We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Inverness Youth Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Inverness Youth Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

136 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 101: English reviews
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I only stayed for a night. Arrived, slept and left basically but it wasn't a nice stay. The showers weren't very clean and some areas of the hostel were very loud, even late at night. The room was very hot and the staff weren't very efficient.

Helpful?
Thank Felicity A
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Inverness Youth Hostel, responded to this review

HI Felicity A Thanks for your review following your recent stay with us,I have noted your comments and will discuss with the team at the hostel to look at ways we can improve the service. We do hope to welcome you back soon Regards Dan More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

First night was ok, it is a hostel and you are bunking with other people. The staff member who met me at the front desk was lovely but informed me normally works at the Pitlochry SYHA. Very helpful with regards to walks around Pitlochry. However, the second night I ended up with 2 middle aged men in my dorm. One... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hannah S

Travelers are raving about these Inverness hotels

Tynemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The place is well located. Larger than most youth hostels and busy and not lacking in business. Why is it in need of a good freshening up? The mattresses didn't have a under cover in them. So it's only between a sheet and the polyester is what you sleep on. The staff were helpful though in giving you directions into... More 

Helpful?
Thank leaderwithnotitle
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Inverness Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi leaderwithnotitle Thanks for your review following your recent stay with us,I have noted your comments and we will look at ways we can change things. We hope to welcome you back again Regards Dan More 

Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hostel located about 10-15min walk from town centre. The dorm i stayed in was what you expect from a hostel 4 beds limted plug sockets and a nosiey radiator and if you need the bathroom it was the on the other side so not the best but it what you expect from a hostel. Also no wifi in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Matthew W
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Inverness Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Matthew W Thanks for your review We hope to welcome you back soon Regards Dan More 

Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Terrible room overpriced and grumpy staff. We paid over 200 for one night here on the recommendation of a friend. This was for 2 rooms for 7 people. A bit prices for YHA but it's August. In reality the rooms were very poor. Especially large family room. Dreadful mattress that led to very poor sleep. Bathroom that was mouldy and... More 

Helpful?
Thank MrAJPage
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Inverness Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi MrAJPage, Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel following your recent stay with us,We value all feedback to help us improve the guest experience and will ensure the points you have raised are discussed with the team. Regards Dan More 

West Wales
Level Contributor
104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2016

The SYHA in Inverness is a great example of how to run a large youth hostel in a clean and efficient manner. We had a private room with ensuite facilities and it was fantastic by youth hostel standards. The staff were great, we arrived just after a large coach of young students had arrived and our hearts sank thinking we... More 

Helpful?
Thank OrdinaryJoeandCo
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Inverness Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi OrdinaryJoeandCo, Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel following your recent stay with us.Its great to see your comments and I will ensure these are passed onto our hardworking team and management. We hope to welcome you back soon Regards Dan More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2016 via mobile

Second stay here and it was good. The beds were rather squeaky but clean which was more important. The en-suite was clean. Great location. Will certainly be return. One of the staff was difficult to understand but we both us patience. Good atmosphere too and met lots of people from all over the world. Thank you. Sharon

Helpful?
Thank Shazmarelda F
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Inverness Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Shazmarelda F Thanks for the review,We hope to welcome you back soon Regards Dan More 

RIO DE JANEIRO
Level Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2016

If you have booked a hostel you surely know what is awaiting for you. And this one is a fairly good one, a good choice for either solo travelers or families. They have a wonderful kitchen with everything you need to keep your diet healthy or just to buy some supermarket food and heat so you can save some money.... More 

Helpful?
Thank ACROSANNA
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Inverness Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Acrosanna, Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel following your recent stay with us,Its great to see you made use of the excellent faciltys,We do ask guests to be respectful of others when opening closing doors and will have a look if theres anything else we can do. We hope to welcome you back soon Regards Dan More 

Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2016 via mobile

Me and my brother stayed here for one night to see the Loch Ness. It is out of the main city so is in a quiet location (15mins from bus station, 10 from train station) but still has decent links to the loch. They do a really good cooked or continental breakfast. You can also use the huge self catering... More 

Helpful?
Thank Charley H
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Inverness Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Charley H Thanks for reviewing the hostel following your recent stay with us,Its great to see overall you had a good time and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Dan More 

Cupar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2016

This is a good youth hostel which offers very good family accommodation. We stayed in a fair sized room with two bunk beds. Although there was no place to hand clothes, it did have en suite facilities. This hostel provides both buffet and cooked breakfasts. Wifi is available free of charge in the reception area.

Helpful?
Thank jon0269
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Inverness Youth Hostel, responded to this review

HI Jon0269, Thanks for your review, We hope to welcome you back soon Regards Dan More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.7 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness West Hotel
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (Millburn Rd) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Inverness Youth Hostel offers modern budget accommodation with superb facilities. The youth hostel also offers family friendly private en suite rooms, all of which are freshly decorated, warm and comfortable, with private lockers. Some rooms also have glorious views towards the Moray Firth. Inverness Youth Hostel offers meals but also has an excellent self-catering kitchen, making it popular with groups and families. The youth hostel has a warm welcome and buzzing atmosphere making it one of Scotland's top youth hostels in the capital of the Highlands. Wi-Fi during your stay: We do our best to deliver a free Wi-Fi service but apologise that connectivity, particularly in our rural locations, can be intermittent due to the level of our current broadband provision along with high usage when the youth hostel is busy. Please be assured we are endeavouring to improve where we can. We thank you for your patience and understanding. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Inverness Youth Hostel

Address: Victoria Drive, Inverness IV2 3QB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Price Range: $32 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Inverness Youth Hostel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Inverness Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inverness Youth Hostel Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay