We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Horizon Hotel

#9 of 19 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Esplanade, Ayr KA7 1DT, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Horizon Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"]},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

354 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 352: English reviews
Beith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just spent 3 nights wit my dog. Front of house gorgeous, location perfect, staff super friendly and helpful and best food I've ever eaten in a hotel. BUT rooms a bit grim. I'm only 4'11" and I couldn't sit on loo as no space so had to perch sideways. Given I've recently had total knee replacement surgery this was a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ElaineandCaley
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

room,no view because of exterior pot plants,staff not over friendly,in the online booking it said plenty of free parking,we had to park in the council carpark the other side of the road.noise coming from upstairs or the sharing wall to next door.noisy floor boards

Helpful?
Thank MALCOLM M
Tracey C, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Malcolm. Thank you for your review of the hotel. I am glad you enjoyed the breakfast and as previous reviews we have always prided our self on the fact our staff are friendly but not intrusive on you at dining times. The room you were allocated by booking.com was on the ground floor with the gardens outside, if... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2016 via mobile

Room was very tired and very small ,the shower was a absolute joke and no toiletries .the food was excellent breakfast fab ,the old part of the hotel needs refurbished but new part is lovely .the hotel is lovely situated on the seafront .the staff are very plesant nothing is a problem .all in all we enjoyed our stay

Helpful?
1 Thank Mavis C
Tracey C, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad you had an enjoyable 3 days stay. All rooms have toiletries put in them everyday by housekeeping, it is never a problem to ask for more and we will get them to you, we provide enough for the amount of people in each room.If you visit reception we can get any issues... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2016

At £100 for the night we expected more. The directions to the room were hard to follow, but we got there eventually. Although very warm, the attic room was acceptable. It was mainly the toilet that let the hotel down. A cover was missing from the hot tap, the soap dispenser was grubby, there is not shower screen just a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Susan B
Tracey C, Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Susan, Thank you for taking time to send your review. We were sorry to hear your visit was less than perfect and have taken on board all your comments. Our maintenance man is currently working on the bathroom to correct the faults you raised. Thank you again for staying with us. Kind Regards Elizabeth More 

Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2016

Room is just okay, got a good enough sleep, Burger was lovely Asked manager to accept a delivery from Parcelforce he agreed, when he came he refused and when i showed up he accused me of being involved in illegal activity LOL Such a serious nature for a manager of a hotel to have his Smile is FAKE! Imagine calling... More 

Helpful?
Thank adamscotland
Tracey C, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Black Firstly let me introduce myself i am Tracey the General Manager of the Hotel. The Person you dealt with was in actual fact the owner of the Hotel and indeed his nature is that of very serious where his hotel is concerned. Firstly you stayed one night and on my return to work the next day found... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2016 via mobile

Couldn't fault this hotel or the staff.. A perfect day from start to finish. Meal was absolutely delish. Staff friendly & so helpful. We had a family room in the Attic which was adequate with a stunning view of the beach. Relaxed atmosphere. Would definitely recommend to others.

Helpful?
1 Thank suzyqallan
Tracey C, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Thank you for your kind review of the hotel. so glad to see you enjoyed your family wedding that weekend and we work hard as a team to ensure all our guests are looked after and have a great time. Hope to see you again soon. kind regards tracey More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2016 via mobile

Good hotel on Sea front. Fresh and clean. Unfortunately the shower was very week in pressure. I like my window open at night but as window was facing into the car park the smell of cigarette smoke was not an enjoyable park of my stay,neither was waiting a good 25 minutes for my breakfast when there was only one other... More 

Helpful?
Thank 11864
Tracey C, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review

Good Evening Thank you for your review. I am sorry to see that there were a few issues with your stay, the pressure of the showers as you can appreciate having a 25 roomed hotel at times is low due to the volume of water being used.The hotel has a beer garden for our smokers to enjoy as the Hotel... More 

ayr
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2016

We had our wedding there last weekend, and almost took over all the rooms with our guests staying, many for 2 or 3 nights, so apologies to other guests! Some were quite amused in the lounge when I was changing into my wellies to go for some photos on the beach! Absolutely no complaints, the wedding went like a dream,... More 

Helpful?
Thank hrfrosie
Tracey C, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review

Good Evening Newlyweds. Well what can i say a perfect review from you both and i am so glad to hear your day was everything you dreamed of. I am so glad that all your guests had a wonderful time at the hotel and everyone was enjoying themselves. The team work hard to ensure your day goes smoothly and i... More 

North Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2016

Paid £100 for one night and was absolutely disappointed by the room. Attended a wedding and thought it would be a good idea to stay over, how wrong we were. After climbing a maze of stair wells we managed to find our room, top floor attic, we we got into the room we were both unable to stand up straight,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Beverley G
Tracey C, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon Mr & Mrs Grant Thank you for your review on Trip Adviser. We take all reviews seriously on our page. I am sorry you were disappointed with your room. As the owner had spoken with you on Saturday he had explained that your booking was made through booking.com to which they allocate a double room to you automatically... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2016

room was fine for a family. not too grand so no worries about breaking anything. staff welcoming to children. the hotel is right next to the excellent free swing park and the beach. easy walking distance for food.

Helpful?
Thank Ellen M
Tracey C, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad that your family enjoyed there time with us. Hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Tracey More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

58 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayr hotels
0.5 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 19 in Ayr
4.5 of 5 stars 748 reviews
0.9 mi away
Western House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel
0.4 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#15 of 19 in Ayr
3.5 of 5 stars 576 reviews
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Ayr/Prestwick Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Horizon Hotel is the ideal location and a popular venue for holidays, short breaks, and activities, weddings and business functions.Offering quality and affordability, the Horizon Hotel is an award winning three star Scottish Hotel providing Scottish hospitality, and friendly efficient service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Horizon Hotel

Address: Esplanade, Ayr KA7 1DT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Price Range: $104 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Horizon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Horizon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Hotel Ayr, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ayr
#9 Family Hotel in Ayr
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay