We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
27 St. Stephen's Green, Dublin 2 Ireland
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Christmas at Shelbourne
Booking.com
$445
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Trip.com
$427
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/28/22
Orbitz.com
Expedia.com$443
Travelocity
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1683)
Room & Suite (576)
Dining (226)
What is Travelers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travelers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Updated 11/23/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Shelbourne, Autograph Collection
Updated 11/23/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#32 of 177 hotels in Dublin
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.5
Value
4.0
2022 Travelers' Choice Best of the Best
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Babysitting
Airport transportation
Parking
Wifi
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Foot massage
Full body massage
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Safe
Iron
Show more
Room types
City view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Christmas at Shelbourne
4685Reviews83Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 3,195
  • 844
  • 382
  • 164
  • 100
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Lauren L wrote a review Sep 25
New York166 contributions49 helpful votes
We stayed here two nights at the end of our Northwest/Northern Ireland road trip to be near the airport and see a bit of Dublin. We stayed using a combination of Marriott points, Amex points and cash to make it a bit more affordable. The property was a luxurious retreat in a busy city. Some notes on the positives - our room was upgraded on arrival and it was very large; the bathroom was a particular highlight, with a soaking tub, separate shower, and toilet closet- nice robes, slippers, and Elemis toiletries. We could control the temperature of the room, and the shades made things completely dark, so we slept very well; despite the urban location, things were quiet at night. The staff responded to requests - a bucket of ice, more towels, etc. - very very quickly, and we were very thankful they were able to get us a last minute booking for the very fabulous afternoon tea. The service at tea, by the way, deserves a special mention for being so attentive and kind. The breakfast selections at the hot and cold buffet was high quality and enjoyable. We did not use the pool, spa, or bar but we stuck our head in and all of them were very nice. Ideal location in the city right on St. Stephen's Green. Why only 4 stars? At this level of hotel, there were some small imperfections. Our first day at breakfast, we were ignored while other tables got service - we had to flag a server for coffee and they left dirty dishes on our table for a very long time. I had to ask for my welcome letter re: Amex benefits - not a big deal, but I felt like an entitled pest, which was uncomfortable. At check out, they said they would email my folio, but they never did, despite us double checking my email address. The rooms could use a bit of an update, and a smart TV would be nice. Also, this hotel does that annoying thing where there is a fridge in the room, but it is entirely filled up by paid minibar items. This is a policy that lots of luxury hotels have, and they should rethink. I felt too shy to ask them to empty it out, but I am sure if I asked they would have done so. Finally, there are few spaces to just "hang out" in the hotel - get some work done, chat with your travel partners - that are not paid restaurants and bars. All in all though, these are small complaints. This is a beautiful, restful historic property and I felt very lucky to be able to spend the night.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Some rooms have views onto a courtyard with other windows, air conditioning units, etc. Ask if...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Michael K wrote a review Aug 2022
162 contributions82 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
The Shelbourne definitely deserves its 5 stars. The staff is very friendly, helpful and accommodating. Plenty of restaurants to get food and drinks. Breakfast in the Saddle room is very good. We had a Premium Heritage room and I thought it was a little small. They say 30m so they must count the large bathroom. The carpet was badly stained and the walls could use some touching up. I understand it’s an old building but our dresser was not level and you can hear guests above you walking around. The TV selection is poor in that you cannot stream anything and movie selections are horrible. Also there is no outdoor space to sit and read, you would have to purchase a drink to sit there. Location is very good if you want city center.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Patrice518 wrote a review Sep 25
Quincy, Illinois145 contributions61 helpful votes
+1
The hotel is beautiful. Rooms are spacious. Great location for walking. Lots to do in the surrounding area. But the service: it is supreme! The front desk staff was lovely and called us as soon as our room was ready. The bellhops let us go back to retrieve something from our checked bags. The front doors man graciously agreed to a “touristy” pic. Emily at the Mayor’s Lounge was able to put together enough tables to accommodate 11 of us for dinner on a busy Saturday night. We had a lovely time. Would definitely stay here again sometime.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Be sure to make reservations for dinner ahead of time. It is extremely busy on the weekends.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
M R wrote a review Sep 22
Edinburgh, United Kingdom11 contributions5 helpful votes
Really enjoyed the massage, pool, and relaxation area. All very luxurious and relaxing. The staff were very attentive and ensured we enjoyed our visit. Such a lovely way to spend a few hours in luxury.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
SnL wrote a review Sep 21
Phoenix, Arizona44 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
We just arrived from the US and what an entrance the Shelbourne has. Absolutely stunning decor. I had booked tea at 14:30 since I wasn’t sure if we would have delays. While our room wasn’t ready, we asked the manager at The Lord Mayor’s Lounge if we could be seated in advance of our reservation. At first she said they were just finishing their first seating and we would need to wait so they could reset the tables. When I mentioned we were waiting for our room to be ready she said she would change a table for us and let us dine sooner. What an amazing experience. The food was wonderful, the choices of teas and coffees was the largest menu I had experienced and we enjoyed several. The aroma from the Irish Whisky Tea was exquisite and the taste was as well. I later saw they are selling cans of it. Will want to buy some before we leave. The amount of food was plentiful and yet they allow you to have more of anything. We took two beautiful boxes of leftover desserts with us without needing any seconds. After, we took the elevator to our room which, although not having a very nice view across from business offices, is quite lovely. The bed is comfortable and the furnishings are so handsome. Everywhere I. The hotel there are beautiful paintings, polished brass, shining wood and glistening chandeliers. It really is quite special. We hadn’t made any dinner plans since we weren’t sure how we’d feel after our travels. We were asked if we’d like to tour the Saddle Room Restaurant when we stopped to look at menus. Daniel walked us around and told us about the breakfasts and the menus and seating areas. He was such a nice young man. We looked at the menus and then asked the gentleman up front for any possible availability that evening, an hour from asking. (20:00) He said he could accommodate and so we went for an hour walk around the area and it is so conveniently close to all kinds of restaurants and shops. Upon returning we were seated in Paul’s section. He was a wonderful and helpful young man. We had a half dozen oysters and Kells Lamb. Delicious! Dessert too! But along with all of the great service and food, Daniel came back and gave us a few more treats thanking us for being so kind. (We had told him had we known he was a server we would have asked for him.. he sold us on dining there) Anyway, all this to say, ar 22:41, we have just finished our first day in Dublin and my husband is snoring contentedly beside me.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
TravellarkFL wrote a review Sep 15
Miami, Florida28 contributions58 helpful votes
The Shelbourne was our introduction to Ireland, and it did not disappoint. The staff was very welcoming, from the doorman to the concierge to the reception desk to the food and beverage professionals. We had a deluxe King room, I believe, and it was charming and comfortable, as was the lovely bathroom. The hotel's location, across from St. Stephan's Green Park, was perfect. My husband took a long early morning walk and later we all walked to nearby Trinity College and the shopping district. We were also within walking distance to many restaurants. And the "hop on-hop off" bus stops right across the street. We had an over-the-top afternoon tea experience at the hotel (reservations required) that I highly recommend. The service and decor was impeccable. Best of all, whatever you can't finish eating is sent home in a gorgeous "doggie bag." We also loved the 1824 Bar on the second floor. Stunning. We highly recommend The Shelbourne for all the reasons listed above.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Avi B wrote a review Sep 9
16 contributions12 helpful votes
I had the privilege of staying at the Shelbourne recently for two nights with my girlfriend. The property is lovely - the room, while not huge, was both very comfortable and well furnished, and the property itself is both extremely centrally located (directly across from St Stephen's Green) and has some wonderful amenities - most notably the spa (including a lap pool) and health club. However, the highlight of our stay was most certainly the afternoon tea at the Lord Mayor's Lounge. Maria and her team - especially Jiovanna (sp?) were able to accommodate us at the last minute for a pre-birthday treat for my girlfriend, and they could not have made the moment more special - from the champagne, to the beautiful tower of delicious treats (note - come with an appetite), and of course the varied menu of teas. The service was especially standout - Maria and Jiovanna were both extremely warm and attentive, ensuring that we were well taken care of. Maria also took the time to tell us about the history of the hotel, the Lord Mayor's Lounge, and afternoon tea at the lounge. She also took us to see the Constitution Suite in the hotel, where the Irish constitution was signed over 100 years ago! Overall it made for a delicious and memorable afternoon, and we can't wait to return!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Aboveandbeyond wrote a review Sep 5
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Exceptional customer service! We had a one night stay booked here because our flight was scheduled to arrive at 8:30pm, before going to visit family in Gorey for the weekend. Our flight was delayed by almost 2 hours, so it was about 11pm by the time we checked in and we were tired. Trying to charge our phones using a universal adapter wouldn’t work, so we assumed that the outlet was faulty. Colin, the night manager promptly came to assist us, but after trying a number of things for over 30 minutes, it turned out that actually our adapter was faulty and to blame and he then provided us with a working adapter which solved the problem. Regardless, because of our issue and the time it took to resolve it, he offered us an upgraded room and a couple of complimentary drinks to boot. Our stay was delightful, the staff amazing and the food delicious!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
alivia wrote a review Aug 2022
4 contributions2 helpful votes
Had an amazing experience of visiting Afternoon Tea in Lord Mayor’s Lounge with my family. We were warmly welcomed by Maria Spinenco and shown to our table who throughout the whole experience made sure we were enjoying all. Anna took great care of explaining the menu and how the whole experience would be. The atmosphere, service and the food was absolutely amazing 10/10. The cups of tea were always filled up to the top and I really enjoyed trying the summer limited edition teas from the menu. As a desserts lover they were unbelievably mouthwatering. When the whole experience was coming to an end Imelda kindly made sure we were all happy and if we wanted to try another tea before we were leaving. Definitely would recommend visiting Lord Mayors Lounge for Afternoon Tea. Best Afternoon Tea to date! Would definitely be coming back very soon.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
AnnLAWTravel wrote a review Aug 2022
Las Vegas, Nevada16 contributions3 helpful votes
Stayed for 3 nights first stop after arriving in Ireland. Great location but we would never stay here again. Check in: the person checking us in was surprisingly very unpleasant almost made us feel bad we were checking into the hotel. After a long flight was not very welcoming. Room: beware rooms have huge sloping floors. The hallways slope and very low ceilings and floors creak. Very claustrophobic. We were told half of the rooms are like this in the hotel. Fitness center - located next door at the spa. Small and very bad layout. If more then one person working out can not move around the gym. Very strong clorine smell from the pool Dining:Main bar was great! Staff was very friendly. Very fun vibe for a pre dinner or late night drink. Breakfast : Get there early as small buffet area gets very crowded. Late night dinner at the residence lounge was pretty horrible. Staff not very attentive and got our messed up on all dishes.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lucius Farrell, Other at The Shelbourne, Autograph Collection
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear AnnLawTravel, Thank you for providing your feedback following on from your recent stay with us. If you would be so kind as to contact me directly on lucius.farrell@theshelbourne.com so that I may personally look into the concerns you have highlighted. I do apologies for any inconvenience caused and look forward to speaking with you soon. Warm regards, Lucius Farrell
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$418 - $730 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
shelbourne hotel dublin, shelbourne dublin, the shelbourne dublin renaissance hotel, dublin hotel shelbourne
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of LeinsterCounty DublinDublinSouth City Centre
NUMBER OF ROOMS
265
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Shelbourne, Autograph Collection
Which popular attractions are close to The Shelbourne, Autograph Collection?
Nearby attractions include The Little Museum of Dublin (0.1 miles), St Stephens Green (0.2 miles), and Dublin Whiskey Tours (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Shelbourne, Autograph Collection?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Shelbourne, Autograph Collection?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Shelbourne, Autograph Collection?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Shelbourne, Autograph Collection?
Yes, paid private parking nearby and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Shelbourne, Autograph Collection?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Sidecar Bar at The Westbury Hotel, FIRE Steakhouse and Bar, and Davy Byrne's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Shelbourne, Autograph Collection?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does The Shelbourne, Autograph Collection have airport transportation?
Yes, The Shelbourne, Autograph Collection offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is The Shelbourne, Autograph Collection located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Dublin.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Shelbourne, Autograph Collection?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Shelbourne, Autograph Collection offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.