We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

810 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 807: English reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2014

There was not many staff around the entrance desk when you needed your key. We did not find the staff as friendly as we thought on arrival. The room was okay but needs renovated. The bathroom was clean but the actual toilet was noticeably dirty at the rim underneath. I did notice that the girl who cleaned the toilet the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda P
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, a mixed review and certainly something for us to think about.... we have recorded a few 'three star' reviews of late which is concerning. I am still confident in all of us to sort out any wee issues that have cropped up and expect to turn a corner very soon. Apologies for the misunderstanding with supplement food in the...

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 4, 2014

My partner and I, for the first time, went on a coach trip with Shearings. I thought that being a lot younger than most of the patrons, it would be awfully boring, but I have to say, hats off to the coach driver who kept everyone entertained with his local knowledge and jokes. We were picked up at a local...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helene2507
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there and thanks for the review, I think your stay was a little while ago as you mention 'in house' credit which happens only in the winter months. It's a bit of a mixed review but I think considering it was your first coach holiday we ticked a few boxes but not them all ! I have taken on...

crawley
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stayed for 5 nights and on the whole was comfortable and clean. Food maybe could be a bit better but was not the worst I have tasted. The manager of the restaurant was the star and at least had some personality,unfortunately the rest of the staff although polite and efficient lacked a bit of sparkle even the reception staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CrawleyNandp
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there, well it has been an awful long time since we were accused of lacking personality. I think if you had just stayed the night and felt that way then, as you have said, that could of been down to a busy day etc but as you stayed for longer and still felt like this then I have to...

Rochester, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Stayed at The Hydro Hotel for 4 nights, was given room 210, which turned out to be a large corner suite of rooms, which was furnished well, and very light, with great views of the local Mountains and hills etc.Staff all very helpful, as I walk with a stick, so sometimes appreciate a little extra help. Manager Christopher Stanton, was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Hello there and it was lovely meeting you and I am really pleased you enjoyed your break with us. As ever the staff are pleased you mentioned them and in particular Sonia and Frank who were singled out. As you are very familiar with our product and what it is we try to achieve at all our establishments your comments...

Launceston, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Spent 4 days at the Hydro last week. For the most part we were very satisfied. We upgraded to a superior twin room with a view. The room was beautifully decorated (I love green!), and spotless. It is a little cramped for a superior twin - only one bedside table, crammed between the beds and thus only one reading light...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank r_davies588
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thanks for taking the time to review us. Firstly, we do have a twin superior at the back of house so let us know when you book next time. Otherwise there was lots of positives and I am glad you mentioned them. The staff are always pleased to read that they are appreciated and recognised for the fantastic...

Nenagh, Ireland
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Just off the A9 we decided to break our journey to Elgin. For us of limited mobility request a room or the ground floor, or the lift goes up to the 2nd and third floor. we were put on the first floor, "stairs", which I just about managed. The room was well appointed but it needs a bit of sound...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Simon904
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there and thanks for the review. I'm glad we provided you with a nice place to break your journey heading north and you were comfortable. Hopefully you will come again and don't forget your swimming outfits this time.... we have a lovely facility that is there to be taken advantage of. Best Regards Chris Stanton GM

The Tyne
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We visited the Hydro 18th to 23rd May 2014, this time we found the ground floor and entrance very neat and tidy and well decorated. The great majority of the staff had changed and all, apart from one or two, were very friendly and helpful - particularly in the dining room. Accommodation was comfortable but in need of refurbishment (wall...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheTyneGeordie
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, well a slightly mixed review but more compliments than criticisms. I have a man who goes around this building like a man possessed trying to maintain the fabric of it....he has now sorted the peeling wallpaper as we hadn't noticed it. Hopefully, if you come again, we can try and deliver enough for a four star review. Regards Chris...

Kent
Reviewed May 17, 2014

I have visited this hotel with my husband for a few years now. The staff really make it special for us, the food is good and we like the superior room and enjoy a swim in the pool. It's in a lovely central location. My husband likes a friendly chat with the barman who is from Europe I think. We...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank hapytravel
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, and thanks for a lovely balanced review which has cheered us all up. Elaine at reception has been welcoming guests here in the same fashion for many years....and I hope to squeeze a couple more out of her before she calls it a day. For what seems like a very long time I have set us all the challenge...

Ross-on-wye
Reviewed May 8, 2014

My wife and I were on a two night package of dinner, bed & breakfast, amazing value, We had a very big ground floor room with a big bathroom and a very good shower with plenty of hot water. Our room was very clean and we were adjacent to the good indoor swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi. The food we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank StuartRoss-on-Wye
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thanks, just what we needed ! I think we are a three star Hotel punching above our weight with the standards we have and the service we offer. For you to pick up the things you have done and compliment us in the way you have means an awful lot. Hope to see you again up here in...

Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 5, 2014

This was our first time staying in the hydro....location was great and lovely surroundings. We were upgraded to a premier room from a superior which was great. The only issue was the shower was really bad....just a spray! Had a great night sleep, very comfortable bed. The reception areas are lovely and staff friendly. However the worst part of our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GandC84
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and I'm sorry I'm responding to the second negative review on the trot......not where we want to be at all. My personal feelings on our food are that we have nearly a thousand bed nights every week and record very few issues. I recognise and appreciate that it is not up everyone's street but I believe the quality is...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

176 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (167)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.5 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,683 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,683 reviews
0.2 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,531 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,119 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just ten minutes walk from the town centre, the historic and recently refurbished Pitlochry Hydro Hotel overlooks the town of Pitlochry itself. The Pitlochry Hydro hotel offers an excellent range of facilities for visitors, including a modern, well-equipped gym and heated indoor swimming pool. The hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. Pitlochry is a superb base for walkers. Ben Vrackie towers above the town, and the Cairngorm Massif is close by to the North. Loch Tummel and Loch Rannoch are also easily explored using the hotel as a base. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel

Address: Knockard Road, Pitlochry PH16 5JH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Price Range: $111 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, HRS, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel Scotland
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel staff and other travelers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“go to another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles S786YQianr, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Higher rooms have best view”
 of 5 bubbles 496mayh, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“The hotel is on the top of a hill in it's own grounds so most rooms have a nice view.”
 of 5 bubbles redfeathers2015, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“ask for a refurbished room”
 of 5 bubbles simmy, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Room 116 great scenic views pay extra”
 of 5 bubbles lyndsay0, 4 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question