We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Mespil Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Mespil Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,621 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mespil Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,407: English reviews
Mayo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Myself and my partner stayed for one night earlier this week just as treat to get away! He was at work when I went to check in so being totally alien to this part of Dublin I was welcomed with a nice smile on reception! I got up to the room to which I found the door opened without use... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lau_Rose_Fitz
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Great to see that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you found your room ‘lovely and cosy’. Regarding the issue with your key, I’m not sure what exactly happened, as all locks are operated via a sensor on the keycard which is very secure and reliable…however... More 

Wilsonville, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My husband and I chose Mespil Hotel for the first two nights of our honeymoon in Ireland (we flew into Dublin). The location was very close to St. Stephen's Green and sights on Leeson Street. It wasn't a long walk to anything worth seeing on the south side of the city but a bit far from anything north of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ashley M
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Good to see that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that the location was central with a good choice of cafes and pubs close by. Thank you for the kind comment in relation to our staff and I have noted your remark re dinner which I have... More 

Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed for one night in October 2013. The worst hotel stay i've ever had, it's a luck that we stayed just for one night. Booked non-smoking double room (with one bed). When we checked in they gave us twin room (with separate beds) for smokers! When I complained, receptionist agreed that it's a hotel's stuff mistake, but there's no way... More 

Helpful?
Thank ar4ik
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Sorry to hear you were disappointed with your recent stay with us. I am aware that our Night team checked you in and we were genuinely full that night – so they were very restricted and unable to offer you an alternative room. They did highlight this with the... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Just back from a weekend spent at the Mespil hotel and I must say that I had an enjoyable stay here. The hotel room was spacious, clean and comfortable and the staff were very good and attentive. We ask for a quiet room and found ourselves overlooking the car park at the rear of the hotel. This suited us well... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank arthur r R
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Delighted to read that you had a comfortable and enjoyable weekend stay with us and that you discovered Dublin by foot. Thank you for the kind comments in relation to the food and we really appreciate the positive feedback in relation to our staff. I hope we will have... More 

Fall River, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed at the Mespil hotel for 4 nights in total during our trip to Ireland In October 2013...2 nights at the beginning of our trip and 2 nights at the end of our trip. The first room we had was toward the back of the building on the side and was very quiet but stuffy and no fan in... More 

Helpful?
Thank ms2katz
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Good to read that you enjoyed your two visits to the hotel and that you found the location central. Apologies that you experienced some inconsistent service at the front desk and I have forwarded your comments in relation to the rooms to our Accommodation Manager. Nice to hear your... More 

Lausanne, Switzerland
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed there for 3 nights in July 2013 and the room was extremely uncomfortable. There was no air-conditioning, no fans and the window was tiny. We found it very difficult to sleep and it was impossible to relax in the room, since it was so stuffy. For the price they charge, it should be much better than that -... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rory134
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Sorry to hear you found your room very hot – however July was exceptionally warm for Irish standards. We now have fans available for guests who find the rooms too warm, which is a great improvement. Good to hear you found the location central and were complimentary of our... More 

Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I just arrived home from a weekend in the Mespil and decided to check out what recent reviews had said about the hotel. I was absolutely amazed to see that there were a number of negative ones and feel compelled to point out some of the great features of the hotel and the staff. One contributor mentioned it being 20... More 

Helpful?
Thank Martha047
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. It was a pleasure to read your review and we very much appreciate the time and effort you spent in writing such a fair and honest review. It is great to hear first-hand your experience in terms of location, service and hotel facilities and that we scored highly in... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This is a pretty large hotel located near Ballsbridge (about a 20 mins walk away or few minutes taxi ride - there are some really nice restaurants in this area), it's also about 20 mins walk away from the nearest Dart station which is the easiest way of getting into the city centre. Pro's: - Friendly staff - Fairly large... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amy T
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Good to see you had a comfortable stay with us and thank you for your kind feedback in relation to our staff. I am concerned about your comments regarding Bitbuzz as the complimentary Wifi is greatly appreciated by guests – however I will relay your issues to our Account... More 

Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

As we approached the hotel we noticed the lighted MESPIL sign was partially out. Visually, the hotel did not make much of an impression. After parking in the hotel parking lot, located behind the building, we entered the lobby to check-in. Despite the crowd of people, we were helped quickly. The hotel bar staff, where we waited until our room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robert A
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and found the location central to many attractions. Thank you for the kind mention regarding our staff and nice to hear you enjoyed breakfast. Your comments re the sign are very valid and this is currently being reviewed... More 

New York, NY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Internet access is a bust.... They wanted me to come to the desk after doing all they asked .....are you for real??? I was in my underpants......stop treating Internet as a perk.....it's a commodity..... For the love of god!!!.....I did all the crap they asked and it still did not work!

Helpful?
1 Thank EeZeeTravelman
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Sorry to hear that you had issues logging on to the wifi but our system is secure and is operated with voucher login details which works very well and is complimentary. Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review. Emma Allen Mespil Management More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

951 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (248)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (79)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Other (71)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (693)
Viewed
Amenities (32)
Viewed
Double Room #460 (75)
Viewed
Double Room #516 (83)
Viewed
Double-Single Room #426 (91)
Viewed
Double-Single Room #473 (83)
Viewed
Family Room (84)
Viewed
Dining (88)
Viewed
The Hotel (77)
Viewed
Twin Room (80)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#40 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 1,444 reviews
0.4 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#14 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 1,036 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#28 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pembroke Townhouse
Pembroke Townhouse
#66 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 710 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dublin - Burlington Road
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dublin Skylon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mespil Hotel is a modern 4 star hotel located within Georgian Dublin, an elegant and stylish part of Dublin city centre and just 15-20 minutes walk from St. Stephens Green/Grafton Street, Aviva Stadium, Bord Gáis Energy Theatre, Ballsbridge and the RDS and a further 10 minutes to Temple Bar. The Mespil Hotel offers 254 bright, spacious, non-smoking guest bedrooms with free WIFI Internet access. Lock Four Restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner daily and is over looking the Grand Canal. In the Lounge you can enjoy morning coffee, a quick and healthy lunch or treat yourself to a tasty snack and a refreshing cocktail ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mespil Hotel

Address: 50 - 60 Mespil Road, Dublin D04 E7N2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: $114 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mespil Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Mespil Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mespil Hotel Dublin
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#60 Family Hotel in Dublin
#66 Business Hotel in Dublin
#67 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay