We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Anchor House Dublin

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Anchor House Dublin
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

581 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 424: English reviews
Centreville, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed 2 nights in August 2016 and the staff was wonderful, very friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and very comfortable.and we slept well both nights. We will certainly come back to this B&B on our next visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank 9Judy
boston, ma
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a comfortable B&B in a good location close to the bus station and not far from the train station and DART. It is on a busy road and therefore is quite noisy. request a room facing away from the street. Also quite possibly the smallest shower stall I have ever seen. good breakfast. no elevator.

Helpful?
Thank pmarie27
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Anchor House is situated in the centre of Dublin, not too far from the shopping area and also ideal to go out at night on foot to Temple Bar. We had a room on the street side of the building so it was very noisy. The room was nice. Breakfast wasn't great and the breakfast personnel very ignoring and bad... More 

Helpful?
Thank 527anjac
joan c, Guest Relations Manager at Anchor House Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, So sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us here at the Anchor. As you have stated The Anchor is situated in the centre of Dublin our capital city. Avoidance of noise is almost an impossibility, however we have some rooms to the back that are slightly quieter. Pity you didn't voice your complaint to us... More 

Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My wife and I spent 3 enjoyable nights at the Anchor in. For those who complain there are some very nice 5 star hotels in Dublin for you to try next time but at twice the cost. I found Dublin very expensive compared to the small towns but such is life. The Anchor Inn is a nice 3 star Inn.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank RockyBayIrish
joan c, Guest Relations Manager at Anchor House Dublin, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure having you stay here at The Anchor. We hope you will return again some day . Best Wishes, Joan More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2016 via mobile

Very disappointing. Where do I start ! .On returning late one night we were asked to pay in full for our two rooms .( why can't this be done on checkout ! )By a very rude chap who wouldn't give us our key until the rooms were paid for !. We were advised we were informed of the need to... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Tony R
joan c, Guest Relations Manager at Anchor House Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Tony, So sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Apologies for our night manager asking you for payment on your return here on your last night . We do ask our guests to fix up payment the evening before departure , as it is usually busy at breakfast time in the morning and as we are... More 

Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2016

This B&B is more like a small hotel. The staff were very helpful. We stayed for 3 nights, went away for 2 and came back for another night. The first 3 nights we had a room at the back of the hotel. Quite comfortable but not very roomy, and we found the back lane quite noisy in the mornings with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jatvla
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2016

I was traveling with my Mom and a friend of mine. We started our trip off with 2 nights in Dublin at this wonderful B&B. We were welcomed with such warmth and charm that none of us wanted to leave. The room was lovely and the beds were super comfortable, I am a back sleeper, so the bed was the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Janell H
joan c, Guest Relations Manager at Anchor House Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Janell, Many thanks for your review .We very much appreciate your kind complements. It was a pleasure having you all stay with us. We hope you will return again some day . Best Regards, Joan More 

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2016 via mobile

Having stayed at a few dodgy b&b's on the same street, I had low hopes for this one, but it turned out to be exactly what I was looking for! Warm, comfy, spacious, with an excellent breakfast, elegant sitting rooms with plenty of common space, and even a book exchange. Best of all was the staff, who weee extremely welcoming... More 

Helpful?
Thank AndyMac57
joan c, Guest Relations Manager at Anchor House Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Andy, Many thanks for your review, and kind complements. It was a pleasure having you stay with us . We hope you will return again some day . Best Regards, Joan More 

Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2016

We recently returned home from Ireland stayed only 1 night at the achor house b&b luckily! This place is not what the pictures represent. The towels are like sand paper found dirt on towels - bathroom shower not clean. Also when you go out you ha e to leave your room key with the front desk?!?!? This is structured more... More 

Helpful?
Thank llmgildea
joan c, Guest Relations Manager at Anchor House Dublin, responded to this review

Sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us . We endeavour to try our best . Pity you didn't bring towels and bathroom to our attention when you were here. We could have remedied this for you. Regards, Joan More 

Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2016

I stayed here for one night and I loved it. I booked it as a last minute thing on their website and they were able to accommodate me. The location is great not far from Connelly train or bus station and not to far from the city centre. I was greeted at the door by a lovely lady and checked... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
joan c, Guest Relations Manager at Anchor House Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Sarah, Many thanks for you review and kind complements. It was a pleasure having you stay here with us . We look forward to seeing you again . Best Regards, Joan More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

124 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (116)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#81 of 151 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 stars 527 reviews
North City Centre
The Townhouse
The Townhouse
#95 of 151 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 stars 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North City Centre
Adelphi Guesthouse
Adelphi Guesthouse
#76 of 161 in Dublin
3.0 of 5 stars 286 reviews
Parkway Guesthouse
#18 of 161 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a 3* family run guesthouse in Dublin City Center. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Anchor House Dublin

Address: 49 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Price Range: $113 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchor House Dublin 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Anchor House Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor House Dublin Hotel Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay