
Thank pma03
AdminAbbott, Front Office Manager at Abbott Lodge, responded to this review

Dear pma03, Thank you staying with us at Abbot Lodge. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review on our establishment and we take all feedback on board. As there is a change in management we are starting a refurbishment of the entire premise. We have since changed the location of our luggage area beside our office to... More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2016 via mobile

I wouldn't recommend staying here. My room had very bad wifi, windows so thin I could hear the street noises as if it was open and the smallest shower I've ever seen. The room itself was tiny too and wasn't cleaned during the day either. I wouldn't stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank Eggermont
AdminAbbott, Front Office Manager at Abbott Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mila, Thank you staying with us at Abbot Lodge. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review on our establishment and we take all feedback on board. As there is a change in management we are starting a refurbishment of the entire premise. We are working on updating all rooms and en-suites but obviously we cannot do... More 

Brisbane
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2016

Just no: if you book this place then it can only be because there is nothing left in Dublin. It isn't just because it is bad; it's the almost certain knowledge that the owners are just after a quick buck and really couldn't care less if you complainws or not. We didn't complain of course as there is probably no... More 

Helpful?
Thank ClashBrisbane
AdminAbbott, Front Office Manager at Abbott Lodge, responded to this review

Dear ClashBrisbane, Thank you staying with us at Abbot Lodge. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review on our establishment and we take all feedback on board. We are sorry you did not enjoy your time with us in Abbott Lodge. As there is a change in management we are currently in the process of a refurbishment... More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2016

I was in town for a conference with a colleague. This was the only place work could find to put us that wasnt miles out of town. The rooms were fine but nothing special. The bathroom could do with a refurb but was functional. Service at reception wasnt super. I wouldnt choose to stay here but I hadnt been expecting... More 

Helpful?
Thank Randal C
AdminAbbott, Front Office Manager at Abbott Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Randal C, Thank you staying with us at Abbot Lodge. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review on our establishment and we take all feedback on board. As there is a change in management we are starting a refurbishment of the entire premise. We are working on updating all rooms and en-suites but obviously we cannot... More 

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2016

I booked in with 2 Adults and 2 children, firstly the man kept insinuating my teenage daughter and her friend where not 14. I know the age of my daughter!! I had booked for 2 people originally and it was €130, it then went up to €250 with 4, it was still 1 room but just off near double the... More 

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank Karen L
Level Contributor
4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2016

I have travelled all over the world. I have stayed in hostels and hotels, motels, Bedouin tents in the desert, you name it. This was THE WORST experience I Have ever had. If I could give it zero stars or Mr. Yuck Faces I would. STAY AWAY. It may be "cheap" -- still $205 USD/night -- but you won't sleep.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rachel C
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

80 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (67)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#83 of 151 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 stars 537 reviews
North City Centre
Hazelbrook House
Hazelbrook House
#131 of 151 in Dublin
3.0 of 5 stars 427 reviews
Parkway Guesthouse
#20 of 162 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Glen Guesthouse
#127 of 162 in Dublin
3.0 of 5 stars 320 reviews
Durban Residence
#128 of 162 in Dublin
3.0 of 5 stars 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
Internet
  • Free Internet
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Abbott Lodge is an excellent example of Georgian craftsmanship and it has been tastefully updated to cater for the needs of the modern traveller. Abbott Lodge's budget accommodation provides comfortable en-suite rooms, tea and coffee making facilities WiFi, flat screen TVs, personal service and 24/7 reception for your convenience. While we do not provide breakfast a variety of restaurants in the vicinity offer a wide choice. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Abbott Lodge

Address: 88 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin D1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: $74 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Abbott Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Abbott Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbott Lodge Guest House Hotel Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay