We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Alex

Traveler (94)
Room & Suite (51)
Dining (8)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
The Alex is Dublin's newest and most stylish hotel boasting both beautiful design and an incontestably perfect location at the heart of the city centre. Boasting 103 bedrooms - all with super king size, extra comfortable beds, versatile event space for up to 400 people and a sophisticated bar and restaurant area which is both comfortable and stylish. Try out some of the best coffee on offer in Dublin in our very own Steam Café which serves delicious barista coffee throughout the day and which has direct access from the hotel itself. Located on the corner of Merrion Square where locals, business people and tourists alike meet and mingle. This corner of Dublin is full of surprises and offers a range of top attractions as well as much sought-after peace and quiet in such a bustling city. Getting to The Alex is really easy and once you arrive, it's the perfect hub for exploring Dublin.
Read more
Property amenities
Room service
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Banquet Room
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Business
HOTEL CLASS
199Reviews
178Photos
24Q+A
16Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 118
  • 52
  • 17
  • 10
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Came for St Patricks Day to celebrate our son's 21st. An 8 day stay in any hotel is a stretch but the wonderful Loredana on the front desk and the amazing Louise in the restaurant made our holiday perfect. Their amazing tips and suggestions gave way to the best Dublin experience
Read more
Excellent hotel, rooms a good size, bed very comfortable and bathroom area spotless Good variety at breakfast (no muesli, hot milk and only plain yogurt but these are just personal preferences) The public areas are well presented and very clean. Staff very pleasant and helpful
Read more
Would currently rate 3.5 but definitely has the potential to be a 5. Excellent location just a few minutes walk from the heart of Dublin. The hotel boasted chic public areas i.e lobby and restaurant, which made for a very cosy welcome. The room looked nice upon arrival and was
Read more
I stayed here with my family for just one night but it was gorgeous. The rooms are amazing and I love the 1920s style. The bed is super comfy. The bar looks amazing. My one complaint is the food isn't 'amazing' but it's good. Lovely breakfast buffet in the morning. Now one of my
Read more
Response from CHGRM, General Manager at The Alex
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review and we appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your stay was. Overall, I am chuffed that you had a lovely stay whilst on your visit to Dublin and that we seem to have hit the right note with most of your stay. Apologies that food was a little underwhelming and hope it didn't detract too much from an overall enjoyable visit. Thank you for your custom, looking forward to seeing you again soon. Yours sincerely, Paul Joy General Manager paul.joy@thealexhotel.ie
Read more
We only had one night at this hotel, so I can’t really comment on the restaurants or other amenities. The room however was great. Someone spent a lot of time and money designing the layout. By far the nicest room we had in Dublin. Wish we would have stayed here for the first
Read more
Response from CHGRM, General Manager at The Alex
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review and we appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your stay was. Overall, I am chuffed that you had a lovely stay whilst on your visit to Dublin. Thank you for your custom, looking forward to seeing you again soon. Next time, it will have to be for an extended stay, Dublin and The Alex has a lot to offer! Yours sincerely, Paul Joy General Manager paul.joy@thealexhotel.ie
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuiteDining Business Center & Event Rooms
Photo provided by managementThe Alex
The living area as part of the suite at The Alex
Photo provided by managementThe Alex
The Suite bedroom at The Alex
Photo provided by managementThe Alex
Private executive lounge at The Alex hotel
PreviousNext
12345611
I’m sorry I was dropped off by our driver at the end of our trip. Just call or email the hotel and ask them.
0 votes
Dear Guest, No problem at all, it is from Heuston you need to get the train from. Let me know if I can be of any other assistance. Regards, Paul Joy General Manager
1 vote
Is this hotel quiet at night? I am sleep disturbed quite easily.
Hello. I don’t remember it being noisy. It seemed to be in a quiet area :-) I wouldn’t recommend the Dean if your a light sleeper x
0 votes
Show all answers
Yes I remember ours did.
1 vote
Show all answers
PreviousNext
12345
"higher floors, wider view"
"all are good"
"Request a room away from the lift shaft. Work currently taking place on installing an additional lift. Early morning noise was disruptive."
"Pay the upgrade for an executive room the executive lounge is worth it."
"Rooms on the right coming from elevator are on street side and can be noisy. Those on the left are quieter."
PreviousNext
1234
PRICE RANGE
$176 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
alexander hotel dublindublin hotel alexander
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of LeinsterDublin
NUMBER OF ROOMS
103
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing