We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Chase The Wild Goose Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Chase The Wild Goose Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

176 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 156: English reviews
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It's clean and well located. Many bathrooms that's very convinient for 8 beds room.Perso Unfortunately mattress are bad, bed narrow and rooms too small for 8 people . We suffocate! The breakfast is acceptable.

Helpful?
Thank sabk20
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Friendly & knowledgeable staff, sparkly bathrooms, and a fully stocked kitchen. Hostel accommodation with a view of Ben Nevis, if you are lucky enough to booked a bed in Iona! Good quality, hostel accommodation. It isn't the Ritz, be prepared to share a room with fellow intrepid travellers and spend the evening swapping stories over a pint at The Lochy... More 

Helpful?
Thank Violet Merlin
Ramatuelle, France
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A couple miles NE from Fort William, this seemed to us an affordable option for the final night on having walked the West Highland Way. And there, was just the problem, a couple miles NE, not a issue for people with a vehicle but a bit out of the way for hikers, although to be fair, after having reached our... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank pgueno_237941
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My whole experience with chase the goose hostel was a disgrace from the moment I arrived to the moment we left. Terrible service from the staff there, the place was run down with a horrible smell through out. The rooms were unclean and untidy simply not fit for a person to stay in. After making the staff aware of my... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Amy R
HighlandGoose, General Manager at Chase The Wild Goose Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our hostel. We do value all feedback, good or bad. Our hostel staff don't have any recollection of your complaint and we have no record of you requesting a refund. If you are able to provide some detail we shall investigate further. Backpackers hostel accommodation is what we offer and we do our best to meet... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have never been in an hostel before. I came to fort William to do the marathon on the Sunday. After a seven hour drive it was great to get my head down in the goose. It was very friendly by staff and other guests. It was clean and well looked after. I would stay there again anytime.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank dteedo_628413
Dresden, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I really liked stayig at this small but very clean hostel. I really enjoyed the common kitchen area with fridge and the modern and private bathrooms in the hall. Very recommendable, only downside: a bit off downtown located but easily and frequently reached with the local bus.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank rina413
Liverpool
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2016

Myself and four friends were visiting Fort William to climb Ben Nevis. Due to us having a six hour drive to get there we decided we needed somewhere to stay for two nights over the weekend. The hostel is located a five to ten minute drive from Fort William and Ben Nevis' starting point for the tourist route. I have... More 

Helpful?
Thank clndnlrxtn
HighlandGoose, General Manager at Chase The Wild Goose Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your 4 star review. You have summed up with surprising accuracy what it's like staying in a hostel. There are over 200 across Scotland and each offers a similar yet at the same time unique experience. Good value for money is key, and there's the meeting of fellow travellers (through life as well as geographically) which enhances... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2016

I found the hostel very comfortable, clean and roomy in spite of it was a little bit far from the centre of Fort William (nevertheless there were a lot buses which connect Banavie from main streets).. The standard was a bit more high respect to others hostel where I have slept in my life. Even the breakfast offered a wide... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank chiarauk2016
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2016

The room and bathrooms were nice and clean. Overall was very quiet which was perfect as we were up early for Ben Nevis. The man on reception was very nice, and there's a great pub 5 minutes walk down the canal. Was very nice all round.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 417owens
Aptos, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2016

We were unaware that the check- in time was 5 pm; not certain that it was specified in our email communications with the hostel. The breakfast was disappointing for what is charged. The 2nd morning there was no butter and very little milk. The web page makes the breakfast look far better than it is actually presented. There were no... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank J9697EDstevem
HighlandGoose, Manager at Chase The Wild Goose Hostel, responded to this review

We're sorry you misunderstood our Arrival Time. We are a small hostel in the Scottish Highlands, so Reception cannot be manned 24/7. It is open from 5:00 pm after staff time off... We tell all our guests about Reception Times at the top of our email booking confirmation. We accept Breakfast could have been better presented and more food could... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
2.0 mi away
Bank Street Lodge
Bank Street Lodge
#14 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 stars 192 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
4.0 of 5 stars 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#6 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 stars 707 reviews
1.9 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 stars 842 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#13 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 stars 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
You can now enjoy a FREE Breakfast and FREE Wi-Fi at this fantastic hostel near Ben Nevis. Great accommodation for walkers, climbers, backpackers and families. Enjoy a break to the Scottish Highlands. Be inspired by fantastic views of Ben Nevis. Take an evening walk along the banks of the Caledonian Canal and Neptune's Staircase. Above all, share your experiences with like-minded travelers. Quality hostel accommodation sleeping 42. Meals available nearby, with kitchen facilities in-house. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chase The Wild Goose Hostel

Address: Banavie house | Lochiel Crescent, Banavie, Fort William PH33 7LZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Price Range: $24 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Chase The Wild Goose Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Chase The Wild Goose Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chase The Wild Goose Hostel Fort William, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay