We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Generator Hostel Dublin

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Generator Hostel Dublin
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,701 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Generator Hostel Dublin
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,179: English reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2015

Amazing staff, really helpful and kind at all times. Even helped us at 3am when our outlets stopped working because of a fault in our european/irish uoutlet adaptor. Bar is awesome, with live music or other events (rugby, football, games...) every night. Food served 'till late is also quite good! Prices are ok, pints at 5.5€ and dinner at 10€,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ani G
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your recent reviews on the Generator Dublin. Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and got to sample all the outlets. Unfortunately it is illegal in Ireland to have outlets in the bathrooms for safety reasons, that is why we have none even in the larger shared bathrooms. We hope... More 

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2015

This place is fantastic! I was quite anxious about staying in a hostel at first but this place is near enough a hotel. The staff were lovely, the whole place was clean, the whole atmosphere was just very relaxing and social and the building was very artsy and trendy. Only down side is that there were no towels in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Heather W
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the staff friendly. I am slightly confused with your comment in regards to the shower so could you email your reservation details and I will investigate. You can contact me directly on maureen.meegan@generatorhostels.com Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2015 via mobile

Very good place to stay. Quite flash for a hostel. Good bar, very easy to meet people. Would stay again for sure. Plenty of storage space. Only downside was laundry area not large enough but only a minor issue. ...............................................

Helpful?
Thank Nathan B
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay so much and thank you for the positive comments. Hope to welcome you back to Dublin in the near future. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2015 via mobile

My stags booked this venue as i requested a Dublin visit. What can I say about this place. It was fantastic. The service from the staff was fantastic. The rooms were awesome with nice artistic touches and the bunks had lights and charge points for phones etc. Breakfast hit the spot and was so reasonably priced. It is nothing like... More 

Helpful?
Thank David T
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Great to hear you enjoyed your stag party - a memory I am sure you won't forget. Thank you for all your positive comments and we hope to see you back again in the near future. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager More 

Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2015

If you're looking for a place that has everything you need this is it, although off the beaten track there's trams and buses a short walk away and it's on the hop on hop off bus right next to the Jamison's distillery. If you're coming to Dublin for a couple days make sure you get the "Leap Visitors" card, gets... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jarrodspence
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager More 

La Roche-sur-Yon, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2015

Huge hostel, cool staff. Rooms and bath rooms are well cleaned every day. Events organised every day (free walking tours, free irish whiskey tasting). Good organisation. Special thanks to Peeter for the nice whiskey tasting which i enjoyed a lot

Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin D
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and especially our free daily activities. We hope to welcome you back to Dublin in the near future. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2015

Great staff, atmosphere, location BUT we had a private twin room costing over 90 euros for something so basic that we were lucky to have a bed and a piece of toilet paper. Basics stripped bare for an overpriced squat. If you like it - you must be on something. Awful, never again! 20 students in a room would no... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank markdaren
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on the Generator Dublin. Thank you for your comments on the staff and the location however I am sorry to hear that you didn't think you got value for money. All our twin room's come equipped with towels and soap unlike the dorm rooms. Again, thank you for your comments. Regards Maureen Meegan... More 

Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2015

Definitely one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in: location, cleanliness, service all perfect. Awesome bar and lounge area! Highly recommended, except for some idiotic guests not letting people sleep at 3 AM in the morning, but as that is not always the case, I would definitely stay there again.

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank Larissa R
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Dublin Generator. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your positive comments. We hope to see you back in Dublin in the near future. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager More 

Killarney, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2015

Had a comfortable stay at the Generator. It has everything you would want while visiting Dublin. Clean, comfortable central to public transport & amenities. Would recommend to anybody visiting the capital.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank s0cialbutterflyerr
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay in Dublin and we hope to welcome you back very soon. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager More 

Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2015

Booked prior upon arrival was only staying for one night. Check in was very fast friendly and helpful staff. The location is excellent we found everything we wanted to visit within walking distance. The hostel is more like a hotel, ultra modern with top of the range facilities. we stayed in a six person dorm which was very clean. The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Harry_ME1
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and thank you for all your comments. We hope to welcome you back to Dublin in the near future. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

580 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (326)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (72)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
1:12
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (137)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (214)
Viewed
Amenities (12)
Viewed
Double Single Room (45)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Standard Room (37)
Viewed
Standard Room with City View (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dublin
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dublin Skylon Hotel
6.7 mi away
KingsWood Hotel Citywest
KingsWood Hotel Citywest
#1 of 1 in Kingswood
4.0 of 5 stars 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#4 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,921 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
1.1 mi away
Jacobs Inn Hostel
Jacobs Inn Hostel
#3 of 98 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
You’ll find Generator Dublin in the heart of Smithfield Square in central Dublin. This newly fashionable area located between the developing museum district and the Four Courts District has plenty to do and see. Next door you’ll find the Jameson Distillery, one of the most popular attractions in the city. Dublin is a compact city and the best way to explore is on foot, so you don’t miss a thing. You’re a short walk from the infamous Guinness Storehouse with its un-missable 360 degree gravity bar, Temple Bar and the Spire. But while you are here make sure you soak up the atmosphere of the hostel. It’s a destination in its own right. Head to the bar and chill out areas and get yourself a well deserved drink or two and soak up the most eclectic and authentic entertainment for miles around. We have recently added a wide range of specialist craft beers both from local and afar. We’ve also great beds for sleepy heads and of course you’ll be enjoying Dublin life in the most stylish and authentic surroundings. Choose from a great selection of rooms, from Dorms, to Quads, to Private en-suites with innovative mod cons. Fast and free Wi-Fi is all yours too. To get the most out of your stay speak with any member of our team, their city expertise will help you devise an itinerary that will take you to all the hidden treasures this dynamic city has to offer. We’ll see you there soon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Generator Hostel Dublin

Address: 28 Smithfield Street, Dublin 7, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: $27 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Generator Hostel Dublin 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Generator Hostel Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Generator Hostel Dublin Hotel Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay