We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Ben Nevis Guest House

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Ben Nevis Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

130 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 103: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here while running the Fort William marathon and doing 'The Ben'. Although still pretty new to the job Steve and Cathy were excellent hosts and went out of their way to make us feel welcome and make the most of our stay. We're sure this b&b will go from strength to strength under their watch. The breakfast was... More 

Helpful?
Thank vjb2011
Ben Nevis Guest H, Owner at Ben Nevis Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you had a great stay, and in particular enjoyed our locally sourced breakfast. Well done on completing the marathon, and then walking Ben Nevis!! Hopefully we'll get to see you next year so you can beat your time of "6" hours!! More 

County Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2016 via mobile

The location is good, and the room beside the size of the TV, I didn't even know such size of TV exist. Didn't like the fact that you cannot pay with card, even if in the site says you can. You can pay online, but you have to create a paypal account if you don't have one. Went to withdraw... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ontheroad1971
Ben Nevis Guest H, Manager at Ben Nevis Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry your stay earlier in June wasn't to the high expectations we set ourselves on. As you had stayed when previous owners were here it would be unfair for me to comment. However I would like to point out the more recent reviews since we've taken over have been very pleasing and hope that... More 

Sursee, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016 via mobile

This guest house was perfect to explore Fort William and very close to Ben Nevis. We had the family room and this was ok for four adults but not very spacious. The hosts were very friendly and gave us some good advises how to get tickets for "the harry potter train". The breakfast was delicious and you could choose from... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank livio_s1986
Ben Nevis Guest H, Owner at Ben Nevis Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We are glad you enjoyed our locally sourced breakfast menu, and that we were able to advise on some of the surrounding attractions. The family room you stayed in is aimed predominately at 2 adults and 2 children, so we can understand how the room would seem a little less spacious. We would love to... More 

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2016

Steve & Cathy had just taken over and done us proud . Nothing was to much trouble for them with advice on the attractions in the area and where the best places to eat . Ben Nevis is located about. 5 minutes walk from town .

Helpful?
1 Thank Markog67
Ben Nevis Guest H, Owner at Ben Nevis Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We are very pleased that you had a nice stay and that we were able to help with some of the local area attractions. Hope to see you again soon. More 

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2016

My husband and I stayed a week. The hosts, Steve and Cathy, had just taken over 2 weeks previously and were very friendly and very helpful. The breakfast was locally sourced, good quality food with plenty of choice, hot and cold. The location at the entrance to Glen Nevis, close to major routes and a short walk into the middle... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank jmcneish
Ben Nevis Guest H, Owner at Ben Nevis Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It was great having you stay for a week, and that we were able to fulfill your expectations. We pride ourselves on locally sourced food, and are glad you enjoyed the breakfasts!! More 

Brighton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2016 via mobile

Stephen and Cathy have just taken over this place and will do it proud. They know how to add all the right touches for a lovely and personal stay, they made our honeymoon relaxed and so enjoyable. They clearly want you to have fun, so go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. It's perfectly placed to hike... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank YakiToni
Ben Nevis Guest H, Owner at Ben Nevis Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for a fantastic review. We are very grateful you chose to spend some of your honeymoon with us, and that we were able to help you celebrate. Hopefully see you again soon. More 

Oslo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2016

A family run place, hospitable, service minded, quiet, clean, nice house and surroundings. It is located 10 min walk from the train station. A good breakfast. Highly recommended, it's value for money.

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Helpful?
4 Thank cecilias678
Ben Nevis Guest H, Owner at Ben Nevis Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are really pleased you would recommend us, and that we made your stay comfortable. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Ghent, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2016

We stayed at Ben Nevis Guest House for 3 nights. Very friendly and helpful hosts. Great breakfast. Spacious room (unfortunately with two separate beds) with private bathroom. Excellent location for hiking Ben Nevis.

Helpful?
3 Thank Julieschatteman
Glasgow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here with 3 friends after doing the west highland way. Great location and friendly hosts. We stayed in a family room (one double bed, set of bunk beds). Plenty of room for the 4 of us with decent sized shower room. Our only gripe was the mattresses on the bunk beds were very lumpy and springy so we had... More 

Helpful?
Thank E2009
BenNevis66, Owner at Ben Nevis Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for your constructive comments and your lovely review on our breakfast! We have sold the guest house and hopefully the new owners who take over in a few weeks will continue to monitor reviews like this and act on them as we have always done. More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2016 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for the weekend, the owners were quite rude and unapproachable, when we first arrived our room was freezing cold, on booking.com it states each room has a flat screen tv, it is more like an iPad on a wall never seen a tv so small! The beds were very uncomfortable, only good thing was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dominika F
BenNevis66, Owner at Ben Nevis Guest House, responded to this review

As I responded to your last bad review, we cannot ignore guests who go ill prepared to climb Ben Nevis and then put the strain on Mountain Rescue charity when things go wrong! You arrived early before check in time which was the reason for the cold room. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
0.7 mi away
Bank Street Lodge
Bank Street Lodge
#14 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 stars 191 reviews
2.7 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#6 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 stars 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Aite Cruinnichidh
Aite Cruinnichidh
#70 of 120 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 stars 29 reviews
1.8 mi away
Morvich B&B
Morvich B&B
#9 of 120 in Fort William
5.0 of 5 stars 215 reviews
1.7 mi away
Travee B&B
Travee B&B
#1 of 2 in Corpach
5.0 of 5 stars 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Ben Nevis Guest House

Address: Glen Nevis Road, Fort William PH33 6PF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Price Range: $115 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ben Nevis Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Ben Nevis Guest House Fort William, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing