We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Winston Guest House

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Winston Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

143 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 109: English reviews
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2016 via mobile

On arrival on a wet windy afternoon left outside awaiting for someone to pop across from the best western palace. Through the glass door could see staff sorting out the laundry who could have let me in to the dry and out of the wind!! The lady that eventually came from the palace let us inside and was very nice... More 

Helpful?
Thank David A
Della E, Operations Support Manager at Winston Guest House, responded to this review

Dear David A, Thank you for posting your review about your stay at The Winston. I am so sorry to read that the service you received was so inhospitable. I can understand your disappointment and this is certainly not how we would expect our guests to be welcomed. I would like to assure you that this with will be addressed... More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2016

Pros: :Location quite good. Short walk to Inverness centre. Cons: All the following applies to top floor room (within roof space). The only daylight came from a very small skylight and a very small sash lock window positioned in the corner of the room with a view of the housing estate - dire! Absolutely no fixed shelf space, of any... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank bfe2013
Della E, Operations Support Manager at Winston Guest House, responded to this review

Dear bfe2013, Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. We have been very sorry to read of your experience and that you have been left so disappointed. We always encourage our guests to let us know of any issues that have arisen while they are here so that we can try and resolve the problem for the better.... More 

Travelers are raving about these Inverness hotels

Wantage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2016

easy to find, limited parking out the front, or park down the road in the carpark, pay an display, I managed to park by the side of the guest house. check in was quick an we had a room on the first floor overlooking the river an castle. room was quite large, perhaps a little on the tired side, but... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank cubankid1
Della E, Operations Support Manager at Winston Guest House, responded to this review

Dear cubankid, Thank you for posting your review about the Winston. It's great that you enjoyed your visit to Inverness and that the location was perfect for you. There has been some changes and we're very excited about the future. The house is a beautiful example of Victorian splendour on the River Ness and with some investment and tender loving... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2016

I arrived after a long train trip, Inverness seemed quite expensive but the Winston was OK, £50 a night for nice room with sizzling breakfast next morning. Well situated near shops and train station. Nice staff.

Helpful?
Thank Chris_Plunket
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2016 via mobile

This guest house has a great location on the banks of the River Ness close to the City centre. Rooms are clean and comfortable and the breakfast is excellent. The welcome is friendly. There is no private parking but plenty on street which is cheap and only starts from 10am.

Helpful?
Thank Brian P
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2016

SPENT hogmany that is 31st. . December and 1st January at this clean, spacious and welcoming guest house. Don't miss the bacon in this well cooked, hot breakfast. OK. the shower was not the best but adequate , but the room rates were good. Stones throw from city centre and right on the banks of the river Ness. would return... More 

Helpful?
Thank frank r
Letham, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2015

I stayed at this Guest House from the 11th till the 14th of November. The room was clean & tidy, the bed was really comfortable! The staff who work there are very helpful, & the breakfast is amazing! The only down point is that there is no parking- you have to park your car down the road, and pay £4.50... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca G
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2015

Breakfast well worth the money, clean rooms, friendly an helpful staff. The location was convenient and just near the Ness river. Nice to have tea and coffee in the rooms, in general the coffee was not that great.

Helpful?
Thank Reima V
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2015

Good value for money accomodation in a central location directly located at the river Ness and opposite to the castle.We enjoyed our stay and recommend the place for a short trip. We had a friendly welcome. The landlady was quite helpful with providing recommendations for dinner and we got a city map of Inverness as well. The breakfast was good... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephan127
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2015 via mobile

Handy Handy for the theatre cathedral and shops and not expensive. Splendid double room with two double beds! Superb view over the River Ness towards the Castle. Easy walking distance into town, almost next to the cathedral and very close to Eden Court theatre. Public car park by the cathedral. Tiny but adequate toilet and shower. Large tv and (unusually)... More 

Helpful?
Thank Artjo
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

49 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
MacDonald House
MacDonald House
#133 of 239 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 stars 37 reviews
0.0 mi away
Strathness House
Strathness House
#14 of 239 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 stars 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Whin Park Guest House
Whin Park Guest House
#196 of 239 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 stars 51 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hawthorn Lodge Guest House
Hawthorn Lodge Guest House
#118 of 239 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 stars 34 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mardon Guest House
Mardon Guest House
#37 of 239 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 stars 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Winston Guest House and Cottage is attractive end terrace Inverness guest house situated in the heart of Inverness on the banks of the River Ness opposite Inverness Castle. You are minutes walk away from shops, restaurants and entertainment in Inverness. And just a five minute walk from Eden Court Theatre. With a lovely view over the river to the castle you are perfectly positioned to explore the city of Inverness or make it your base to see the Scottish Highlands. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Winston Guest House

Address: 10 Ardross Terrace, Inverness IV3 5NQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Price Range: $106 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Winston Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Winston Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winston Guest House Hotel Inverness
Winston Guest House Inverness, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay