We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Anchor House Dublin

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Anchor House Dublin
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

604 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 441: English reviews
Chur, Switzerland
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Anchor House for 7 nights during our Dublin city visit. Great location, very central and in good walking distance to most points of interest. 3 minutes walk to central bus station, 5 minutes to train station. The atmosphere of the Anchor House is very cosy, the interior with fine details. Everything was very clean, the bedroom...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank remo-corina
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 1, 2016 via mobile

Amazing hotel, great location and lovely staff. The bus outside the hotel (which is located in the city center) takes you straight to the airport. The rooms are clean, the staff is polite and helpful and the breakfast is amazing. Quality scrumptious food. We would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Acvodul86
joan c, Guest Relations Manager at Anchor House Dublin, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. It was our pleasure to have you both stay with us and we hope you will return again soon. Best regards, Joan

Uppsala, Sweden
Reviewed October 21, 2016

Anchor House is a great place to stay! Conveniently located, very comfortable beds, great service (Thank you Joan and staff!) and has a full Irish breakfast that is fresh and tasty. We spent four nights in this nice place and left with a feeling of being so well treated starting from booking, mail correspondence, welcoming atmosphere and overall great service....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suz507
joan c, Guest Relations Manager at Anchor House Dublin, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind and positive review. It was a pleasure having you and your teacher colleagues stay with us . We certainly hope you will return again next year. Best Regards, Joan

North Devon
Reviewed October 12, 2016

I stayed at this establishment for 3 nights with my two young daughters. Initial impression was good, we had arrived early, but received a nice welcome from the lady on reception and were told we could leave our bags. We returned later in the afternoon to check into our room. As I had expected, the room and bathroom were very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank debbiedave
joan c, Guest Relations Manager at Anchor House Dublin, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Generally your review is positive and thank you for that. Apologies, about your experience on your last night with one of our night managers. This man is an excellent employee however, he is from eastern Europe and different cultures have different mannerisms. I am sorry you misinterpreted him . Sincere apologies that you were upset...

Rye, New Hampshire
Reviewed October 8, 2016

I booked a room here for my last night in Ireland, having turned the car in that morning. I didn't expect much because it's a B&B in a big city, but I was pleasantly surprised. My third-floor room was small but very nice, with patio doors opening up to a wrought-iron rail. The double bed was comfortable, there was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NHjo
joan c, Guest Relations Manager at Anchor House Dublin, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. We hope you will return again someday. Best regards, joan

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 7, 2016

Lovely old house with spacious and comfortable accommodation. Excellent, quiet room with good facilities. Ensuite was clean and efficient. Secure parking available (additional fee) and very convenient for central Dublin and walking. No information in room about anything but very welcoming, helpful and friendly staff. Good wi-fi. What more could you ask? Answer: a good Irish breakfast. Ours was terrible...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 318Trevor
joan c, Guest Relations Manager at Anchor House Dublin, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us . Pity to spoil your trip because of a bad experience with your breakfast. This could have been remedied if you had brought it to our attention at the time. I can assure you that our bacon is supplied by a reputable Irish supplier . Bread, if not...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed October 6, 2016

The Anchor House was a big part of the reason that we enjoyed our five days in Dublin so much. It is situated in the heart of Dublin, easily walkable to nearly everything we wanted to see - Trinity College and the Book of Kells, the Gate and the Abbey Theaters, good restaurants, pubs and pub music, etc. Staff could...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Edam231
joan c, Guest Relations Manager at Anchor House Dublin, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us . We hope you will return again some day. Best regards, Joan

California
Reviewed October 4, 2016

This B and B is like an oasis in a bustling city and neighborhood. Joan is helpful and friendly. We were given the family room due to large luggage and she and her staff helped us carry it up! The room was very clean and very comfortable. There are close by restaurants for dinner. We liked the Italian Connection and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gcbnapa
joan c, Guest Relations Manager at Anchor House Dublin, responded to this review

Thank you for your review . It was a pleasure having you stay with us. We hope you will return again some day . Best Regards, Joan

London, Canada
Reviewed October 4, 2016 via mobile

Given other choices for BnB's in Dublin this one would not have been our first choice but for an extended vacation that we had planned price ruled out though. The Anchor House is not in A1 location it is situated in an area that caters to hostels as opposed to BnB area. There is no direct access to enter into...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Viper9343
joan c, Guest Relations Manager at Anchor House Dublin, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed your visit . Best Regards, Joan

Market Drayton
Reviewed September 24, 2016

We arrived at Anchor House at the end of our trip to Ireland. Cae parking was booked in advance and this removed a major problem of where to park the car. Anchor House has a superb location. We walked from it to Trinity College, then on to St. Stephens. Green. It was humiliating to realise one was standing in a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob D
joan c, Guest Relations Manager at Anchor House Dublin, responded to this review

Hi Bob, Thank you for your revi Delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again sometime. Best regards, Joan

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

124 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (116)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#89 of 150 in Dublin
564 reviews
North City Centre
The Townhouse
The Townhouse
#95 of 150 in Dublin
628 reviews
North City Centre
Adelphi Guesthouse
Adelphi Guesthouse
#94 of 164 in Dublin
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Botanic View B & B
#3 of 164 in Dublin
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a 3* family run guesthouse in Dublin City Center. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Anchor House Dublin

Address: 49 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Price Range: $67 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchor House Dublin 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Anchor House Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor House Dublin Hotel Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Anchor House Dublin staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Wadsworth, Ohio
2 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Anchor House Dublin staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Lower Gardiner Street is quite busy, but in our case we were not disturbed at all. The rooms seem well isolated.”
 of 5 bubbles suz507, Oct 21, 2016 | Read review
“GEt the large family room if you can.”
 of 5 bubbles gcbnapa, Oct 4, 2016 | Read review
“Book car parking space if travelling by car.”
 of 5 bubbles BobD1946, Sep 24, 2016 | Read review
“Room facing away from the street should be quieter. No AC but usually don't need it.”
 of 5 bubbles pmarie27, Aug 2, 2016 | Read review
“Simply put, this is a busy section of town so expect some noise front and back.”
 of 5 bubbles RockyBayIrish, Jul 26, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay