We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Avonbridge Hotel

Traveler (94)
Room & Suite (36)
Dining (19)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Avonbridge Hotel is located in the historic town of Hamilton, which has a rich and dramatic history. Situated just outside of Glasgow and about 30 minutes from Edinburgh, Hamilton is a major attraction for visitors of Scotland – acting as a calm and rural escape from metropolitan cities. Owned and operated by The Martalo's, The Avonbridge offers all the benefits of a luxury hotel with the passion and intimacy of a family run business. The Apron Brasserie offers all the elements of fine dining in a casual and inviting atmosphere, and our paw friendly Bar Milano offers up the best brunch, and transforms into Hamilton's hottest bar on Friday and Saturday nights with our resident DJ spinning the latest anthems. We invite you to dine, celebrate, and rest your head with us, all while taking in the historic sights of Hamilton, Scotland!
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Room Service
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Business
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
70Somewhat walkable
Grade: 70 out of 100
54Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
8Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
457Reviews
103Photos
8Q+A
69Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 160
  • 139
  • 92
  • 33
  • 33
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I checked in an entered my room noticing two sets of ear plugs greeting me on the bed, this was a first and I wondered why they were there. I then noticed the shabby overall look and feel of the room. The bathroom floor was dirty and someone elses hair adorned the bath. The
Read more
Response from AvonbridgeHotel, Hotel at Avonbridge Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Firstly, please accept our sincere apologies, please be advised that our hotel is currently undergoing some refurbishments to rooms and surrounding areas. The ear plugs in the room are just a little added extra, over the past year our customers have really liked this idea. Our staff here at The Avonbridge are known for their warm, inviting and excellent customer service and we 100% care for all our customers and we aim to ensure their stay is relaxing and enjoyable as possible, I am sorry to hear you did not feel this way. We would like to discuss with yourself further if you can arrange a time to contact the hotel. Many Thanks, Emma
Read more
Bedroom was lovely, high ceilings and nice and clean decor, shower Is good but not great pressure, bed is super comfy and possibly the best hotel pillow ever. Breakfast was a bit poor , the waiter didn’t explain it was buffet service don’t get me wrong you can obviously tell but
Read more
Response from AvonbridgeHotel, Hotel at Avonbridge Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, we are delighted you had a lovely and relaxing stay with us. We are currently making improvements within the hotel and we hope these will reflect on your next visit. We look forward to seeing you in the future. Many Thanks, The Avonbridge
Read more
Having been to this Hotel in the past and had very good service I was looking forward to a family birthday meal. The meal itself was very good but the service was terrible. Long wait for drinks and needed to chase staff to be served only two people serving in main restaurant on
Read more
Response from AvonbridgeHotel, Hotel at Avonbridge Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We apologise that you felt you did not receive satisfactory customer service on your visit, this is very unusual practice from our staff, however your comments have been taken on board. We hope to see you again in the future. Many Thanks, The Avonbridge
Read more
Our family Dined at the Apron in the Avonbridge for my Daughter’s Birthday. Group of 8 of mixed ages enjoyed a great meal. The was something on the menu for all from 6 to 66. The staff were friendly and attentive, taking drinks orders as we arrived and allowing us time to
Read more
Response from AvonbridgeHotel, Hotel at Avonbridge Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent visit with us. We are delighted you had such an enjoyable meal and the service you received was excellent. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind Regards, The Avonbridge
Read more
+2
My wife and I went to the Avonbridge for an anniversary meal. Although we had not booked, we were welcomed and seated without delay. The restaurant became busy but at no time was there a delay in serving us. The Lunch Menu allowed us to choose 3 courses plus coffee. My wife had
Read more
Response from AvonbridgeHotel, Hotel at Avonbridge Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for sharing such positive feedback on your recent visit with us. We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable lunch and the images show the high quality and standard of food we provide. Our staff work tremendously to ensure you have the best possible experience here at The Avonbridge. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Many Thanks, The Avonbridge
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuiteDining Business Center & Event Rooms
nice bed
shower head
The bath water
PreviousNext
1234568
What are the check in times ?
2pm but as I was going to a wedding in the Avonbridge they made the room available at 12.30pm. I couldn't have asked for better service.
1 vote
Show all answers
Hi Breakfast was early so if youre on business you will be able to eat. Nice selection too. We were in a front room and it was huge. The others had smaller rooms but not too cramped but not as big as a travel lodge. The wi fi worked for all of us so no big issue. All our rooms had jacuzzi baths and showers, a quirky touch. The staff are really friendly so I am sure you will not have too much to write about. Hope tgis helps. :-)
1 vote
Show all answers
Are all rooms en suite?
Yes all ensuite
1 vote
Show all answers
What time is breakfast at?
8 till 10
0 votes
What time is check out?
It's 7.15 to 9.15am . One of the best breakfasts I've had !
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
12
"cannot comment as my room was selected by tour operator"
"All rooms lovely"
"our room to the rear was very quiet"
"Take you own face cloths and ask for ground floor room."
"Ask to stay in the main hotel"
PreviousNext
12345614
PRICE RANGE
$87 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the avonbridge hotel hamiltonavonbridge hotel hamilton
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandHamilton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
65
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing