We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Show Prices
#50 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,866 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 3,073: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed in the hotel last week. I sleep in hotels about 85 nights per year professionally, and think I can compare prices and quality a bit. I had a single room that was ultra small, outdated in terms of furniture, small single bed, poor light in the room, and a desk so tiny, it was clearly not there to do... More 

Helpful?
Thank H B
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Checked in today, booked 2 double rooms which really should be singles. You bump into bed/chair/desk as you try and move around. I stayed in a university basic room that was bigger than this room ! Booked late and the hotels we have stayed in before were full. Room is clean so that's a bonus but wouldn't return due to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Canaryrules
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Very good hotel, just down a side street of O'Connell Street! Lovely & clean, room cleaned every day if not instructed by guests otherwise. The breakfast buffet was really good, lots of choice. Only thing that was not good was the hairdryer.. but I guess that was personal preference. Free wifi throughout the hotel, tea and coffee in the room.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Cara W
Seamus B, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cara W We are so pleased to read your review about your stay with us while you were in Dublin. We are so encouraged to read you enjoyed our "Very Good Hotel! and Fab Location. Its true we are very lucky to be situated just off upper O'Connell Street, making us so accessible o what Dublin has to offer.... More 

Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

For the sake of a few Euros more go treat yourself somewhere else. Everything is just off the pace here starting with reception and being processed which was slow and unwelcoming. To the decor which is all browns and beiges and felt dirty and smokey even if it were not. The bedroom was ok forgetting decor but the shower with... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Baggiesguy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

This is my first trip abroad and the hotel front desk staff were very helpful and kind. Room was clean and updated, though small. I'm not sure if everyone would be able to get through the shower door.

Helpful?
Thank CindySueWho
Seamus B, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear CindySueWho Thank you so much for sharing your feedback on our hotel. We are so pleased to read you enjoyed our hotel so much and the Friendly Front Desk staff were so kind and made you feel so welcome while you were in Dublin City Centre. We are so looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in... More 

2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We have just stayed at the Best Western for 2 nights from the 16th Sept. We had a good but noisy stay - Our bed was very comfortable but the nose from the street, even though we were 7 minutes walk from Temple Bar was unbelievable. Rooms basic but clean - I would stay at this hotel again!!!

Helpful?
Thank Jane D
Seamus B, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jane D We are delighted to read that you would stay with us again and we really hope you do, please mail our team on wecare@academyplazahotel.ie where we would love to assist you if you have any further query or comments. We are sorry to read that you found our hotel noisy. We are located off Upper O Connell... More 

Pacifica
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Great location but...understaffed, not helpful or particularly friendly. Rooms in disrepair, beds sagging, smoke drifted into the rooms although this is a "non-smoking" facility, very loud and rowdy drunk neighbors rolled in at 2 and 3 am. The food at breakfast was just bad with not much variety. Not a hotel for a family--or anyone.

Helpful?
Thank Paula A
Seamus B, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paula A Thank you for your mail. However we are very disappointed to read the content and the message it sends to us. Obviously us, like all hotels understand that we are working in a live industry where things and and do get inconvenienced and affect guests stays. Thats why ourselves like all good hotels have a management team... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This was my first stop on a 10 day tour of Ireland and I was here for 2 nights. Rooms are clean, but nothing spectacular. No amenities (i.e., shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, etc.). While they did supply a hair dryer, I prefer one that isn't like a vacuum cleaner hose. Breakfast buffet was included in package - food was so/so.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MsMexico-o
Seamus B, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MsMexico-o We are so pleased to read your feedback. Having feedback like yours shares insights into our guests stays that we generally don't see or know unless it is passed directly or on a platform like TripAdvisor. We are glad you found our front desk staff friendly and helpful as are the whole team here. I would love if... More 

Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here first two nights of our bus tour of Ireland. Smart modern hotel 100 yards from o'connell street. Efficient and friendly staff - restaurant staff helpful on first night not so good second night.

Helpful?
1 Thank Len P
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is only a 30 minute ride by Air Coach from the airport and the stop is just across the street. It is centrally located: a 5 minute walk to General Post Office and a 10 minute walk to the Trinity College. We were in a double room. It was spacious and not noisy as some other reviewers had... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank DOM52_12
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,209 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (690)
Viewed
Bathroom (86)
Viewed
Room/Suite (242)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (109)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
View from Room (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (194)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (484)
Viewed
Double Room (63)
Viewed
Double Twin Room (76)
Viewed
Family Room (75)
Viewed
Dining (53)
Viewed
Suite (67)
Viewed
The Hotel (76)
Viewed
Twin Room (74)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dublin Skylon Hotel
0.3 mi away
Maldron Hotel Parnell Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cassidys Hotel
Cassidys Hotel
#46 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 2,195 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gresham Hotel
Gresham Hotel
#47 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 3,744 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#4 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
BEST WESTERN PLUS ACADEMY PLAZA HOTEL is located in the heart of Dublin, just off the capital's main thoroughfare. This Best Western hotel boasts 304 stunning new bedrooms and suites, with modern facilities in all rooms. Hotel amenities include a stunning marbled lobby, Sir Harry’s Grill Bar & Bistro, 5 meeting rooms, an On Site Fitness Room, Beauty Salon and complimentary WiFi access throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Address: 10 - 14 Findlater Place | Off Upper O'Connell St, Dublin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: $83 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 304
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#43 Family Hotel in Dublin
#46 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#56 Business Hotel in Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay