We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Inverlochy Castle Hotel

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (1011)
Room & Suite (403)
Dining (160)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#4 of 20 hotels in Fort William
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.6
Value
4.0
Travelers' Choice
Welcome to Inverlochy Castle Hotel and Restaurant, Fort William, Scotland.Inverlochy is Scotland's finest luxury hotel and restaurant uniquely located amongst the glens, lochs and mountains of the West Highlands of Scotland.At Inverlochy you will experience one of the most relaxing and exciting vacations of a lifetime, where every detail for your comfort and enjoyment has been carefully considered.Rooms & ReservationsEach of the 17 bedrooms, all with private bathroom, have their own individual design and character, along with splendid views of the grounds and surrounding mountains. Room facilities include 30 inch Phillips mirror televisions, personal laptop computer with internet access, personal safe, cd player, radio, iron/ironing board. DVD player and video player as well as Playstation II available upon request.Below are small images of our rooms at Inverlochy. By clicking on the images you will be taken to a page with a 360°, interactive image of the entire room. This allows you to capture the unique atmosphere of our very individual rooms and make the choice of which of our luxury rooms you would like to reserve.Dining at InverlochyDinner at Inverlochy is an experience to savour in any of our three dining rooms, each decorated with period and elaborate furniture presented as gifts to Inverlochy Castle from the King of Norway.Dining at InverlochyDinner at Inverlochy is an experience to savour in any of our three dining rooms, each decorated with period and elaborate furniture presented as gifts to Inverlochy Castle from the King of Norway.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Game room
Fishing
Babysitting
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Valet parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Video game console
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Desk
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Classic
Languages Spoken
English, French
4.5
988 reviews
Reviews Summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI
Nestled in a scenic location, Inverlochy Castle Hotel captivates guests with its grandeur and historical charm, offering beautifully furnished rooms with breathtaking views. While the spacious and well-appointed accommodations are often lauded for their cleanliness and modern bathrooms, some guests feel the rooms could benefit from a refresh. Opinions on service and value diverge; praise is given for attentive staff, but others find service lacking and the hotel overpriced, particularly when it comes to dining and unexpected charges. Despite these critiques, the luxury amenities are frequently celebrated.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Charming
Rooms
Spacious
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Meticulous
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Opulent
Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveler reviews for more details and information.
988Reviews14Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 722
  • 141
  • 52
  • 34
  • 39
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
GBks wrote a review Feb 16
30 contributions
+1
This hotel was amazing in so many ways, we had a lovely stay and hoped we could have stayed longer! Service and staff: 5/5, excellent service that went above and beyond, incredibly approachable and extremely professional staff. Room and hotel areas: 5/5, amazing pieces of decoration, all very well maintained and a joy for the eyes to watch. The bathroom was amazing, absolutely loved it, and all common rooms were incredible. Food: 4/5, I’m just very judgmental about food, I love food and growing up in Peru I’ve always eaten excellent food with amazing flavors. Some combinations were not as good as I had expected so I’m taking 1 point there. All in all very pleasant stay, we hope we’re able to come back for a longer stay soon!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
mountain climbers wrote a review Jan 2024
Perth, Australia3 contributions
+1
We had a lovely stay for one night in the middle of a snowy moment for Scotland. Magical experience that could not have been scripted better. We had a small double, but couldn’t fault the room for size or comfort. Everything you would expect of a five star hotel. Staff were attentive and the set menu dinner experience was enjoyable, although we did struggle to finish everything. Breakfast was great. There were some minor issues with the TV and tea and coffee facilities in the room, but these were resolved fairly promptly.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Don’t eat a lot before having the set dinner experience.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from David Robertson, General Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We’re delighted to hear that you had a magical stay with us, especially amidst Scotland’s Snowy charm. Its wonderful to know you found your room to be both comfortable and of the standard expected from a five-star hotel. We appreciate your kind words regarding our attentive staff and are pleased you enjoyed the set menu dinner experience, despite the generous portions. Your feedback regarding the minor issues with the TV and tea/coffee facilities is invaluable and we’re happy that our team were able to promptly resolve these for you. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for another stay in the future. Kind Regards, David Robertson, General Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read a summary of these reviews, created with our new AI-powered tool.
avatar-image
DavidK wrote a review Dec 2023
Kirkland, Washington12 contributions
+1
My wife and I enjoyed a night at Inverlochy Castle and left pleased but with a feeling that it could have been much better with a little more focus on the details and some basic updates. The location, building and grounds are stunning and while we arrived during some inclement weather and didn't get to enjoy the outdoors much, it was obvious the opportunities that existed to enjoy the grounds and nature. The interior, particularly the central grand common area is also stunning in scale, elegance and style. Our room was grand however this is where some updates would help for example the bedspread was something from a decade past. Some of the other common areas were a bit of a letdown, notably the billiards room was clearly not a priority - it included an out-of-place shelf of DVDs (not sure where I would watch one), promotional materials for a firearms manufacturer, and a dining table with far too many chairs clustered around it. It took a room that could have been a nice place for evening drinks into a place that nobody uses. Finally, I will note that the staff was great however a bit stretched thin, with individuals doubling as bar tender, waiter, and front-desk leading to times when things like checking out required a wait.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Dinner is formal, requiring a jacket for gentlemen. Don't order Afternoon tea within a few hours...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from David Robertson, General Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Responded Jan 1, 2024
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience at Inverlochy Castle. I am delighted you enjoyed your evening with us and appreciate your valuable feedback. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience regarding the Billiards Room and staff availability. Your insights are invaluable as we strive to make improvements where necessary and in turn offer a better standard of product. If I may take this opportunity to thank you for your kind and generous custom and I hope to welcome you back for an even more memorable stay in the near future. Kind Regards, David Robertson, General Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Melva Chia wrote a review Dec 2023
Singapore, Singapore753 contributions
+1
The saving grace was really Jane, Caitlyn and her excellent team, otherwise there wouldn't be any points given for this rating. The weakest link was the housekeeping. They kept a used bathrobe from the previous checked out guest and I removed it and threw it in the tub. Basic logic would have told you that this item was unwanted. Nevertheless, housekeeping came in and decided to hang it back on a perfectly clean and new bathrobe, contaminating the new one. There was cobwebs on the ceiling and SO much dust everywhere. Strands of hair was also provided in the sheets. I was unsure if the booking of the room came with the spooky effect of halloween in December. Housekeeping staffs also made up my bed even with the DND sign on. Breakfast was said to start at 7am but it wasn't ready till 7.07am on the 1st morning of our stay. Perhaps my expectations of a 5-star hotel was too high? I reckon that it was basic.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from David Robertson, General Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Responded Jan 3, 2024
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience after visiting Inverlochy Castle. We appreciate all feedback, good and bad, and I am pleased to hear that our excellent team made a positive impact. Although, please accept my sincere apologises for any shortcomings in the housekeeping department. We understand the importance of meeting a 5-star standard in not just this department of the hotel, but all. Your insights will be helpful to us in order we strive for continuous improvement. If I can thank you for your kind and generous custom, and even though we have not fully satisfied you on this occasion, I hope you would not be put off returning in the future. Kind Regards, David Robertson, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
ianrS6664WQ wrote a review Dec 2023
Glasgow, United Kingdom38 contributions
This is a real tough of luxury in Highland Scotland. We stayed for two nights in the "Queen Suite". Our room had a very comfortable four poster bed, dressing table, sofa and chairs, a table and chairs, loads of wardrobe space and a chaise longue! A separate bathroom had two sinks, a shower for two (separate heads) and a roll-top bath. I almost kept losing stuff in the room because there was literally too many places to put down phone, keys, etc. A real wow room. The food was delicious. The deal we booked was based on dining on the tasting menu as overseen by Michel Roux. I also opted for the wine pairing. Food was delicious and well presented. It was a really nice touch to get souvenir (wax sealed) menus to remind ourselves what we were eating. The location was great. Despite just being off the main road, the hotel was blissfully quiet. The service is really good too. Staff are always ready to help and it felt like they knew us and treated us as special throughout our stay. From that welcome at the drop off point (can I take your luggage sir) through to departure, nothing is took much. Special mention to Caitlin who seemed to work all the time!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Don't eat too much before you arrive!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from David Robertson, General Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Responded Dec 29, 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience from your visit to Inverlochy Castle. I am delighted you have enjoyed each aspect of your stay, and I am especially happy my dedicated team have delivered on the high standards we strive to achieve for all guests. I also thank you for your kind and generous custom with the hope to welcome you back personally in the near future. Kind Regards, David Robertson, General Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Cher F wrote a review Dec 2023
Washington DC, District of Columbia5 contributions
Gorgeous hotel with superb service. We stayed here for two nights and it was so lovely. We opted out of the dinner experience and had a wonderful dinner by the fire. It was perfect. We had a great time in the billiards room playing snooker, unfortunately, it was raining and we did not get to go shooting. I would definitely stay here again. The attention to customer service is 5 stars.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from David Robertson, General Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Responded Dec 29, 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share such a wonderful review from your time with us. I am delighted you have enjoyed to the extent you have, and will be sure to share your kind words with the team. I hope I have the pleasure to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Kind Regards, David Robertson, General Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Wendy A wrote a review Nov 2023
1 contribution
Thanks to Jane and her excellent team, great stay as always, we stayed in Queens suite such a beautiful room and a view to match 🥰 Food was amazing as always and great service from all the staff. Looking forward to returning soon ❤️
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from David Robertson, General Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Responded Dec 1, 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience. It was a delight to welcome you back to Inverlochy once again and I hope many more visits to follow. Best Wishes and Kind Regards, David Robertson, General Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Vickie wrote a review Nov 2023
The Royal Town of Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom6 contributions
What a very wonderful experience! The staff were amazing as was the hotel itself. Breathtaking views, even from the bathtub. The Kings Suite which we were lucky enough to spend the night in was grandeur and luxurious. The food was sublime and we dined in the restaurant for dinner and breakfast. Faultless! Thank you for a wonderful stay
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from David Robertson, General Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Responded Dec 1, 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Inverlochy. It was a pleasure to have you both visit, and a pleasure to speak with you on the few occasions we did. I hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back to Inverlochy in the near future. Kind Regards, David Robertson, General Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
PackTravelRepeat wrote a review Nov 2023
Richmond, Virginia53 contributions
Booked months ago so was a little concerned about recent reviews expressing concerns about short-staffing. Visit was wonderful. I think this hotel management really takes reviews to heart and works to improve. No staffing issues noted during our stay- someone was always available and warm. Heavy bags were carried to our room. We read about the meal options in advance and were prepared for the wonderful (if expensive) dinner option, and it met our expectations. The castle grounds are fun to wander around (found a friendly, photogenic sheep). Overall, it was as expected based on reading prior to booking.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from David Robertson, General Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Responded Dec 1, 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely feedback with the Trip Advisor community. I am delighted you have enjoyed your visit, and I can confirm that all feedback, good and bad is taken very much on board to use as beneficial tool when it comes to our service and hospitality standards. Thank you for your kind and generous custom, and I look forward to being able to welcome you back to Inverlochy. Kind Regards, David Robertson, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Josh M wrote a review Nov 2023
3 contributions
My wife and I visited the hotel restaurant/lounge to have tea and scones. The selection of teas were brilliant and the scones were delicious. However, what set the experience apart for us was the incredible hotel staff who were perhaps the most inviting and helpful hospitality staff we have ever encountered. We were shown some of the beautifully and historically decorated rooms of the hotel such as the billiards room, and we had one of the huge lounge rooms to ourselves for our early afternoon tea. After tea we explored the exquisite grounds by walking the Victoria trail.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from David Robertson, General Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Responded Dec 1, 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely review after visiting Inverlochy. I am delighted you have enjoyed to the extent that you have, and especially the kind words towards the hotel staff. I will be sure to pass this feedback across. Hoping to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards, David Robertson, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Fort William area.
PRICE RANGE
$419 - $677 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
inverlochy castle hotel fort william
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandScottish HighlandsLochaberFort William
NUMBER OF ROOMS
17
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

INVERLOCHY CASTLE HOTEL - Updated 2024 Prices & Reviews (Fort William, Scotland)

Frequently Asked Questions about Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Inverlochy Castle Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Crombie Clay Shooting (5.0 miles), Steall Waterfall (2.3 miles), and Ben Nevis (3.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Inverlochy Castle Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Inverlochy Castle Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Inverlochy Castle Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Inverlochy Castle Hotel?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Inverlochy Castle Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Wildcat, The Geographer, and Ben Nevis Inn.
Does Inverlochy Castle Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Inverlochy Castle Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are pets allowed at Inverlochy Castle Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Inverlochy Castle Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Inverlochy Castle Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Inverlochy Castle Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Dun Deardail fort (4.1 miles).