We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Clachan Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberfoyle
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Clachan Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

15 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 13: English reviews
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2016 via mobile

Visited this week and have to say we were disappointed. Not one for complaining and having never written a negative review before I feel bad but strongly feel this visit was expensive and just not nice.The lady serving seemed to us to be a bit apathetic to customers? We didn't feel a warm welcome. Might just be us or she... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vicki M
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2016

Popped in here for late lunch while out for the day. Ordered 1 battered fish and chips and 1 special fish and chips. 1 tea and a Diet Coke. £18.60 quite pricey. Food was ok. We've had worse. Sat outside in the seating area, quite pleasant as the sun was shining.

Helpful?
Thank Helen G
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

A stop in Aberfoyle for lunch on Easter Sunday turned out to be more than a little disappointing. Due to time limitations we decided that two panini, one latte and one tea would likely be one of the quicker options. Zzzzzzzzzzz eventually the panini arrived and what a disappointment they were. Both appeared to be well toasted but when opened... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jim J
katybscotland, Manager at Clachan Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, we are sorry to hear of your experience with us, unfortunately on this day we were short of staff due to medical reasons,and 1 trainee on duty.. no excuse though for the lack of filling in your panini or indeed your hot drinks, we most definitely aim to please, but obviously failed on this occasion to which we apologise... More 

Travelers are raving about these Aberfoyle hotels

Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Our tour bus stopped at Aberfoyle for lunch break. There aren't many options to eat. Found this to be a good restaurant for a quick lunch - we had the soup and sandwich combo. It came with salad and chips on the side. Generous meal - overall. Cheerful waitress and nice ambience, the place is filled with antiques on display.

Helpful?
Thank AyeWanderful
katybscotland, Manager at Clachan Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, we are so glad you enjoyed the short time you had with us, please come back soon :) Kind Regards More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Cool furniture and decor. I was in the front window circular table. Had a nice Panini and Latte - properly layered- in the afternoon. Free wifi. Friendly and attentive staff. Great stop for a late lunch. Been here a few times now.

Helpful?
Thank ScotsBiker
katybscotland, Manager at Clachan Hotel, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed...we aim to please...come back soon :-) More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Having spent a weekend here, I would disagree with the comments made by steph111. We found the staff very attentive, obliging (having left my toiletries behind) and courteous. The rooms had everything needed and importantly for us, the bedding was immaculate. The room was good value for money as was the food. In fact, the food was excellent value for... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank avril m
Greenock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Used this hotel for years and never had a bad experience. Staff always friendly and rooms always been clean and fresh. Reccomend to all my friends.

Helpful?
1 Thank Harleybhoy
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

The establishment is under new management. We showed up as tired walkers and they took us in even though the restoration on the rooms is not complete. The breakfast in the morning was incredible and everything we needed was provided. The owners and staff were very friendly. We will definitely be staying here again the next time we are in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Eric M
sandhurst1
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

Clachan restaurant - Only takes cash which is normal for a lot of Scotland now and it is great value. We ate supper for less than £100 for 4 with wine. Having just come back from France it is about 60% cheaper than a poor meal out there. All four of us enjoyed good service fresh food and local fare.... More 

Helpful?
Thank sandhurst1
Dumfries
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2009

Visited during short break in Scotland. Room was basic but clean. male staff were helpful and professional. Restaurant lovely, food good.

Helpful?
Thank TravelguyDumfries
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

6 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberfoyle
0.7 mi away
Rob Roy Hotel
Rob Roy Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberfoyle
3.5 of 5 stars 536 reviews
4.0 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
7.8 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 stars 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
4.5 of 5 stars 575 reviews
0.5 mi away
Corrie Glen Bed & Breakfast
2.1 mi away
Gartmore House
Gartmore House
#3 of 4 in Gartmore
4.0 of 5 stars 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The New Kirk Bistro formerly Clachan Hotel is now under new ownership.We would like to welcome everyone new and old.Bar/Bistro light bites served from 12-5 Evening Meals from 6pm served until 9pmGames Room:duke boxpool tabledart boardetc etcKaraoke/Live Music ... more   less 

Additional Information about Clachan Hotel

Address: 16 Main Street, Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Aberfoyle
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Clachan Hotel Aberfoyle, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing