We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Torlundy, Fort William PH33 6SN Scotland
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Travelocity
Priceline
Destinia.com
Trip.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (886)
Room & Suite (397)
Dining (155)

About

#3 of 20 hotels in Fort William
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.6
Value
4.0
Welcome to Inverlochy Castle Hotel and Restaurant, Fort William, Scotland.Inverlochy is Scotland's finest luxury hotel and restaurant uniquely located amongst the glens, lochs and mountains of the West Highlands of Scotland.At Inverlochy you will experience one of the most relaxing and exciting vacations of a lifetime, where every detail for your comfort and enjoyment has been carefully considered.Rooms & ReservationsEach of the 17 bedrooms, all with private bathroom, have their own individual design and character, along with splendid views of the grounds and surrounding mountains. Room facilities include 30 inch Phillips mirror televisions, personal laptop computer with internet access, personal safe, cd player, radio, iron/ironing board. DVD player and video player as well as Playstation II available upon request.Below are small images of our rooms at Inverlochy. By clicking on the images you will be taken to a page with a 360°, interactive image of the entire room. This allows you to capture the unique atmosphere of our very individual rooms and make the choice of which of our luxury rooms you would like to reserve.Dining at InverlochyDinner at Inverlochy is an experience to savour in any of our three dining rooms, each decorated with period and elaborate furniture presented as gifts to Inverlochy Castle from the King of Norway.Dining at InverlochyDinner at Inverlochy is an experience to savour in any of our three dining rooms, each decorated with period and elaborate furniture presented as gifts to Inverlochy Castle from the King of Norway.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Game room
Fishing
Babysitting
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Valet parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Video game console
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Desk
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, French
919Reviews14Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 678
  • 135
  • 45
  • 28
  • 33
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
456alanf wrote a review Sep 2022
Potters Bar, United Kingdom99 contributions9 helpful votes
I originally booked for two nights, but extended it to three nights due to the rail dispute. The first thing that struck me about this hotel was its stunning location and tranquil gardens. I had the tasting menu on three consecutive evenings, and it was different on each occasion, and I had the two flights of wines on offer on two evenings. I had a problem with Wi-fi reception in my room, and that was attended to promptly. I couldn’t fault the food, and wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this hotel to friends looking to book a luxury hotel in Scotland.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Check about Wi-fi reception in advance
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
John L wrote a review Sep 2022
Bannalec, France17 contributions6 helpful votes
We decided to go to the Iverlochy Castle restaurant to experience the delights of the Michel Roux Jnr Tasting Menu called Seasgair. We were given no advanced notice of the contents of the menu, nor were we asked if we had any dislikes. We had been to Tommy Bank’s Restaurant at Oldstead and they made specific attention to ensuring you had no dislikes so that they could adapt the menu to your likes – even thought the theme was standard. No attempt was made at the Inverlochy. The meal started with canopies of which one was salmon. So we were shocked to see that one of the courses was also salmon. On the lobster course and on the salmon course we were served “neeps” on both courses - so we had to taste this twice as well. The lobster was literally inedible – it could not be cut and it is difficult to believe that watching Michel Roux on television that he would allow this to leave the kitchen – but they did obviously without testing the products. The initial course was a celebration of beetroot but it was tasteless, and to add insult to injury we found beetroot on another of the courses. We were served a pre-desert that was a sorbet – in most restaurants this would be served as a pallet cleanser and not as an actual course The desert was a millionaires shortbread that had the caramel served as a gellatine slab – which was supposed to be the caramel - again it tasted of absolutely nothing and I could not understand how they had the nerve to serve this as a desert. So what did all of this cost - £125 per person. We did get £30 per person refunded because we complained about the lobster – but how many times can you complain!! We made comments on the different courses but most of this was brushed aside I believe in embarrassment. As already stated we had been to Tommy Bank’s restaurant several nights before for a tasting menu and we were served a culinary treat. I would hope that Michel Roux gets to read this himself because he should be ashamed of the food that was served up in his name
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jane Watson, General Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your post on your recent dinner at Inverlochy Castle. As expressed previously we are truly sorry that this did not meet your standard and agree completely with you on the lobster dish, something that we have of course addressed internally and with our suppliers. For clarity, we do not repeat ingredients throughout our menu, with the exception of possibly on occasion there may be a canape ingredient that features on both. Beetroot and neeps, only appear once throughout this menu and in fact it is the only time, they appear in any of our menus, I am genuinely surprised by this comment. It is something I have never seen occur and of course followed this up with chef as well. Our menu is a set menu, and we do have this clear on our website and any communication. We also ensure to ask guests to make us aware of dietaries or allergies and while it is not possible to cater for individual simple preferences, should a guest highlight in advance a strong dislike for something we would always do our upmost to accommodate this request. I can assure you that we are certainly not embarrassed by the food, and in fact extremely proud of what we offer, and this is greatly appreciated by our guests and we are genuinely sorry that while we do not agree with many of your comments that we did fail you with the lobster and again please do accept our sincerest of apologies for this. Kind regards, Jane, Watson, Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Norma G wrote a review Sep 2022
Toronto, Canada66 contributions64 helpful votes
+1
Stunning opulence with amazing service and meals .. over the top amazing. Rooms were expansive - bed linens very comfortable- excellent selection of wines and whiskies - views just stunning of Ben Nevis and so close to lovely town of Fort William ..
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: No issues parking - lots in front of castle
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Jane Watson, General Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for such a lovely review and for taking the time to post this. I am delighted that you noticed all the small details that make Inverlochy what we are, again we are truly thankful. Kind regards, Jane Watson, Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hwc88 wrote a review Sep 2022
Atlanta, Georgia26 contributions9 helpful votes
We stayed at the Inverlochy for two nights and loved every minute. The castle itself is pristine and the grounds are gorgeous. The staff are all incredibly warm, welcoming and attentive. We stayed in two different rooms, the Queen Suite and Isle of Sky. Both beautiful with amazing views. I recommend having tea on the terrace outside if the weather is nice. If you are a selective eater, then dinner at the hotel may not be for you as there is one set menu. If you are looking for a more casual meal nearby (with stunning views) try the Ben Nevis Inn. All in all, I cannot recommend Inverlochy enough.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jane Watson, General Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for you kind review and what wonderful comments on our team and the hotel. I will certainly ensure they are passed on. I have to say you selected some of our most stunning rooms and we are very lucky that we are surrounded by amazing views. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you to Inverlochy again. Kind regards, Jane Watson, Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Eleonora T wrote a review Aug 2022
Athens, Greece6 contributions1 helpful vote
Unappropriated behavior from the manager to visitors.. we just stopped for a coffee, the place was empty and they denied to serve us although it was between the range of coffee/tea hour and although at the signs on the road it is mentioned that we can visit for coffee!!! other visitors also didn't managed to enjoy the place... the castle and the gardens are amazing
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jane Watson, General Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Responded Aug 30, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on your visit to the Castle. I am sorry that you were not able to enjoy a coffee at the hotel and that you felt that this was inappropriate behaviour from the manager. We welcome non residents to the hotel and daily welcome 20 plus non residents with open arms and all our offerings can also be booked online. However, as a small hotel we do only have certain capacity and especially during the summer months when the hotel is also full with many guests arriving daily we cannot always accommodate passer bys. On the day in question we were about to welcome a party of 42 for lunch and therefore it would not be appropriate to affect their service or in fact the service we can offer you, we would not compromise on this. Again I am sorry that you did not have the opportunity to see the hotel but I can assure you this was simply because we were full. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you at some point in the future. Kind regards, Jane Watson, Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
UNCDAVE wrote a review Aug 2022
Bahama, North Carolina290 contributions205 helpful votes
+1
The hotel is beautiful and has a wonderful atmosphere. The service was excellent. I would recommend it highly. I am giving it a 4 star rating because the meal offered for dinner had no choices. Salmon was on the menu which I am not a fan of and our two friends do not like beets which was the only option for a salad. The room was very nice with the exception of no small refrig to keep bottle water or a cool drink late at night or early morning.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jane Watson, General Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Responded Aug 30, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review of your stay with us at Inverlochy Castle. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed the castle and the service was excellent during your stay. The menu that we offer at dinner is a set 5 course tasting menu which all guests are made aware of when booking the hotel. I am sorry to read that on this occasion, the menu on offer wasn’t to your liking. We do of course cater for dietaries such as vegetarians, vegans and pescatarians, and allergies. We endeavour to ensure that the bedrooms retain the original, traditional furnishings of the building and feel that putting small refrigerators in the rooms would detract from this ambiance. We are more than happy to provide guests with cold water, and other drinks, at all times of the day and night and our service is available 24 hours. Thank you for your lovely review, and we welcome the chance to see you again. Kind regards, Jane Watson Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Queenievk wrote a review Jul 2022
Carmel, Indiana75 contributions7 helpful votes
+1
We spent 2 nights at this amazing castle hotel. Impeccable service, beautiful rooms and lovely grounds & property. Our rooms were very large & comfortable. The staff is very welcoming & friendly. The first night we enjoyed a casual dinner in the parlor & the second night we experienced the 5 course dinner with wine pairings. Wonderful experience.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jane Watson, General Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Responded Aug 30, 2022
I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed both the lounge offerings and the 5 course set tasting menu with wine pairings. We are very lucky with our exceptionally talented chefs, our sommelier and our friendly staff, all of whom ensure that our guests are provided with the best ingredients to ensure that our guests will enjoy a wonderful experience while staying with us. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards, Jane Watson Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gillian O wrote a review Jul 2022
Uxbridge, Canada383 contributions163 helpful votes
Other than the fact you are staying in a CASTLE! the staff and the atmosphere made our stay for 4 nights special. All the staff were fantastic! Particular shout out to William who went out of his way to make us feel welcome...his enthusiasm and energy was phenominal. His passion and love of the hotel was infectious! Our room was massive and sooo comfortable! People mention the hotel is worn...seriously???? its character nand history! Perhaps a chain hotel is best for these people. The grounds, location and lovely dinners will blow your mind. Well done!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Service
Room Tip: I believe the rooms are all great...large, clean and welcoming.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jane Watson, General Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Responded Aug 30, 2022
Thank you for this review and especially your comments in regard to William. His energy, passion and knowledge are an incredible asset for the hotel. Our staff learn so much from him and he is always happy to share his knowledge with all our guests. I am so happy to read that you found the hotel to be such a wonderfully charming place full of character and history and that you enjoyed the variety of food on offer to our guests. We all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards, Jane Watson Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bouchee wrote a review Jul 2022
San Francisco, California43 contributions33 helpful votes
+1
Loveliest setting in countryside but close to Fort William and hiking trails. Warm and engaging staff but not cloying or annoying. Magnificent public spaces. Spacious private quiet rooms. Sumptuous breakfast. The pancakes alone are worth the trip. Not inexpensive but what do you want for the chance to stay in old mansion with turrets. Note that the dinner menu is fixed price and pricey with no a la carry option (other than early serving of sandwiches etc). And bathroom water on occasion tends to look muddy; they say it’s filtered and safe but gets that way after rain. Not a big deal when forewarned. All in all, a wonderful stay
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Jane Watson, General Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Responded Aug 30, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your stay with us at Inverlochy Castle. I am so happy to ready that you enjoyed the atmosphere and ambiance created by the staff and décor in the hotel. The pancakes are fantastic, and I will certainly pass this onto our breakfast chef. I am sorry that you find the dinner pricing to be high, we do find that we are inline with other 5 star establishments and we have actually just implemented a pricing increase this year, the first time in many years due to the constant increase in our overheads, something I am sure is affecting many people and businesses. The water as you say can look discoloured after heavy rain due to the peat off the hills but is still safe to drink. Again, thank you for such a lovely review. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards, Jane Watson Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Letsgotraveling2014 wrote a review Jul 2022
Jacksonville, Florida13 contributions3 helpful votes
My partner and I enjoyed two nights at the Inverlochy Castle Hotel this past September. One of the highlights was a splendid afternoon tea. May I inquire the name of the china on which we were served? It was so lovely that I want to order some for my personal use at home.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jane Watson, General Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Responded Aug 30, 2022
Dear Letsgotravelling2014, Thank you for your kind words about our afternoon teas. The china we use is by Wedgewood called Sweet Plum. I am afraid that it is no longer in circulation commercially, however, you could try finding some on ebay or similar sites. I hope that this helps. Kind regards, Jane Watson Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$397 - $677 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
inverlochy castle hotel fort william
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandScottish HighlandsLochaberFort William
NUMBER OF ROOMS
17
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Inverlochy Castle Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Crombie Clay Shooting (5.0 miles), Ben Nevis (3.2 miles), and Steall Waterfall (2.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Inverlochy Castle Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Inverlochy Castle Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Inverlochy Castle Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Inverlochy Castle Hotel?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Inverlochy Castle Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Wildcat, Ben Nevis Inn, and The Geographer.
Does Inverlochy Castle Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Inverlochy Castle Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Inverlochy Castle Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Inverlochy Castle Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Inverlochy Castle Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Inverlochy Castle Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.