We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Dublin Skylon Hotel

Show Prices
#33 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Dublin Skylon Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,786 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,539: English reviews
Start your review of Dublin Skylon Hotel
 Click to rate
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Had a family 4 night break in the skylon over easter and what a lovely stay we had. We arrived on the Sunday where the reception staff were very cheary, polite and helpful and the Hotel was bright and tastefully decorated. There was complimentary bottles of water and packets of crisps in the very spacious, clean and tastefully decorated family...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

On arrival from the airport we drove to the hotel, we checked in around 10.30 pm. We settled into our room & then headed to the bar for a drink, as we waited to be served ( the bar was relatively quite at this time) eventually the Older bar man took our order & while he fixed our drinks he...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yodicork
Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Skylon is on a bus route from the city centre, or en route to the Airport. Its affordable if you are sharing and it does a fine Breakfast with friendly staff looking after you.The rooms are spacious and the evening entertainment is quite good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joecoughlan
YourReviewMatters, General Manager at Dublin Skylon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear joecoughlan Thank you so much for your 4-star review!! Very kind words about the entire property, especially our staff, bedrooms and evening entertainment! We do hope you'll share your positive experience with friends and family and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future! Kind regards Shane GM

Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed here for the first two nights of our holiday and found it perfect for our requirements. Nice quiet room, comfortable bed, lovely breakfast and excellent evening meals and good Guinness! Staff first class and very attentive particularly Maja Miocic on reception, she was always helpful and very pleasant, nothing was too much trouble. Good location with bus stops...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LadyGunslinger
YourReviewMatters, General Manager at Dublin Skylon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LadyGunslinger, Thank you so much for your 5-star review!! Very kind words about the entire property, especially our staff, bedrooms, breakfast and evening meals! I'll be sure to personally share your review with Maja - we are absolutely lucky to have her! We do hope you'll share your positive experience with friends and family and we look forward to...

Montreal
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Location is a bit out of the touristic areas but it can there's a bus stop almost in frontof the hotel. It takes 20 min and about 3€ to get to the city center. Airport is also about 20 min by bus. Our room didn't look like the ones in the pictures. It was old, no closet door, old/dirty looking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mtl_chick_08
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed 1 night as part of an Ireland easter weekend break. Unfortunately it was a bit of a let down for our last night. Arrived 12noon so a little early check in and was advised the room was not yet ready, but did have a room on the 5th floor only issue was lift only went to 4th floor so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnR2106
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed in The Skylon Hotel as i needed to be on that area for a few days. the hotel is close to the Botanic Gardens, Glasnevin Cemetery etc. The staff were friendly and helpful and my room was clean and comfortable. i would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mari K
YourReviewMatters, General Manager at Dublin Skylon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mari K, Thank you so much for your 5-star review!! Very kind words about the entire property, especially our staff, bedroom comfort and location! We do hope you'll share your positive experience with friends and family and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future! Kind regards Shane GM

Reviewed 1 week ago

I didn't stay at the hotel because I was informed that between the hotel and the convention center I need to get to, there is a neighborhood that is not particularly safe and so to use the hotel, I would be required to use cabs. It would also mean leaving my 80 year old mother in a place where her...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paula S
DubSkylonHotel, General Manager at Dublin Skylon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paula S You have made a big mistake here. Let's see if we can sort this out: Firstly you booked a Non-Refundable Discount Rate through an On-Line Travel Agent. This incurs commission fees which is why you were charged for the first night stay. No other hotel would have refunded a Non-Refundable booking but my Reservations team sorted this...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Our visit to the Skylon was much better than I expected. The room was fresh and modern. For a double room, the bed was quite big! In excellent, possibly rare touch in hotels, was the complimentary crisps and Nespresso machine. Excellent first impressions. There was no air conditioning in the room, only a plug in fan. The room was very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cormac2791
DubSkylonHotel, General Manager at Dublin Skylon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cormac2791 Many thanks for your review - you are most kind. I appreciate you you highlighting our personal touches such as the complimentary Nespresso and the crisps - I do hope they were the Shamrock crisps; a personal favorite. We appreciate your recommendation and on your next visit will treat you to Afternoon Tea in the Lobby. Hope to...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 week ago

From the front desk staff to the room attendants, the entire staff could not have been more accommodating to me & my husband on our most recent stay. My husband badly sprained his ankle & not only did the staff bring him buckets of ice, but they offered to help bandage it up. My Mum was critically ill, & they...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank scremore
DubSkylonHotel, General Manager at Dublin Skylon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Scremore 'They were like family' is the biggest compliment you could pay us. We really hope that you mum and husband are making a full recovery. I am adding my e-mail to the bottom of this reply as we hope to have you back under better circumstances so we can really spoil you. We wish you and your family...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

715 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (269)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (52)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (131)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (358)
Viewed
Amenities (27)
Viewed
One Double Bed and One Twin Bed Room #224 (62)
Viewed
One Double Bed and One Twin Bed Room #227 (60)
Viewed
One Double Bed and One Twin Bed Room #233 (57)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
The Hotel (47)
Viewed
Two Double Beds Room (47)
Viewed
Two Twins and One Double Bed Room (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (88)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4,351 reviews
Sandymount Hotel
#31 of 153 in Dublin
2,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Academy Plaza Hotel
#47 of 153 in Dublin
4,363 reviews
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#67 of 153 in Dublin
1,280 reviews
Grand Canal Hotel
#38 of 153 in Dublin
1,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Modern, luxurious hotel with free Wi-Fi throughout. The hotel is located ten minutes from Dublin International Airport and five minutes from Dublin City Centre. Croke Park Stadium is within walking distance. The Skylon Restaurant serves breakfast from 7.00am to 10.30 am. And you can discover the many delicious menu options at The Skylon Bar & Grill, one of the tastiest restaurants near Dublin City Centre. All our menus come with a suggestion of wines from around the world, a selection of craft beers and our extensive cocktail menu.Guests at the Skylon Hotel can expect the very best of Irish hospitality. Check in is after 2pm. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dublin Skylon Hotel

Address: 27 Upper Drumcondra Road, Dublin D09 V1Y2, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Dublin Skylon Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: $106 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dublin Skylon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dublin Skylon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skylon Hotel Dublin
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#26 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#32 Family Hotel in Dublin
#36 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#42 Business Hotel in Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Dublin Skylon Hotel staff and other travelers.
64 questions
Ask a question
7 months ago
Durrus, Ireland
11 months ago
11 months ago

See all questions (64)

Questions? Get answers from Dublin Skylon Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ask for a room not facing onto the road.”
joecoughlan, 4 days ago | Read review
“Check out the area surrounding the hotel first. Understand that if you plan to go to Croke Stadium, it isn't safe to walk there alone.”
paulasJ8840QK, 1 week ago | Read review
“No tips, no complaints!”
trevorw464, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“If you're having an issue, call the front desk immediately. This is a no-nonsense hotel, and they will take care of it.”
WanderBat, Mar 23, 2017 | Read review
“book through Expedia”
marijkew_13, Mar 16, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question