We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sandymount Hotel

Show Prices
#28 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sandymount Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,965 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,761: English reviews
Start your review of Sandymount Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

My friend and I stayed here on the 1st November. The hotel was lovely and very clean. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful! Even got ordered us pizza when we got back to the hotel that night late! The only downfall of the hotel would that it was very cold and the heating didn't seem to be on. Maybe...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Naomi W
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Hotel was very clean and spacious with friendly staff. Location is a little far out but transport is really close by and reasonably priced so not a problem. Bar had great food and was not too expensive. Would recommend to others!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nrchuwen
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay, and would recommend Sandymount Hotel. With kind regards, John Loughran Owner

Belfast
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Just back from a mini break staying in this hotel. As this was the first time in this area of Dublin, we were a bit unsure, but oh boy we were pleasantly surprised. What a gem. Not a negative to find anywhere. A beautiful homely hotel in a lovely area. Although not on a bus route, the Dart station is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank relaxedBelfast
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review. It is a great boost to hear such positive feedback. We look forward to your next visit in the near future. With kind regards, John Loughran Owner

Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

The room was spacious, clean, modern and the bed was comfortable. Room was equipped with a bath, TV, hairdryer and a kettle. The staff were very helpful and friendly, nothing was too much for them. Ordered breakfast to the room, food was poor quality and tiny portion, defiantly not worth €12! that was the only disappointment. Overall a decent hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paige B
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paige, Thank you for your review. My staff will be delighted with your praise. I apologise for the quality of breakfast, and your comments will be addressed. With kind regards, John Loughran Owner

Letterkenny, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I needed to book a hotel to attend a family funeral. Although we were staying because of a very sad occasion we enjoyed our stay. Our room though not large was very pleasant with everything which is necessary for an enjoyable stay. There was a very comfortable bed, tea and coffee making facilities, an iron and ironing board, a safe...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ann, Thank you for your review. It is a great help to us to receive such comprehensive feedback. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to having you back on a happier occasion. With kind regards, John Loughran Owner

Reviewed 1 week ago

Sandymount is a nice and clean basic hotel. Room and bathroom looked new. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room. City centre is 3 dart stations away, 5 minute walk to dart station. The only letdown: The hotel is not buggy/wheelchair friendly. Hallways very narrow, elevator tiny and cleaning team keeps staples of clean towls and bedlinen on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liliklt
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. All rooms have been refurbished. I apologise for the bed linen blocking the buggy, and will bring this to the attention of my Housekeeping Manager. With kind regards, John Loughran Owner

tipperary
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at this hotel for one night i was surprised i did not enjoy our stay considering the reviews were very good. The hotel staff very friendly and porridge yummy but that's about all. It's kinda neither here nor there hotel and bit up and down hallways which are very narrow. Our room was old and large I was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maccamac
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. I apologise that your experience was not what we aim to provide here at Sandymount Hotel. Your points have been noted and will be considered by my management team. With kind regards, John Loughran Owner

Sligo
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have stayed in this hotel since 1979. The fact that we keep coming back should say it all. Food is good. The hotel is quiet, central and close to the amenities that we use. Recent up-grading has kept facilities up to date. There are no problems parking.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank richardaF6246TE
Co Cork
Reviewed 1 week ago

I would recommend the hotel for it service, presentation and food. Our room was a little hard to find, felt a little like a treasure hunt down a rabbit hole but once we found it it was nicely appointed and clean. We ate in the bar on our first night as did friends of ours and not one of us...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank O1516AZericl
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Eric, Thank you for your review. Your kind comments are very much appreciated. With kind regards, John Loughran Owner

Ankara, Turkey
Reviewed 1 week ago

First of all, location is great. It's walking distance to Aviva Stadium and good choice if you have something to do South Dublin. It offers lots considering the price. It may not be the cheapest, but probably the best value around. We stayed at 4th floor, executive floor, the room size and bathroom was quite big. Bed was comfortable and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kerem Y
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review. It is great to receive such comprehensive feedback, and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with your family. With kind regards, John Loughran Owner

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

510 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (240)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (92)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (242)
Viewed
Amenities (24)
Viewed
Executive Room (PRE-RENOVATION) (47)
Viewed
Family Room (PRE-RENOVATION) (39)
Viewed
Dining (47)
Viewed
The Hotel (85)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.6 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#13 of 153 in Dublin
1,199 reviews
3.0 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#31 of 153 in Dublin
1,711 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#39 of 153 in Dublin
1,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4,229 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#3 of 153 in Dublin
1,492 reviews
0.5 mi away
Herbert Park Hotel
Herbert Park Hotel
#22 of 153 in Dublin
1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located just 10 minutes from Dublin city centre, 14km from the airport and two minutes from the DART train station which links you to all Dublin's main attractions in minutes, Sandymount Hotel is the perfect hotel for every visit to Dublin. The O2 Arena is less than a 5-minute drive from the hotel and the Bord Gais Energy Theatre is 1 stop away by DART rail. There is free parking and WIFI also available. A family run hotel for the last 59 years it's the people that make your stay special. A full Irish breakfast is served daily in Whitty's Restaurant and we have a casual dining menu available all day in Line Out Bar which features a terrace overlooking private gardens. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sandymount Hotel

Address: Herbert Rd | Sandymount, Dublin 4, Ireland (Formerly Mount Herbert Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: $91 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandymount Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Sandymount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Herbert Dublin
Hotel Mount Herbert
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#3 Green Hotel in Dublin
#19 Business Hotel in Dublin
#39 Family Hotel in Dublin
#44 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Sandymount Hotel staff and other travelers.
23 questions
Ask a question
3 months ago
Las Vegas, Nevada
6 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (23)

Questions? Get answers from Sandymount Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“All rooms are quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles relaxedBelfast, 3 days ago | Read review
“Room 305 large and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles 585annb, 1 week ago | Read review
“high floor, large room 615 but cold , noisy as it's front of hotel, bedroom floor off level”
 of 5 bubbles maccamac, 1 week ago | Read review
“Range of rooms available to suit needs, just ask”
 of 5 bubbles 67IanH, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“We often book a triple room for friends stay over. All rooms are great.”
 of 5 bubbles annemH8747XQ, 3 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question