We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Acorn Guest House

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inverness
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Acorn Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

127 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 100: English reviews
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
309 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2016

If I could I'd give 3.5 stars rather than 4, as 'Average / 3' seems unfair, but I wouldn't really say 'Very good' - 'Good' would be better. There's nothing really wrong, but it could also do better. The good points - check in from noon is appreciated, although as we'd had a days walking we didn't get there until... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank fillyk
acorn-house, Owner at Acorn Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Fillyk, Thank you for your review, I agree that we are unable to keep 100% of our clients happy 100% of the time and that your mention of décor is not to your taste However every room in Acorn House is different and we as you say take dogs. You mention Kippers well they can smell the house out... More 

Cullompton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016

We were driving the NC500 and we met up with some friends. It was great to be able to stay all together a few minutes from the centre with the bonus of having private parking. The owner was on holiday and the relatives that were running the place were excellent. One of our group had a birthday during our stay... More 

Helpful?
Thank JLMackenzie
Dugie C, Owner at Acorn Guest House, responded to this review

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with u here at Acorn House, and I am sure that you enjoyed the NC500 AS YOU SAY PRIVATE OFF STREET PARKING IS VERY ESSENTIAL. Lyn has a great way with people and since she has retired from her management job in the Retail Trade, she enjoys letting us get away for... More 

San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2016

We had a wonderful stay at Acorn House. Dugie greeted us at the front door and showed us to our lovely room. He was a comedian from the get go. Our room was very spacious and well appointed. The Wi-Fi worked great, and it was nice to have a car park available. The downstairs sitting room and breakfast room were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Froggysgirl
Dugie C, Owner at Acorn Guest House, responded to this review

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your return to Acorn House Dugie and Fiona More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2016 via mobile

My wife and I are on our honeymoon and we booked our trip through a secondary touring agency. They set us up with this very charming and quant little inn. The inn is right in Inverness, but you wouldn't know it. It's about a 5 minute walk and your leave the quiet neighborhood that the Acorn is in to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris H
Thurso, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2016

A quality B&B where the welcome is always warm, friendly and very helpful, the beds are very comfortable, the rooms have lots of lovely little extras and the breakfasts are excellent. All within easy walking distance of Inverness centre. Thank you once again Dugie and Fiona hope to be back soon.

Helpful?
1 Thank Inverdoll
Dugie C, Owner at Acorn Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind remarks, Fiona and I always strive to do our best and we look forward to your return to Acorn House More 

UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2016

Lovely and very comfortable accommodation - we had everything we needed and the breakfast is amazing. Fantastic lounge to relax in during the evening. Ample free parking, very close to the city centre. We travelled as a family with our pet which Dugie and Fiona took care of while we attended a wedding. Fantastic hosts, made our stay memorable and... More 

Helpful?
Thank fry
Dugie C, Owner at Acorn Guest House, responded to this review

Fiona and I thank you for your review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Acorn House, we look forward to welcoming you all when you return to Inverness and of Course Harvey our four legged friend I know that he enjoyed his breakfast, All our good wishes to you also on your new... More 

Scotland
Level Contributor
151 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2015

Had another visit to Dugie and Fiona's guest house. We actually forget what it's called at times, we just say 'phone Dugie's and see if he has a room available'. The rooms (stayed in a few of them) are always comfortable, warm and clean. We always feel very welcome. It's also very handy for walks along the river, visiting Eden... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank PaulaScot
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2015

A lovely comfortable guest house in a perfect location just a few minutes walk to the River Ness and the City Centre. Very comfortable. Dugie and Fiona are perfect hosts serving a lovely breakfast to set you up for the day. Have already booked another stay.

Helpful?
1 Thank Harpur9
Dugie C, Owner at Acorn Guest House, responded to this review

Fiona and I are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Acorn House, we look forward to having the pleasure of your company soon and thank you for your booking for 2016. Kind Regards Dugie and Fiona More 

Brockville, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2015

Loved the ambience of Acorn House. The tartan carpeting and other highland touches were welcoming and not overpowering. We were running late from our anticipated check-in time but a quick phone call and it was extended by two hours (we managed to arrive well within that time but having the leeway made us feel less rushed). Breakfast was excellent -... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie K
Norrkoping, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2015

We were two families which were kindly welcomed, by hostess Fiona, for five nights at Acorn House. We had two family rooms which were nice and clean. Another really good thing was the lounge which was a natural place for us to finish the evenings. The breakfast was excellent and a " full Scottish breakfast " is recommended (no need... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Magnus J
Dugie C, Owner at Acorn Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, Fiona and I enjoyed the company of two lovely families' and so proud of how well the boys did in their respective competitions, We look forward to welcoming your pleasant company again to Acorn House More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.0 mi away
Moyness House
Moyness House
#18 of 239 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 stars 472 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ardross and Glencairn Guesthouse
0.7 mi away
Silverstrands Guest House
Silverstrands Guest House
#30 of 239 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 stars 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Ardersier
4.5 of 5 stars 159 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lyndon Guest House
Lyndon Guest House
#61 of 239 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 stars 125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eskdale Guest House
Eskdale Guest House
#45 of 239 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Acorn House is the family home of Dugie and Fiona Cameron. It is known for its highland hospitality. The ambiance throughout is of a Scottish theme. There are six en-suite rooms some have four poster beds and are all equipped with hospitality trays, TV and we have just installed "wireless" so our guests can be online for business or pleasure. There is a residents' private lounge and private of street car parking. We also have a hot tub and steam room for which there is an additional charge ... more   less 

Additional Information about Acorn Guest House

Address: 2A Bruce Gardens, Inverness IV3 5EN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Price Range: $85 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Acorn Guest House Inverness, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing