We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Charleville Lodge

Show Prices
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Charleville Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

633 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Charleville Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 443: English reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2011

staff was helpful in recommending places to see, how to get around and just plain pleasant to deal with........rooms and bath are small but, that is true throughout Europe....as we were two seniors had requested a room with as few steps as possible and they obliged...it is a little out of the city but has a bus stop across the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jiminpr
Galway, Ireland
Reviewed August 7, 2011

I was in a bit of a rush to get somewhere to stay so i booked this place at the last minute!!!!! Looking at the website the place seemed really nice. Firstly i have to say i have never stayed anywhere that charged 70 euro a night that didnt even provide a kettle in the room!!!! when i asked at...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank kmac50
Lancashire
Reviewed August 1, 2011

The inside of the hotel is pleasant and staff were very helpful. The room was comfy but had seen better days and while the basics were clean the ceiling/light was dusty. Shower was superb. Breakfast is cheap but tasty and filling. Its a little outside the city centre but with very easy bus access or walkable at a push. Overall...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mattfromlancs
the Netherlands
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Charville Lodge is a good hotel, spacious room, clean bathroom, only 10-15 min to the city centre (busstop in front of the hotel). Breakfast (we had full Irish) was good and plenty and the employees were very helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Eva74theNetherlands
Edinburgh
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Stayed here for 1 night when going to see Bon Jovi at RDS arena. Lovely hotel, staff really nice and in good location in central Dublin. Good if you're going to anything at the RDS can get the bus 4 from the stop few mins walk from hotel and takes you direct to RDS. Room was nice and clean -...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kirsten1986
Spokane, Washington
Reviewed July 2, 2011

We choose this hotel as it was a reasonable price for Dublin, realitively close to City Center and on a bus line. It is family owned and run. They have reduced their rates but are making up for it by charging you for use of the computer, tea machine, outrageous price for breakfast and parking. Staff is very friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janice W
Iowa City, Iowa
Reviewed June 30, 2011

I spent one night here with a friend. The carpark was secure (5 euro a night). The beds were very clean and comfy with obviously new bedding. The rest of the room decor was definitely lacking, the fans dusty, very old television, and the toilet seat wobbly. I got directions from two different people at the front desk to two...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelcloak
Derry, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 23, 2011

i am a mother of two young children and this was a very rare trip on my own to see take that for the weekend. this hotel looked lovely in the website however was awful when we got there. how can anyone charge 70 euros a night for this. firstly when we arrived there was a huge sign saying rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank traveltom011
PaulVStenson, Manager at Charleville Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Many thanks for writing your review. Tripadvisor is an invaluable tool for us, as it identifies any areas that we need to address in order to improve the quality of our business. As you can see we have a 80% guest satisfaction rating on tripadvisor, of which we are very proud. We do however, get the odd customer...

Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Just returned from a trip to Dublin. Paid over £350 for 2 nights for 3 people sharing 1 room (approx £60 pppn). Not too upset about the price with it being Take That weekend, but slightly annoyed when there is a big banner outside the hotel advertising €22.50 pp. Never mind, 4* accommodation, or so we thought. Always judge a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dublinshopper123
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed June 9, 2011

The positives: 1) Clean rooms and facilities. Rooms were spotless and the main areas of the hotel were nicely kept. Our double room was large and well appointed. 2) The full breakfast (9 euros) was great. The servers were courteous and made sure we had our coffee and toast right away. 3) The two male night workers were great. They...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara1421
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

428 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (163)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
3:50
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (76)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (247)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (44)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (45)
Viewed
Triple Room with One Double Bed and One Twin Bed (45)
Viewed
Triple Room with Three Twin Beds (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Maples House Hotel
#98 of 153 in Dublin
235 reviews
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#67 of 153 in Dublin
1,280 reviews
My Place Dublin Hotel
#126 of 153 in Dublin
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Phoenix Park Hotel
#136 of 153 in Dublin
279 reviews
North City Centre
Dublin Central Inn
Dublin Central Inn
#79 of 153 in Dublin
1,087 reviews
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#33 of 153 in Dublin
1,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Charleville Lodge is an elegant Victorian terrace of houses located in the Phibsborough area of Dublin City, near to Temple Bar, Croke Park, The Mater Hospital, Grangegorman, The Phoenix Park and within easy reach of Dublin Airport, car ferries, many historical sights, theatres, shops and restaurants.Beautifully restored and tastefully refurbished in a traditional manner, Charleville is often referred to as boutique accommodation. It offers our guests inimitable service and comfort in an atmosphere that is welcoming, attentive and personal.What makes us different?15 minutes walk to O’Connell Street 15 minutes walk to Croke Park Buses to and from City Centre every 10 minutes Near to the centre, but at a distant to allow a pleasant, peaceful nights sleep Taxis to and from Temple Bar approximately €7 20 minutes drive from Dublin Airport Taxis to and from Dublin Airport approximately €20 Resident’s Bar.Multilingual Reception Team ... more   less 

Additional Information about Charleville Lodge

Address: Charleville Lodge 268/272 North Circular Road, Dublin 7, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Price Range: $71 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Charleville Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Charleville Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleville Hotel Dublin
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Charleville Lodge staff and other travelers.
12 questions
Ask a question
Crumlin, United Kingdom
5 months ago
2 months ago
cork
over a year ago
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 days ago

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Charleville Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Book a week or two before your arrival. Price of room varies on what time of the year you book it.”
884robf, Feb 14, 2017 | Read review
“The hotel does not have a lift, so you need to be able to walk a lot of stairs/”
D7000CNlisah, Feb 9, 2017 | Read review
“do not stay here”
earmuffs59, Jan 17, 2017 | Read review
“Don't take room 20!”
susancA8840RC, Oct 15, 2016 | Read review
“Room 10 is very noisy”
870mollys, Oct 14, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question