We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Schoolhouse Hotel

Show Prices
#25 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Schoolhouse Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,040 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 970: English reviews
Monterey
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I have stayed at this hotel six times now and cannot say enough. The School House Hotel is great! The School House is very unique in its history and décor as a former school. Rooms are comfortable, pleasant and very clean. Hotel is within easy proximity to City Centre (no more than a 15 minutes walk) and on major bus... More 

Helpful?
Thank Packed_10
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel is quite far from the center to walk to. We got the King size deluxe room, which was ok but on the underground floor with no view and nothing special, moreover the breakfast is quite expensive and not that good compared to bed and breakfast!We found the hotel expensive compared with what you get.

Helpful?
Thank Edelweiss17
London, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I booked this hotel 6 months in advance and got a confirmation email along with a booking reference number. 3 days before I was meant to check in, I got an email from Rory Doyle, Operations & Revenue Manager, to say "Unfortunately, for some reason we had no record of your reservation until last night when I was running my... More 

Helpful?
Thank bokie
SchoolhouseHotel, Manager at Schoolhouse Hotel, responded to this review

Dear bokie, Many thanks for taking the time to highlight your experience here at The Schoolhouse Hotel. Again, I apologise for the mix up. I have worked in hotels around the world where overbooking is a policy to guarantee rooms, however, we here at The Schoolhouse never overbook intentionally. Your case was a complete error on our behalf. As I... More 

Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is the 5th time we have stayed at this hotel and again as excellent as usual. Very central to walk into the town centre and also central for Dublin docks. If you fly into Dublin the airport bus stops directly outside the schoolhouse. Checking in was very prompt and we arrived early but the room was ready, all rooms... More 

Helpful?
Thank ann52015
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

A nice place to stay, the room was lovely and the bathroom was especially nice with its old style decor. Breakfast was lovely in the hall also. Just 2 down points: I forgot my toothbrush and rang reception to ask if they could help me out and they just said no. Also on leaving my boyfriends card was charged twice... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fayco
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We chose The Schoolhouse Hotel as a location to gather and celebrate 50th birthday. It was perfect location so central to Dublin City, just a few meters from the canal in a lovely setting surrounded by trees, and within walking distance of our restaurant. Rooms a little small, but very high standard and comfortable and best of all was the... More 

Helpful?
Thank paulinemurphy567
Essex
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A lovely Hotel in a lovely location right by the Canal. Nice quiet area about 10-15 minutes walk from the City Centre. Hotel is very clean in the rooms and the public areas. Nice breakfast although how its priced on the menu leaves one a little confused!! The staff are very efficient and friendly and nothing appears too much trouble.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Essexposhtart
SchoolhouseHotel, Manager at Schoolhouse Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Essexposhtart, Thank you for your recent review of your time here at The Schoolhouse Hotel. I will pass on your comments to all who helped make your stay an enjoyable one. Kind Regards, Rory Doyle More 

Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I attended a 60th birthday function which included pre drinks and a sit down 3 course dinner at this restaurant/hotel. It was excellent in every way. The staff were very friendly and the food was amazing. It was so professional catered for and the service was great. I would very much recommend this restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Maura M
SchoolhouseHotel, Manager at Schoolhouse Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Maura M, Many thanks for taking the time to write about you recent experience here at The Schoolhouse Restaurant. I am delighted to hear that you and your friends had such a good time. I will pass on your feedback to Brian and all the team in the restaurant. Looking forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards, Rory Doyle More 

Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived in early afternoon for our stay at the Schoolhouse Hotel. The parking was easily found and quite large. Careful when entering the parking area as the entrance is narrow, especially if you are new to driving in a right-hand rental care. The accommodations were excellent with a warm feel to them. The restaurant was very nice, could have... More 

Helpful?
Thank wweatherly
SchoolhouseHotel, Manager at Schoolhouse Hotel, responded to this review

Dear wweatherly, I am delighted to hear that you had a great stay here at The Schoolhouse Hotel. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip around Ireland and on your next visit you will get to spend more time with us. Looking forward to seeing you soon. Kind Regards, Rory Doyle More 

Rye, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Ballsbridge is a 10 to 15 minute walk into Dublin center. I chose this hotel because you can park directly outside the door. There's a very popular bar inside that attracts a high end business crowd on weekend nights. Not noisy. Just gregarious. There's a restaurant also inside that has a superior menu. We 3 dined there for 2 nights... More 

Helpful?
Thank barbarak211
SchoolhouseHotel, Manager at Schoolhouse Hotel, responded to this review

Dear barbarak211, Many thanks for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your recent stay with us. Our location allows for our guests to stroll into the main centre of Dublin in 15mins and then return for a very quiet peaceful nights sleep. I look forward to welcoming you back to The Schoolhouse Hotel in the near... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

596 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (205)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Other (85)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (361)
Viewed
Amenities (20)
Viewed
Deluxe King Room #211 (53)
Viewed
Deluxe King Room #214 (61)
Viewed
Executive Canopy Room #220 (49)
Viewed
Executive Canopy Room #332 (42)
Viewed
Dining (77)
Viewed
The Hotel (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#18 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 1,077 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#2 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 1,403 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aberdeen Lodge
Aberdeen Lodge
#6 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dylan Hotel
Dylan Hotel
#17 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 884 reviews
0.7 mi away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#23 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 1,283 reviews
1.0 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 2,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In a class of its own... For those seeking somewhere truly different in Dublin, The Schoolhouse Hotel Ballsbridge is definitely ahead of its class, one of the leading D4 hotels. Unique, intimate and ideally located, the four star Schoolhouse Hotel in Ballsbridge Dublin 4 exudes a warm and friendly atmosphere. Described as a hidden gem in Dublin city this D4 hotel is located just 10 minutes walk from many of Dublin's main visitor attractions: the fashionable area of Grafton Street, Trinity College, Temple Bar, St. Stephen's Green, The National Museum, The R.D.S and Landsdowne / Aviva Stadium. Boasting luxury d4 hotel accommodation in Ballsbridge, each of our rooms have Super King Size Double Beds or Deluxe Twin Single Beds and include a host of luxury extras such as Full Irish breakfast in the comfort of your room or at The Restaurant in The Schoolhouse, on site Car Parking, Mineral Water, Tea, Coffee & Cookies, Movies, Email & Internet on your plasma television, Luxury toiletries and a Schoolhouse bathrobe on request. As one of the best Ballsbridge hotels Ireland has to offer you will be in a haven of luxury at the Schoolhouse Hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Schoolhouse Hotel

Address: 2 - 8 Northumberland Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: $134 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Schoolhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Schoolhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schoolhouse Hotel Dublin
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Dublin
#22 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#23 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#34 Family Hotel in Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay