We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,058 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,860: English reviews
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Very disappointment with my experience there. Room service ordering never answered the phone. Bed was slanted , breakfast was very poor and just slipped on the player like prison food. Much better options available for less money. Should a shoddy hotel shouldn't be allowed in such a nice building.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iamnotamongoose
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

I stayed here for two nights on business. The building looks spectacular from the outside and the staff are fabulous. My first night I checked in around 9pm, exhausted after being on the road since 4am, check in was no hassle at all. The room was lovely as well, big comfy bed and a great shower!! On the second night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charley H
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Stayed here in August with my mother and little sister as we were going to see a show in the RDS. The location is very convenient and easy to get in into the city with a short walk to the luas. We arrived early and our room wasn't ready so we had some lunch in the bar while we waited,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katie L
Dublin
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Over 700 people were at this conference I attended - food was so well presented and tasted delicious - could not fault the service or the staff - extremely friendly and gorgeous hotel - we had steak for the main course and was done to perfection

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DublinRosiedublin
County Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

OMG...what is the Carlton group doing to landmark hotels? I always stayed at the Carlton Hotel in Ballsbridge in the past when it was owned by Bewleys, so last Sunday i stayed with my girl for there. What a disappointment....didn't mind paying the €24 for two nights parking, what riled me was the € 30 per diem charge for two...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bethcent
Cork
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My Favorite guy and I spent Sunday & Monday nights at this hotel ... There is very little of a positive nature I could say about this property. On the Sunday evening after a 3 hour trip, the only sandwich available in the bar was ham & cheese .. The waiter was visibly not impressed and argued with me when...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Liz C
SalesCBB, Brand Ambassador at Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge, responded to this review

Hello Liz, Thank you for your review of the Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge. While some aspects of your stay were positive, I was disappointed to note that your were frustrated by the service that you received during your visit. I have forwarded your feedback to the Restaurant Manger who will be looking into this further. We always strive to improve our...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent a rugby international weekend here. The hotel is ideally located for attending Avila Stadium. The hotel is very impressive from the outside but pretty bland and featureless inside. Our room was basic - small and dull. The pillows were the hardest we have encountered. Breakfast buffet was average. When booking you need to factor in €12 per night car...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
SalesCBB, Brand Ambassador at Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge, responded to this review

Hello Michael, Thank you very much for your feedback. We are sorry that you were frustrated with our pillows, this feedback has been passed on to the Accomadation Manager who will be looking into this further. We always strive to improve our service and your feedback has been taken very seriously. We hope you will give us a second chance...

Utrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for 3 nights and it was an OK stay. The hotel meets the standards but isn't amazing. The rooms are a sightly outdated, or just a bit too classical for my liking. There's not that much to do in the area, the city centre is a taxi ride away. Good service though.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
SalesCBB, Brand Ambassador at Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge, responded to this review

Hello Karen, Thanks you for your review of the Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge. We are a 20 minute walk from the city centre, however with main transport lines just at our doorstep you can be there in 5 minutes. We have some beautiful amenities in the area- the Herbert Park and we are a dart ride away from the hustle and...

Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Nothing special. Poor service at bar for food and drink. Waited for ages and barman didn't seem to be too bothered. Additional charge to park your car at the hotel which says it all. Wouldn't go back - plenty of places that try harder.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bamo
SalesCBB, Brand Ambassador at Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge, responded to this review

Hello bamo, Thank you for your review of the Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge. I was very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience at the Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge. I am sorry that you were frustrated with our service at reception, this feedback has been passed on to the Restaurant Manager who will be looking into this further. We...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The building is very beautiful and has plenty of character but the hotel is kept in a old and rusty condition. The rooms only have a radiator that takes ages to warm the whole room. Rooms are very basic the cleaning can definitively improve. The breakfast buffet is below average. The prices are well balanced with the quality of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoseLuisG5
SalesCBB, Brand Ambassador at Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge, responded to this review

Hello Jose, Thank you for your review of the Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge. Although some elements of you review were positive, I was disappointed to hear of the negative aspects of your stay. We are sorry that you were frustrated with our accommodation, this feedback has been passed on to the Accommodation Manager who will be looking into this further. We...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

803 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (363)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (107)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (171)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (420)
Viewed
Amenities (33)
Viewed
Double Room #505 (53)
Viewed
Double Room #616 (43)
Viewed
Executive Room (59)
Viewed
Family Room (57)
Viewed
Dining (57)
Viewed
The Hotel (58)
Viewed
Thomas Prior Suite (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.6 mi away
Ballsbridge Hotel
Ballsbridge Hotel
#87 of 149 in Dublin
1,990 reviews
0.3 mi away
Herbert Park Hotel
Herbert Park Hotel
#24 of 149 in Dublin
1,340 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#26 of 149 in Dublin
1,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Dublin
InterContinental Dublin
#19 of 149 in Dublin
1,662 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pembroke Townhouse
Pembroke Townhouse
#71 of 149 in Dublin
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Next to the RDS Arena in the heart of Dublin's exclusive business district and embassy belt, Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge, formerly Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge, is a beautifully restored 19th century Masonic School with presebtable gardens. With luxurious bedrooms, dining facilities and Tom's Bar the hotel is popular with guests and locals alike. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge

Address: Merrion Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland (Formerly Bewley's Hotel Ballsbridge)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: $98 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bewleys Hotel Dublin
Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge
Bewleys Ballsbridge
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#62 Business Hotel in Dublin
#69 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge staff and other travelers.
28 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (28)

Questions? Get answers from Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Book early”
 of 5 bubbles K1496MRdavidm, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“On the first floor, which was convenient since we only there 1 night and heading for the airport very early. Otherwise, go up!”
 of 5 bubbles ltcthatsme, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Exec rooms are 2nd floor which are slightly better equipped.”
 of 5 bubbles Magb1980, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Choose room on 5th or 6th floor with Merrion road view”
 of 5 bubbles jhp1988, Nov 5, 2016 | Read review
“As of April 2015 experience Look elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles Jamiesmate, Nov 4, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay