We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Fort William Backpackers

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Fort William Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

172 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Fort William Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 136: English reviews
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 14, 2015 via mobile

"Stayed" here on 12/6/15. The location is awesome, and the hostel has a chilled vibe to it. Myself and 3 friends hiked Ben Nevis and returned at 11pm, went for food. The problem started when we went to bed, our paid room had been double booked and 4 people were sound asleep in are beds. As you can imagine after...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank rbarr2013
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed May 13, 2015

This is the best place to stay if you want to tackle Ben Nevis and discover the mountains around. The hostel is very clean and super cosy. The staff is helpful in every matters and will give you tips for the area whilst your stay. You can use the fully equipped kitchen and have a lot of nice chats with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Oliver R
FortWilliamManager, Manager at Fort William Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Oliver, Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel! We hope you had a super time here and have a chance one day to stay here again! ;) Thanks Kelsey

Reviewed May 5, 2015

I really enjoyed my stay in the hostel. It had it all: a great location near the nature trails and the town centre, a professional and laid-back staff who always helped me with different sort of arrangements, many other like-minded backpackers as I am, and good kitchen facilities to make and store your own food. But if you come to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marttis87
FortWilliamManager, Manager at Fort William Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Oliver, Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel! We hope you had a super time here and have a chance one day to stay here again! ;) Thanks Kelsey

Reviewed April 28, 2015

The hostel's best feature is without any doubt the common room: cosy, offering good views over Fort William, it feels just like home. The rooms are a bit small and the beds are not really good but they are alright. The kitchen and eating area are clean, even if they are small regarding the number of guests. The staff is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kepour
FortWilliamManager, Manager at Fort William Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there! Thanks for staying with us! We're glad you enjoyed the cosy lounge. We are in the process of replacing the mattresses in the room and waiting from the manufacturer. It does tend to get a bit busy in the hostel and a house converted hostel makes space tricky but we do our best to provide the best space...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed April 18, 2015 via mobile

Staff were friendly and helpful, which counts for a lot in my book. Always keen to offer advice when it's needed. I was also glad to know they offer mixed dorms, as they seem to be one of the only companies in the UK offering such. Good value for money in my opinion. The view is great and the skype...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MarcPT
FortWilliamManager, Manager at Fort William Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there Marc, Thanks for taking the time to write your review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay, and glad that we could be of service to you on things to do in the Fort! We're sorry the showers were looking poorly. We've taken your words under advice and tried to improve our cleaning routine around them. As for our...

New Cumnock, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 16, 2015

For a one night stop over before hitting the East Highland Way it is good value for money. Room and kitchen clean and tidy as always as the Ayrshire Waysters have previously stayed here. Will no doubt be back in the future.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hugh_mcgoogan
FortWilliamManager, Manager at Fort William Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there Hugh! Thanks very much for taking the time to write this review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope your journey along the East Highland Way was adventurous and successful! Best Wishes Kelsey :)

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 16, 2015

Checked in early to spotless hostel, was allocated comfy bunk with superb view, then went out for day. Got back late to find that due to unforeseen double booking, my bed had disappeared. Was immediately offered a full refund and complementary breakfast. However, at 10pm the only remaining bunk was a top bunk; I have mobility issues so a top...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patoehlersallan
FortWilliamManager, Manager at Fort William Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there! Thanks so much for taking the time to write this lovely review! We're glad you had a nice time and hope you come back a visit again! Best Wishes Kelsey

New York City, New York
Reviewed March 10, 2015

Looking to meet cool people ? Looking for a hostel run by interesting people and a fun manager ? This is a lively hostel with personal touches all over the place. We were looking to meet new people, but at the same didn't want to live in a pure party hostel. Kelsey, the manager invited us out to drinks around...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey P
FortWilliamManager, Manager at Fort William Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, Really glad you enjoyed your stay and thanks for your review,was good having you hear and getting to meet you :) Hope we have the chance to meet again and enjoy some more time in the Hostel. Thanks Ryan

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed March 5, 2015

After a couple nights in a pretty blah hostel, this place was a HUGE breath of fresh air. It's pretty big, and it's up quite a hill so be prepared if you are walking up with quite a bit of luggage. The jovial, bearded, super-Scottish fellow who was working there, whose name I regrettably did not catch, was so boomingly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shoogs80
FortWilliamManager, Manager at Fort William Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks so much for taking the time out and writing a lovely review :) Its really nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with ourselves,We don't mind don't mind doing anything for our guests to make their stay better and this is exactly why we offered you the free upgrade...........the smile way more than enough of a thanks. Also...

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 23, 2015

Friendly enthusiastic welcome and staff. Quite a good location but not as serene as Glen Nevis. Really wasn't impressed especially as it's more expensive than Glen Nevis too. The place has character but could really do with some paint, feels very dilapidated and worn out. The bed was comfy and the Wi-Fi good. The kitchen was apparantely cleaned every Tues...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alex S
FortWilliamManager, Manager at Fort William Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Alex! Thanks for taking the time to respond to us! Glad you liked the beds and the wifi! I'm sorry you had such troubles in the kitchen! As you said we do clean our fridges Tuesday and Friday, and the kitchen as a whole is cleaned twice daily. However we've taken your comments into our cleaners and out cleaning...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

52 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (26)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
0.2 mi away
Bank Street Lodge
Bank Street Lodge
#16 of 21 in Fort William
215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
498 reviews
0.3 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#14 of 21 in Fort William
660 reviews
2.1 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#8 of 21 in Fort William
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Deep in the Highlands, surrounded by spectacular mountain scenery lies Fort William, the Outdoor Capital of the UK and a mecca for those with a spirit of adventure. Nestling on a hillside above the town, with wonderful views, our characterful and comfy hostel provides everything you'll need after a day in the hills. In the evening put your feet up in our sociable, elegant lounge in front of a real fire or stroll down to the choice of local pubs and restaurants that are literally minutes away. You can start (or end) the 'West Highland Way' & the 'Great Glen Way' in Fort William, hike or bike along mountain trails, canoe or kayak on the vast array of local water, go for a boat trip on Loch Linnhe to visit the seals or just take it easy amidst the wonderful scenery. Even in winter Fort William stays busy with skiing, snow-boarding, mountaineering & ice-climbing all nearby to our fantastic location.Ben Nevis - Britain's highest mountain, sits just around the corner and below it, Glen Nevis - perhaps Scotland's prettiest glen, with its wonderful waterfalls and ancient pine forest. Dramatic and eerie, Glencoe & Glenfinnan, and the Ice Factor in Kinlochleven also await a few miles down the road and make excellent day trips from the hostel. Our friendly award winning staff are committed to ensuring you make the most out of your time in Fort William. They also LOVE the outdoors and can give you their 'top tips' to help you plan your adventure. Whether you plan to chill out or perhaps test your skills on a World Cup mountain bike trail...Fort Willy Backpackers is the place for you! Fort William Backpackers is a beautiful Victorian building with a fun, friendly and relaxed atmosphere. We know how important it is to be able to relax after a hard days exploring and our cosy hostel is the perfect place to re-charge your batteries and share the tales of your adventures.We have a fabulous, elegant lounge with a REAL open fire and probably the best view in town! Our fully equipped self-catering kitchen comes complete with everything you will need to prepare your meals & packed lunches and you can help yourself to as much FREE tea, coffee & hot chocolate as you can drink!If the weather's good, we'll be outside enjoying our patio area either having a BBQ or sitting around the fire pit enjoying the stars so come and join us. Our accommodation is made up of 5 Dormitory Rooms ,with a maximum of 8 beds in each room, and one private Twin Room. All of our beds are fully made up with fitted linen and 2 pillows so there is no need to bring your sleeping bag. Our hostel reception is open from 7am - 12pm & 5pm - 10.30pm. If you arrive in the afternoon, please feel free to leave your bags, help yourselves to a cup of tea and relax in our comfy lounge. We will check you in when we re-open at 17.00. We look forward to welcoming you to Fort William and our cosy hostel! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fort William Backpackers

Address: Alma Road, Fort William PH33 6HB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Price Range: $39 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Fort William Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort William Backpackers Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Fort William Backpackers staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Fort William Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Large equipped kitchen so shop for your meals”
 of 5 bubbles H8298YPingrids, 1 week ago | Read review
“Make sure you chill out by the fire in the lounge”
 of 5 bubbles Stokie_on_tour, Dec 30, 2016 | Read review
“WIFI is so slow it is best described as non existant”
 of 5 bubbles Old Rambler, Sep 25, 2016 | Read review
“Get an upstairs room is possible”
 of 5 bubbles sarahmP4652ZE, Aug 4, 2016 | Read review
“This is really a hiking hostel so what you see is what you get”
 of 5 bubbles LittleEd158, Mar 30, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question