We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
10-13 Parkgate Street, Dublin D08 P38N Ireland
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$162
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/13/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
Only 5 left at
$162
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/13/22
FindHotel
$131
View deal
Expedia.com$161
Hotels.com$161
Travelocity$161
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1326)
Room & Suite (488)
Dining (181)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 10/19/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Ashling Hotel
Updated 10/19/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#31 of 177 hotels in Dublin
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.5
Value
4.3
Travelers' Choice
The Ashling Hotel is a hotel in Dublin City incorporating 226 beautifully appointed, fully air conditioned bedrooms, 180 seater Chesterfields Restaurant, stylish Iveagh Bar, extensive meeting rooms and conference facilities catering for up to 200 delegates with complimentary WIFI throughout and our own multi-storey carpark on site. The Ashling Hotel is in a great central location adjacent to Heuston Intercity Rail Station with Airlink Bus stop across the road and on the LUAS Tram Red Line. The surrounding area is home to some of Dublin’s premier attractions including Dublin Zoo, Guinness Brewery, Kilmainham Gaol, Jameson Distillery Bow Street and the National Museum of Ireland. You’ll know when you’ve arrived at the Ashling Hotel – a genuinely warm welcome, spacious non smoking bedrooms, great location and friendly, professional staff all combine to offer you a unique experience throughout your stay.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
24-hour security
Parking garage
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
City View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Chinese, Italian and 1 more
5872Reviews178Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 3,351
  • 1,967
  • 416
  • 90
  • 48
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Samantha F wrote a review Oct 4
12 contributions
Room was sparce of decor. Room was dark, no color. Definitely not like pictures on website. Bathroom was spacious and clean. Neds very comfortable. Housekeeping was not provided unless asked. However can ask for items to be brought to room. Room service was quick. Resturant, the breakfast hostess, woman was brilliant, always walked the room checking on guests. If tables need clearing she made sure it was done. Always on the go but made sure someone was at podium. She would say "someone must always greet the guest" man the station! Food excellent lots of variety! Close to Guniess factory, Jameson Distillery, Uber any where. Not good to walk around at night in that area. A little dodgy. During daytime is fine.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jacque wrote a review Sep 2022
Skaneateles, New York5 contributions1 helpful vote
The location is great, right next to the train station and close to the park/zoo. We walked a block down to find a couple of pubs and a larger store a short walk away. The rooms were clean, comfortable and well decorated. Short tram ride to city center made it a great location!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Lizthom1 wrote a review Sep 2022
Vatnajokull National Park, Iceland50 contributions5 helpful votes
What a lovely hotel, very clean, welcoming staff, delicious breakfast, and great location. We absolutely loved our stay at the Ashling Hotel. The Heuston Train Station is only feet away. The evening entertainment area is either a Lua tram ride away, or even a moderate walk.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
PCJulie wrote a review Sep 2022
6 contributions
We have just stayed three nights at the Ashling Hotel. We can’t rave about it enough. The staff were nothing short of outstanding. Their friendliness, warmth and attentive manner made us feel like VIP’s. The bar has a fantastic atmosphere with friendly chatty bar staff. The restaurant, especially the breakfast was amazing. Big shout out for Paul, one of the on-call Managers. We had a very minor issue, which was dealt with promptly and efficiently. Not only professional, but warm and friendly. Well done to all the staff, we will definitely be back. Highly recommend. Photo is the view of the Guinness Factory from our balcony. Brilliant views, quiet, only a short 2km walk to the city, along the river. Brilliant location.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
CPSteve wrote a review Sep 2022
Gillingham, United Kingdom2 contributions
This hotel is well located, a short tram ride to the city centre and across the road from airport busses and station. Everything was great until my last day when I received a knock on the door from cleaning staff about half an hour before check out time…. I was about to leave and felt like they were trying to rush me. After putting my bag in store and having a last walk around the city I returned to the hotel to get a drink before getting the bus to the airport. I hope it the barman’s first day because there is no other reason for the rudeness and ineptitude he displayed. All in all a great stay though.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ashling Hotel, Other at Ashling Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Good afternoon Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write your lovely review and for choosing the Ashling as a venue for your trip to Dublin. We take all feedback on board, both positive and negative as we always strive to improve our product. We will be sure to speak to the managers of both department on the staff members you encountered and arrange customer service training. We do take this feedback seriously and implement procedures to prevent this from reoccurring. We do hope you visit us again in the future. Thank you, Ashling Hotel Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Niamhtbh wrote a review Sep 2022
County Kerry, Ireland63 contributions74 helpful votes
A man entered our room at 5am. My group booked a triple room with this hotel, having previously visited the hotel I recommended it to my friends. Unfortunately my recommendation was incorrect and the experience of this visit differed greatly from my memory. At check in we were instructed to book a dinner reservation with the restaurant. I spoke to a pleasent staff member and as I was mid a manager 'Lou' came over and the only way I can describe it is that she began barking information at me. Throughout my experience I was pleasant and was shocked to be met with such aggresion, particularly from someone who had no place in the conversation. As we walked way I turned back and she was laughing hysterically, it was beyond unprofessional. As we entered the lift to check into our room, two male staff members joined us in the lift and overheard me state "she was very unprofessional". One turned to me and requested we explain what happened. He was very kind and helpful, ensuring he'd return to us with an update. He returned a while later confirming the staff member I had been speaking to had the same story as myself and that he would establish why Lou felt she needed to Intervene. He offered us two rounds of drinks to accompany our dinner. Having finished our meal we headed back to our room around midnight. At 5am we were woken by a rustling of the door followed by the door opening. We each reacted by screaming in fear. I rang reception and was informed by Kallid the night porter "it was probably just a member of staff, don't worry". At this time we had no idea would this person return, who was it, were we in danger. We had to wait until 8am to speak to someone from reservations. We didn't sleep between 5am-8am and then requested to speak to the manager on duty. The manager came to meet us a couple of minutes later. She was defensive lacked any sense of empathy or understanding from our viewpoint. She raised her voice to the extent I stated I wanted to have a conversation not a fight. My friend mentioned she felt it was sneaky and she was informed that was a "severe allegation that will be added to my formal report" to which I stated I was glad it would be mentioned in her report considering she hadn't even apologised at that point. We insisted on a full refund be issued and we attempted to leave the hotel. The manager had stated our parking was validated to leave the premise then the machine informed us we owed €19 per car and had to return to reception then at exit assist further help as it was still unvalidated Issues happen in hotels, we're not unreasonable guests but from start to finish this experience was not at all what we had hoped for. It ruined what we hoped would be a great reunion
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Ashling Hotel, Other at Ashling Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Good afternoon Niamh, Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experiences with Ashling Hotel. All feedback is greatly appreciated as without this, we cannot improve our product. I was very happy to hear that management had spoken with you and dealt with the situation while you were still in the property. We appreciate you kindly accepting our gesture and apologies prior to your departure of the hotel. Caring for our guests and employees is always our priority. We have consistently maintained high standards of health and safety at the Ashling Hotel but please be aware that we have implemented additional measures in response to your complaints. Should you wish to discuss this in further detail, I would be happy to arrange a time in which suits you best Kind regards, Ciara Barry
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tamara D wrote a review Sep 2022
Los Angeles, California6 contributions
My Husband and I stayed at the Ashling Hotel for 2 weeks back in May of this year. Overall the hotel has everything you need close to city centre main attractions such as Guinness and a few distilleries in the area that my husband and I love to visit while we stayed. What really bought me here however was the warmth and very Helpful Ereka at front desk who was an absolute joy, throughout our entire stay Ereka was so very helpful and always so pleasant. We really enjoyed our stay at the Ashling and look forward being back.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ashling Hotel, Other at Ashling Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi Tamara, We appreciate you taking the time to write about your positive experiences with Ashling Hotel during your trip to Dublin. We are glad to hear you had a memorable experience and you found the hotel an excellent location for you to visit the attractions. Ereka is a credit to our team and we thank you for the kind acknowledgement. We will be sure to pass along your kind words to her to which she will be delighted to receive We hope to visit you again soon Kind regards Ashling Hotel Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
j0hnsh0rtreid wrote a review Sep 2022
Victoria, Canada13 contributions2 helpful votes
Extended tourist stay with my wife and I. Hotel was modern, clean and breakfast buffet was both excellent in choice and good in flavor. Hotel room was spacious and bed was very comfortable, Staff was able to accommodate a special requests including taxi orders on short notice. Safe to guests and would recommend if your travel includes train travel from Heuston Station.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Hotel room 149 was very quiet.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ashling Hotel, Other at Ashling Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear guest, We appreciate you taking the time to write about your positive experiences with Ashling Hotel during your trip to Dublin. We are glad to hear you had a memorable experience and found the hotel a safe place as this is our main priority to our guests. We hope to visit you again soon Kind regards Ashling Hotel Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marla H wrote a review Sep 2022
2 contributions
My husband and myself stayed for 2 nights and loved this hotel. The room was comfortable, clean, and roomy. The parking garage and luggage storage was a pleasant experience . The drinks we had at the bar were wonderful and the bartender was such a nice guy. The free breakfast buffet was delicious! Would highly recommend Ashling Hotel to anyone!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ashling Hotel, Other at Ashling Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi Marla, Thank you for writing such a lovely review. We are delighted to hear of your lovely trip with your husband to our hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to write about your experience and hope you will choose to stay with us once again in the future. Kind regards Ashling Hotel Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pauline237 wrote a review Aug 2022
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom8 contributions5 helpful votes
Stayed with our two children, had a large room with proper beds for the kids, lovely to receive a gift bag for each of the kids and also a complementary drink token. a little outside of the city centre, but the Luas is really convenient. parking was validated. great breakfast. staff could not be nicer or more helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ashling Hotel, Other at Ashling Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi Pauline, We are glad to hear you and your children had a fabulous stay with us and that the kiddies goodie bags were enjoyed. Thank you for all your kind words on our offerings here at Ashling hotel, we will be sure to pass along to all departments. Be sure to visit us again on your next trip to Dublin Kind regards Ashling Hotel Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$149 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western dublin, dublin best western, ashling hotel dublin
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of LeinsterCounty DublinDublin
NUMBER OF ROOMS
226
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Ashling Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Ashling Hotel?
Nearby attractions include National Museum of Ireland - Decorative Arts & History (0.2 miles), Arbour Hill Cemetery (0.2 miles), and Military Museum Collins Barracks (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Ashling Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Ashling Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Ashling Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Ashling Hotel?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ashling Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ryan’s of Parkgate Street, F.X. Buckley Steakhouse Parkgate St., and Nancy Hands Bar & Restaurant.
Are any cleaning services offered at Ashling Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Ashling Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Ashling Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, Italian, Chinese, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to Ashling Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Kilmainham Gaol Museum (0.9 miles), 14 Henrietta Street (0.9 miles), and Guinness Storehouse (0.5 miles).
Does Ashling Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.