We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Temple Gate Hotel

Show Prices
#2 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Temple Gate Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"]},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

718 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 690: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Friendly, clean and comfortable hotel in famous Temple Bar area. Very good value. Very helpful reception staff. Ask for room on upper floors if you need a quiet night as noise from the downstairs bar goes on until late. The Irish Film Institute is opposite the hotel. I saw a great film there!

Helpful?
Thank Ann W
eau claire, wi
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed here our final night in Ireland and would liken the room to a dorm room. The beds were terrible the towels were terribly thin and worn. The fruit on the "from the buffet" was canned. Although the central location was a plus I would give this hotel a minus 5 if I could. Oh ya and when we... More 

Helpful?
Thank n0t_a_picky_traveler
MarieFaughnan, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear n0t_a_picky_traveler, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent experience at The Temple Gate Hotel. I am happy to note that you found our central location to be a plus. I am however disappointed that you felt we clearly did not meet your expectations on all other aspects of your stay. We did have... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I flew over from the UK for a friend's hen weekend at the hotel recently. I ate in the bar upon my arrival. It was very nice and the service was lovely. In the evening we had a group meal in the restaurant and the food and service was excellent! As it was very hot in the rooms one of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Martina D
MarieFaughnan, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Martina D, What a lovely review! I am delighted that your group enjoyed their visit. I am happy to see that you found the food and service to be excellent and enjoyed your breakfast the next morning. We look forward to seeing you again sometime soon. Regards, Marie Faughnan Operations Manager More 

Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I picked this hotel for our last night in Ireland. With a noon flight leaving from Shannon the next day, we wanted to be close but still have a good last day of walking around and exploring. The Temple Gate Hotel met our wishes to the T. The location in Ennis is right in the center and... More 

Helpful?
Thank LKellyFL
MarieFaughnan, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LKellyFL, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent visit. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that the location met your wishes. We do have a superb location for those wishing to see what Ennis has to offer. With complimentary parking you can leave your car and potter the winding streets... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This may be a "4star" hotel, but the rooms are far from "4star" accommodations. The staff seemed nice enough, although our contact was short/minimal. The smell of must/mold filled the air, the furnishings were sparse and outdated, carpets stained, bathroom dirty. We used an agency to book our stays and requested 4star ratings. We stayed at 4 other hotels prior... More 

Helpful?
Thank KBoyd462
MarieFaughnan, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear KBoyd462, Thank you for posting a review. Clearly we did not meet your expectations on your recent trip. If at your convenience you could make contact with me at 353 65 6823300 or mfaughnan@templegatehotel.com so that I can discuss with you in person please. Regards, Marie Faughnan Operations Manager More 

Kilkenny
Level Contributor
140 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I had the most delicious lunch here while on business in Ennis recently. The atmosphere is perfect for setting up to do some paperwork as it is nice and spacious. I will definitely return if I am in the area.

Helpful?
Thank deekk
MarieFaughnan, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear deekk, Thank you for your recent review. I am delighted you enjoyed your recent lunch with us in Preachers Pub. Preachers is the perfect place to enjoy a bite to eat and you can always catch up on your business with Free WiFi throughout the hotel. I look forward to seeing you again sometime soon. Regards, Marie Faughnan Operations... More 

Toronto
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were booked into this hotel via our tour company and is right in the heart of Ennis, Ireland. It is easily within walking distance of great pubs and restaurants. The room was spacious and clean, friendly staff, free parking and wifi. Unfortunately we were supposed to get free Irish breakfast with our room, however, there was a mixup, and... More 

Helpful?
Thank rosslake
MarieFaughnan, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear rosslake, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay at The Temple Gate Hotel. I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the hotel clean and our staff friendly. My apologies regarding the mix-up on your room reservation and breakfast. I will certainly look into that to... More 

Walnut Creek, CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The comments about the rooms being a bit dated are on target. That said, the staff were very helpful and the location can't be beat. Our room was very clean even though it could use a facelift. As for the need for A/C, we wouldn't know since out of our eight days spent in Ireland, it rained all but one!

Helpful?
Thank Abuela63
MarieFaughnan, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Abuela63, Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at The Temple Gate Hotel. I am happy to see that you found our staff helpful and the location was suitable for your visit. We are working on improvement and upgrade works presently and I do take your feedback on board. Once again thank... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked this hotel after arriving at a property that was so bad we couldn't bring ourselves to stay in it, so done out of desperation at having no where to stay. What a find! Staff were lovely, the room was a bit dated but large and clean. The location is fantastic (although it was a bit hard to find... More 

Helpful?
Thank Teresa G
MarieFaughnan, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Teresa G, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on your recent visit to the Temple Gate Hotel. I am delighted to note that our team was friendly and that you found the location to suit your needs. I am delighted that we could turn around your experience in Ennis and I look forward to welcoming... More 

Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
131 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Time to re-hab the rooms and while you do that you might think about adding AC. Two terrible nights on rock hard beds with full fat pillows and the heat in the room and hallways was too much. Nice location but I would never stay here again until the update.

Helpful?
Thank SuePiazza62
MarieFaughnan, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SuePiazza62, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review regarding your recent stay at The Temple Gate Hotel. I am glad to note that you found our location to suit your needs. I do take on board your comments. The hotel is constantly striving to improve our product for our guests. We have upgrading certain floors to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

129 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (105)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
0.1 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,344 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#4 of 9 in Ennis
4.0 of 5 stars 182 reviews
1.5 mi away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.0 of 5 stars 906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The 4 Star Temple Gate Hotel welcomes you to a charming, family owned and managed Hotel in the heart of Ennis Town, Co. Clare. Offering the perfect location to explore the Wild Atlantic Way and the rugged West Coast of Ireland including The Cliffs of Moher. Temple Gate Hotel, Ennis offers a unique blend of warm hospitality and friendly service. Discreetly situated just off Ennis Town centre, a short walk through the warm glow of the Victorian lamps in the cobblestoned courtyard leads our guests to the heart of the historical and vibrant town of Ennis. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Temple Gate Hotel

Address: The Square, Ennis, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Price Range: $104 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Temple Gate Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Temple Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Temple Gate Ennis
Hotel Temple Gate
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay