We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Generator Hostel Dublin

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Generator Hostel Dublin
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,745 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,207: English reviews
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Amazing stay Lots of fun Helpful Great location easy to walk to lots of places Great bar within the facility Awesome , polite and helpful staff Great place to stay for back packers Wifi available Something happening every night

Helpful?
Thank elizabethj1988
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hostel is a great place to stay, its in what used to be part of the Jamesons Whisky distillery (the Jamesons museum is next door), the hostel is clean and modern and the rooms are nice, could be a little stuffy as there was no air conditioning. We stayed in a four bed en suite room which was kept... More 

Helpful?
Thank Calvin B
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hostel is in a good location to the city. Short walk from the tram stop at the bottom of the road and 15-20 walk to the centre of town and the Temple Bar district. Check is was smooth with no problems. I learned that the toilets/bathroom was on alternative floors (women even, men old floors). I stayed in a... More 

Helpful?
Thank oddish196
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hostel was clean but very dusty. The bar was ok but the best thing was the grocery store across the street. The staff was fine but wasn't particularly helpful and definitely not going above and beyond. I had something go missing during my trip from my room and the staff wasn't helpful at all.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank caseydk16
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
163 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Generally a very good place to stay - particularly for young people but works for pretty much anyone. The facility is clean. The private rooms are a bit "spare" in terms of furniture and amenities. Basically a bed and one small table. We stayed for two days - not sure that I would stay longer.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Durodeb
Berlin, Germany
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Very unfriendly staff in combination with dirty rooms. As a group of 5 friends we visited dublin and were looking for a friendly and costumary hostel. Sadly we booked 3 nights at the generator hostel... They don't provide a kitchen or leisure-room, where you can consum your own food and beverages, very low in my opinion. Also the cleaning staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank andreij90
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review on the Generator Dublin. I am sorry to hear that your stay was not as enjoyable as you had hoped. I do apologise that Housekeeping woke you up early and I have passed your comment on the front of house manager for immediate review. We do not... More 

Zofingen, Switzerland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Very unfriendly staff. Roomservice wakes you up in the middle of the day without knocking! The rooms look like prisoncells. Very strict houserules including bodysearches! The drinks at the bar are extremly expensive!

Helpful?
Thank manuelwaelchli
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on the Generator Dublin. I am sorry to hear your stay was not as pleasant as you hoped. I do apologise that Housekeeping woke you up in the middle of the day but they do always knock before entering perhaps not loud enough on this occasion they just... More 

Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

From the second we walked in the atmosphere was unreal! Live music and Djs playing in the bar next to reception. Young, fun atmosphere and great for groups or stag and hens. The rooms and trendy, modern and clean. The only thing making the accommodation is the bunk bed style rooms. If you don't mind this then definitely book it.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chloeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you taking the time to post your recent review on Generator Dublin. We are delighted to hear you and your friends enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager More 

Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Lovely hostel. We had a private room. Shower/toilet was fine and the room generally was very clean. The beds were amazing! The staff were all friendly and helpful (especially down at the breakfast bar area). Would definitely stay they again when returning to Dublin.

Helpful?
Thank Nicholas C
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your recent review on the Generator Dublin. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back to Dublin very soon. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Overall I had a good stay at the Generator hostel. The hostel is in a decent location only about a 20 minute walk to the center of the city. Inside the hostel there is a nice lobby and common area with a restaurant and bar which is quite nice and good for having a drink and relaxing. The 6-bed room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Keenanpg
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay overall. Unfortunately as we have over 500 guests we cannot accommodate guests luggage on early check-in's but we do provide paid luggage storage. We hope to welcome you back very soon. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

595 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (341)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (75)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (54)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
1:12
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (149)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (214)
Viewed
Amenities (12)
Viewed
Double Single Room (45)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Standard Room (37)
Viewed
Standard Room with City View (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dublin Skylon Hotel
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
1.3 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#4 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
0.5 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#16 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,817 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
You’ll find Generator Dublin in the heart of Smithfield Square in central Dublin. This newly fashionable area located between the developing museum district and the Four Courts District has plenty to do and see. Next door you’ll find the Jameson Distillery, one of the most popular attractions in the city. Dublin is a compact city and the best way to explore is on foot, so you don’t miss a thing. You’re a short walk from the infamous Guinness Storehouse with its un-missable 360 degree gravity bar, Temple Bar and the Spire. But while you are here make sure you soak up the atmosphere of the hostel. It’s a destination in its own right. Head to the bar and chill out areas and get yourself a well deserved drink or two and soak up the most eclectic and authentic entertainment for miles around. We have recently added a wide range of specialist craft beers both from local and afar. We’ve also great beds for sleepy heads and of course you’ll be enjoying Dublin life in the most stylish and authentic surroundings. Choose from a great selection of rooms, from Dorms, to Quads, to Private en-suites with innovative mod cons. Fast and free Wi-Fi is all yours too. To get the most out of your stay speak with any member of our team, their city expertise will help you devise an itinerary that will take you to all the hidden treasures this dynamic city has to offer. We’ll see you there soon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Generator Hostel Dublin

Address: 28 Smithfield Street, Dublin 7, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: $35 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Generator Hostel Dublin 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Generator Hostel Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Generator Hostel Dublin Hotel Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay