We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Western House Hotel

Show Prices
#2 of 18 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Western House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

730 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 719: English reviews
Start your review of Western House Hotel
 Click to rate
United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Good hotel, clean and tidy. Food good but breakfast could do with less burning Wifi /internet might be free but can't even use it to check in online for a flight needs some improvement. 4g mobile data is quicker Overall not bad for price

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 2000MB
Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a great time at this hotel, our room was fantastic situated in the annexed courtyard building, it was very spacious, had a very large comfortable bed and with all the little extras included such as dressing gowns, slippers, bottled water, fresh fruit and home-made shortbread, it certainly was value for money. We requested a room with a shower...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nipper0000
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon nipper0000 Thank you for leaving such a great review. I am really pleased to read that you enjoyed our hotel and that the staff looked after you. It's great to see that the guys managed to get you a wee glass of bubbles and the dessert plate out. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel....

Hampshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a lovely time at the Western House hotel ,the staff were all very friendly and professional.The rooms were very pleasant and comfortable,the hotel was warm and cozy.I would definitely recommend this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank loganhousehold7
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning loganhousehold7. Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on your stay with us. I am pleased to see that the hotel, staff and service all met your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back again. Thanks for the recommendation. Kind regards Gary White Hotel General Manager

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

My partner and I had a one night stay here very recently. It is a beautiful hotel inside the older part. Although we had a room in the Courtyard area which is newer the room was large with a huge bed (but still loads of room in it!). All the wee touches you would expect from 4star including hot chocolate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mojo049
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning mojo049 Thank you for such a fantastic review. I am really pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the bedroom, service and food was all up to your expectations. We believe that the staff are our prize asset and it's great to see that they've made you feel right at home. We look...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I had a very enjoyable one night stay here. We had booked a deluxe room in the main hotel which did not disappoint. It was a lovely spacious room with a beautiful big bathroom. It was very clean with everything you could want including robes and slippers. We asked for a dvd player which was brought to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MissT2012
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon MissT2012 Thank you for leaving a review regarding your visit to our hotel. I am glad to read that you enjoyed the hotel, but disappointed to learn of your poor standard of service at breakfast. I will inform our Chef and Operations Team and try to get to the bottom of this. We hope to see you again,...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Everything good as what I expected. My husband & me came here for business and we are staying here for 6 nights. We were welcomed by the staff. Booked room & full Scottish breakfast and the price for it is really reasonable and all worth. I especially love the nice scenery in this hotel area. Do refer some of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nasiewvoon
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon nasiewvoon Thank you for the wonderful review and the great photographs you manged to take of our hotel and grounds. It's great to see that you enjoyed your visit to our hotel and we hope to see you again if you are in the vicinity for business. Kind regards, Gary White Hotel General Manager

Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

One night stay and wasn't disappointed. For the money we paid got a fantastic dinner and breakfast and the room didn't let us down. Will be coming back here again. Staff are so helpful and cant do enough for you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bryan M
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning Bryan M Thank you for the fantastic review. I am really please that you enjoyed our hotel and that the guys looked after you and made you feel at home. Also great to read about breakfast and dinner being fantastic. We look forward to welcoming you back to Western House Hotel. Kind regards, Gary White Hotel General Manager

Pitlochry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we booked the hotel for a weekend away and what a fantastic establishment, staff with a cando attitude - nothing too big nothing too small, the jockey club restaurant was excellent, meal was brilliant served by very knowledgeable staff who wished to make your stay as good as they could. The only glitch was the 50 metre walk from a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ch00chter
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning ch00chter I am really pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit to Western House Hotel an that you were well looked after by our team. We try our best to ensure our guests have the best experience and feel at home. We hope to see you again in the near future. Kind regards, Gary White Hotel General...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

First time staying over. Well worth the money and the experience. Staff very friendly and helpful with excellent facilities and service.Food excellent would definitely recommend the restaurant food well presented. Overall great stay would definitely recommend to others to try won't be disappointed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sam M
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning Sam M Thank you for the absolutely marvellous review. We aim to provide excellent service and value for money and i am glad to see that this is exactly what you have experienced. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Gary White Hotel General Manager

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went there for a celebratory lunch. The menu had a good range of choices and the various dishes we consumed were all of a high standard. From the moment we entered the premises we were handled by polite, pleasant and attentive staff. The premises are attractively furnished and decorated. The whole ambiance is good. This is a place with charm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suntravellers65
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning Suntravellers65 Thank you for the fantastic review and i am really pleased to see that you enjoyed the quality of service and food, as well as the ambience. We hope to see you again here at Western House Hotel. Kind regards Gary White Hotel General Manager

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

279 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (159)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (77)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (120)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (28)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayr
1.1 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 18 in Ayr
816 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Carrick Lodge Hotel
0.8 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#15 of 18 in Ayr
634 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#3 of 6 in Troon
1,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
The Jockey Club
The Jockey Club
Cuisines: British, European, Scottish
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
An award-winning 4 Star hotel located in Ayrshire, 5 minutes drive from Prestwick International Airport and with easy links by rail and road to Glasgow and Edinburgh city centre. The hotel, set in mature landscaped gardens, offers executive bedrooms and suites in the main house, and well appointed modern courtyard rooms. The AA rosette Jockey Club Restaurant offers an excellent dining experience using a high quality local produce prepared by our executive head chef.The hotel is an excellent venue for Meetings & Events and is the ideal base for both business and leisure guests. With free on site parking for over 250 cars and complimentary wifi.Western House is an ideal base for exploring the surrounding areas with many shops and golf courses nearby. Burns Country, Culzean Castle, and the Isle of Arran are within easy travelling distance. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Western House Hotel

Address: Western House 66 Craigie Road, Ayr KA8 0HA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Price Range: $67 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Western House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR and Travelocity so you can book your Western House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Hotel Ayr
Western House Hotel Ayr, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ayr
#4 Business Hotel in Ayr
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Western House Hotel staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Western House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Room 323 which is in top floor of courtyard rooms for view of racecourse.”
 of 5 bubbles mojo049, 1 week ago | Read review
“Best to reserve in advance”
 of 5 bubbles Suntravellers65, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Hotel rooms are probably nicer but courtyard rooms offer comfort and value”
 of 5 bubbles nedthewonderhorse, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Book for New year early.Its extremely popular”
 of 5 bubbles 779mickr, Jan 3, 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in Hotel preferred to rooms in Courtyard.”
 of 5 bubbles 647andys, Jan 1, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question