We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Fasganeoin Country House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pitlochry
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Fasganeoin Country House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

39 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 26: English reviews
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Step back to an earlier era. However, absolutely not in a bad way, but to a time when the world was slower, simpler and more civilised. Great for a break away from the stresses of modern life. Hosts absolutely magnificent, and the House itself was immaculate. Expected Queen Victoria and her Scottish servant John Brown to appear at any time!... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tomgee99
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
61 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights, and had a fine time. Service and hospitality is excellent, and the well travelled host is most helpful with tips for local sightseeing and stories from his own exploits into the Boreal wilderness of Northern Norway in the seventies when gravel was wet an tarmac was for soft southern folk.

Helpful?
Thank lojosang
Fasganeoin, Owner at Fasganeoin Country House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our Country House. We are very glad that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to be able to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards More 

Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2016

Stayed here last month for the Etape, really only required a bed for the night, somewhere near to Pitlochry. My start time was at 06:30 so was trying to work out what I could take with me for a breakfast as did not expect to get anything made for me. Called a few days before and was amazed to hear... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alan M
Fasganeoin, Owner at Fasganeoin Country House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for writing such a lovely review and taking the time to give your thoughts on our Country House. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that the Etape was a success for you. We look forward to being able to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2016

Loved my stay here back in 2013 (not 2015 as the date says, sorry)! :) Owners were very helpful and told amazing stories about Scotland. Breakfast was delicious, my room had a gorgeous view of the gardens, and I got to explore Pitlochry while there based on the recommendations provided.

Helpful?
Thank empressem
Fasganeoin, Owner at Fasganeoin Country House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review. We always appreciate it and it means a lot when our guests enjoy their stay. I am very glad that you were able to do some exploring around the town and local area while you were here - there is a lot to offer and some... More 

Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Fasganeoin Country House. I had planned to stay here for one night, but i thrived so well I decided to extend my stay for another night. The hotel is situated in lovely surroundings, the room was spaceous and clean and the breakfast was just awesome! The hosts are really welcoming and always had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marita S
Fasganeoin, Owner at Fasganeoin Country House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. It was so nice to have you with us and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much. We would be very happy to welcome you back at some point. You have made Norway very appealing for us as well! Kind regards More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2015

Of all the B&Bs we stayed in this was one of the most traditional. The room was comfortable, it overlooked the garden, with a big bed and a smallish but perfectly adequate bathroom. Our host was very welcoming and recommended that we should visit Applecross in Wester Ross, which was very good advice.

Helpful?
Thank nick86235
Fasganeoin, Owner at Fasganeoin Country House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. It was very nice to have you stay with us and pleased that you enjoyed it. We are glad that your trip to Applecross was as memorable as we had hoped it would be for you. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back again in the future, and can offer... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2015

My husband and I arrived last Sunday, the reception area alone smealt musty and stale and just not nice at all, room, well, blankets, lumpy bed, no onsuite, again, i am not too proud, but i have to admit it was dirty, we stayed all of 30 minuites, went out found rooms elswhere and went back for luggage and could... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Annette W
Fasganeoin, Owner at Fasganeoin Country House, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting a review. It is a pity that you did not feel that you could speak to us about your grievances before you left, as we did not even realise that you had left the house. You booked the room via our online booking system which does specifically state that the type of room which was booked... More 

Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2015

I can not recommend this lovely gem of bed and breakfast enough. As I am a kind of local I passed this Bed and Breakfast several times. My future parents in law got me and my fiancée a night off by offering to babysit our little one and we booked ourself into this lovely place. First of all this is... More 

Helpful?
Thank PetalG29
Fasganeoin, Owner at Fasganeoin Country House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for writing such a nice review. It was lovely to have you with us and are so pleased that you enjoyed it enough to book your family in for your wedding. We are very much looking forward to welcome them to Fasganeoin and hope that you have the most marvelous day. Very best wishes. More 

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2015

despite stating "delicious home baking", breakfast consisted of canned orange juice, store-bought hamburger buns - not a scone, croissant or fresh bread in sight. When we asked for fresh fruit, the gentleman said that nobody serves fresh fruit for breakfast in Scotland. I guess he has not been to other B&Bs. Do not expect a B&B experience. Thin, scratchy towels... More 

Helpful?
Thank BJS116
Fasganeoin, Owner at Fasganeoin Country House, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting a review of our Country House. I apologise that your stay was not what you expected but our old-fashioned house is not for everyone. The breakfast menu offers a good choice of cereals, cooked options and beverages. The fruit juices are fresh (but yes, from a carton). The rolls are fresh morning rolls which, as you... More 

Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2015

We stayed in Fasganeoin Country House having decided to stay in Pitlochry for the night. Norbert, the host - what a character of a man. He had us laughing with his anecdotes and made us feel very welcome. It is a lovely house, in a traditional style. The room was pleasant, with a good shower. The towels were a little... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sandra S
Fasganeoin, Owner at Fasganeoin Country House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review of Fasganeoin. I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay and found plenty to do in the area. Norbert can certainly talk and is full of excellent stories about the area, things to see and places to go. I agree that the towels may not have been up to our usual... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.5 mi away
Knockendarroch House Hotel
Knockendarroch House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Pitlochry
5.0 of 5 stars 710 reviews
0.6 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#19 of 21 in Pitlochry
3.5 of 5 stars 1,445 reviews
0.5 mi away
Carra Beag Guest House
Carra Beag Guest House
#36 of 67 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 stars 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ellangowan House
Ellangowan House
#27 of 67 in Pitlochry
5.0 of 5 stars 74 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dalshian Guest House
Dalshian Guest House
#9 of 67 in Pitlochry
5.0 of 5 stars 367 reviews
1.2 mi away
Benvrackie
Benvrackie
#15 of 67 in Pitlochry
5.0 of 5 stars 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Open from Mid-March to late October, Fasganeoin is an ideal choice for a holiday in the highlands. A warm and friendly atmosphere is the essence of our small hotel which is full of old fashioned charm and character. The hotel stands in one acre of mature grounds overlooking The Tummel Valley and hills beyond. The house is of special interest to Japanese. It is the house of architect Thomas Renny, whose great friend was 'Souseki Natsume' the great poet.(Renny was also a timber merchantto Japan & Russia in the 1800's with a fleet of ships in port Glasgow). Renny died in 1899. We have 8 individually furnished letting bedrooms with hospitality tray and hairdryer in each. Relax in our peaceful lounge overlooking the garden with a coffee and home-baking. Weather permitting, we are happy to serve you outside in the garden, if you wish. We offer secure private parking and a lock-up bicycle shed is available for our guests' use. We speak German fluently (Recommended in German publication : Baedeker Guide) We have cared for 'Fasganeoin' for over 40 years. Small groups welcome for hill walking. First hand information of hill and surrounding area walks given. We are featured in 'The Hidden Places of Scotland' by Travel Publishing Ltd on page 510. We look forward to be able to welcome you to "Fasganeoin." ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fasganeoin Country House

Address: Perth Road, Pitlochry PH16 5DJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Fasganeoin Country House Pitlochry, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing