We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Strathness House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Strathness House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

400 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 368: English reviews
Shetland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Very friendly hosts. Good breakfasts, comfortable rooms. Cannot ask for more from a guesthouse. For several years I have been staying here while travelling to Inverness for business. It never disappoints. Very good location also. Close to the centre and amenities there. Lovely to walk by the river.

Helpful?
Thank swc247
Stumpy1607
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Arrived to a friendly welcome after a days train ride. Facilities and room were excellent, I enjoyed sitting and talking and the lounge room while waiting to go out. Received good advice on what to do and where to eat. It's location offers great views to the Inverness castle across the Ness River. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Stumpy1607
NH
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at Strathness House at the beginning and end of our North Coast 500 trip. Its in a beautiful old building on the corner of Ardross and right on the River Ness...and an easy walk to restaurants, shops, etc. Very clean and well kept. We loved that our room overlooked the river and we listened to it all night. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Belize62
Quincy, Illinois
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We toured Scotland for 10 days, and this was our least favorite b and b. We were traveling with our adult son and his friend, and they were going to stay at a hostel down the road. The Strathness House proprietors did not even want us to bring our son in to the building. I understand these places get totally... More 

Helpful?
Thank sandsprite
Joan S, Owner at Strathness House, responded to this review

We were absolutely taken aback to read this review. It came as a big shock. These guests never at any time of their stay expressed to us that they were not happy or felt unwelcomed . They engaged in a conversation about their son and how good an IT person he was. So much so that he was one of... More 

Edwardsville, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked this room through booking.com and was disappointed. When we got there, the price we booked was 100 pounds a night (breakfast NOT included) but were told when we got there that the booking.com price for a twin room was 105 pounds a night, but ended up being charged 110 pounds. I found this to be very deceptive and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cathy M
Joan S, Owner at Strathness House, responded to this review

I am sorry that you felt you were deceived. It quite clearly states on Booking.com that the rate is ROOM ONLY and breakfast is available at an extra charge, that you can add. I would also like to add that you failed to read your reservation correctly. You reserved for ONE person and the quoted price reflected this. However when... More 

roma
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We really enjoyed this place, we will definitely come back again, beautiful hotel, great location, clean and amazing staff! The owners gave us really useful tips to visit the surroundings, it was really a nice surprise! Hope to come back next year!

Helpful?
Thank vale6478
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Strathness House is run by a helpful and obliging couple. It's situated by the River Ness, opposite the cathedral, and a short walk from Inverness' shops and restaurants. The lounge is tastefully decorated in tartan and is a quiet place to sit and relax. It has an upmarket and tranquil feel. Breakfasts can be substantial and should suit most tastes.... More 

Helpful?
Thank 81MRC
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2016

The Strathness House is situated in a prime location next to the cathedral, within easy walking distance of most everything downtown, including the train station which is about 5 to 7 minutes. The hotel itself is very clean and well kept. The staff are warn and welcoming with great recommendations and suggestions for activities and dining. Our room was spacious... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Ivygladefarm
Level Contributor
127 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2016

We had a wonderful stay at this property. The rooms are large and spacious, the ownership is very friendly and breakfast was wonderful. There is a large parlor to hang out with other guests and is walking distance from a lot of great pubs and restaurants. The river is right outside the front door and makes for a very picturesque... More 

Helpful?
Thank PCTravel
North Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2016 via mobile

Absolutely nothing has changed. Same great friendly faces. Familiarity from morning breakfast and room cleaning staff (remembered me from previous visits) Same superb 1st class service. Same delicious full Scottish breakfast cooked to order plus continental offering. Same spotlessly clean nicely decorated and recently updated (window frames painted) room. This guest house should be a 5 star simply because that... More 

Helpful?
Thank LanarkshiresBrettney
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

118 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (109)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#15 of 33 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 stars 621 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#23 of 33 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 stars 474 reviews
0.4 mi away
pentahotel Inverness
pentahotel Inverness
#22 of 33 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 stars 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A Victorian terraced townhouse, set on the banks of the river Ness and overlooking the Inverness Castle. Strathness House is a family-run guest house with all the facilities of a small hotel. Of the twelve rooms, eight have beautiful river and castle views. Situated in a prime area of the city centre, it is the ideal place to stay in Inverness where emphasis is placed on the guest with the personal service that is given by the staff. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Strathness House

Address: Ness Walk 4 Ardross Terrace | Next to St Andrew's Cathedral, Inverness IV3 5NQ, Scotland (Formerly Tower Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Price Range: $108 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Strathness House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Strathness House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathness House Hotel Inverness
Strathness House Inverness, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay