We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Columba Hotel, Inverness

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Columba Hotel, Inverness
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,144 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Columba Hotel, Inverness
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,062: English reviews
aberdeen
Reviewed June 14, 2015 via mobile

Have just returned from a wonderful weekend away. We had a room with beautiful views of the river and castle. Room was really spacious, huge bathroom and lovely decor. My husband called ahead to request flowers and prosecco in the room, this was no trouble atall. Attentive staff and good food. Perfect location for sight seeing, shopping or a relaxing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sopsam
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, Inverness, responded to this review

Dear Guest - WOW, Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted you enjoyed yur stay with us and will share your kind words with my team. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon. With warm regrards, Amy and Team Columba

Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 12, 2015

Stayed for 2 nights for work. My room was nice a bit dated but a good size, clean and quiet. It faced the river Ness and the castle. Bed was comfy, TV was the size of a stamp!! bathroom was fine shower not bad. I ate in the bistro, both nights the bistro was very busy and the have a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Allyballyp
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, Inverness, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review following your recent two night stay with us. I was deligthed that overall you enjoyed your stay and will share you kind words with my team. All feedback is essential to us to ensure we are providing the best service and products we can. I do hope we have the chance to welcome...

Vienna, Austria
Reviewed June 12, 2015

We spent one night at the Columba Hotel. We booked online and got what they call the Bed and Breakfast Rate, making the stay about half the price of a typical bnb, therefore although the hotel is seriously not the best I've seen I rate it 4 points for value. Starting with the good things: The location is very nice,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GuenterD1980
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, Inverness, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review following your recent one night stay with us. I am delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay and will share your kind words with my team. All feedbak is essential in my business as it help us to continually improve ont he services and products we offer. I do hope we have the...

Stornoway, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 10, 2015

I had a two night stay in this hotel whilst on business. The room I was given was spacious and clean. The bathroom was clean with a decent shower. On the second day I had work to do and used the residents lounge to do it in. Not only did I have a stunning room, but I was given complimentary...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ipitter
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, Inverness, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I was delighted you enjoyed your stay and will share you very kind words with my team. I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon. With warm regards, Amy and Team Columba

Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 4, 2015

a nice hotel,room was big and clean and a big bathroom with clean linen every day breakfast was buffet style and was very good,staff very friendly and helpfull.hotel near too all the local amenities.only thing was there was no car parking,i had to pay 15 pounds for 3 days to park at a local car park 5 minutes walk from...

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank fionaa641
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, Inverness, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review following your recent break with us. I was delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and found all our services and the team took care of you. Your kind words will be shared with all my team. I do hope we can welcome you back very soon. With warm regards, Amy and...

Bogmalo, India
Reviewed June 3, 2015

I have stayed in Inverness on many occasions but this time I had to book last minute and the usual hotels I stay at were all fully booked. I then booked the Columba Hotel thinking it would be of a similar standard (due to the same price category) but I was certainly disappointed. The welcome was cold but functional, the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Redlady155
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, Inverness, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your thoughts following a recent stay with us. I am sorry the lift was not working but was quickly fixed within a few hours. Our FREE WIFI covers the entire hotel, I do hope you asked one of the team to asssit you. It is agreat shame that we did not meet with all your...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 1, 2015 via mobile

Me and my beloved one spent our time in ness suite , the view was spectacular , everything about the room was so marvellous . I have requested for rose petals on bed and this was done by the hotel , which is very kind of them . Thank you for everything .

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Evrimglider
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, Inverness, responded to this review

Dear Guest, WOW thank you so much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is a truly stunning view from the Ness Suite and I will share your very kind words with amm ly team. I do hope we can welcome you back very son. With warm regards, Amy and Team Columba.

Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 29, 2015

Great central location and parking close by at the cathedral. The reception area and entrance was welcoming. Our room was clean and well equipped but being at the back of the hotel we had to pass through a maze of well worn corridors where carpets were frayed and paint work badly chipped. All in all with the advance online rate...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ann W
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, Inverness, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I was delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and that the team looked after you. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. With best regards, Amy and Team Columba

Washington DC
Reviewed May 29, 2015

Family trip with our elderly mother and 25 yr old niece. The place met all our needs and more. Both nights we did get free parking right in front of the hotel - there aren't a lot of spaces. The views are just incredible - so I would gently insist on this. The furnishings are basic but comfortable. Our room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank laughingtraveler
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, Inverness, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I was delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and will share your kind words with my team. I do hope we have the great pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. With warm regards, Amy and Team Columba

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 27, 2015

The positives definitely outweighed the negatives at this hotel. First the positives; comfy, well equipped rooms and we experienced no noise issues over our 3 night stay. However, my double room was quite small and was ideal for me as I was on my own in the room but if I'd been staying there for the 3 nights and been...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank alysonhome
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, Inverness, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review following your recent stay with us. Overall I am pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. All feedback is paramount ot us to ensure we are getting it right across the board and I will ensure we take note and correct some of the points you have mentioned. I hope we have...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

276 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (249)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (137)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#17 of 34 in Inverness
1,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Mercure Inverness Hotel
Mercure Inverness Hotel
#28 of 34 in Inverness
1,051 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#14 of 34 in Inverness
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Food & drink at the hotel
McNab's Bar & Bistro
McNab's Bar & Bistro
Cuisines: Bar, British, Scottish, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Columba Hotel, Inverness UK. Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality is a 4-star hotel built in 1881. The hotel boasts a perfect position in the very heart of Inverness, yet located in a peaceful area offering marvelous views of Inverness Castle and the River Ness. There are 82 en suite bedrooms including a deluxe suite, many with river and castle views, restaurant and bar. The decor of Columba Hotel combines contemporary style and amenities with traditional comfort each room features excellent facilities as well as free high-speed wireless is available throughout the building. During the winter, the trees lining along Ness Walk are beautifully decked with fairy lights. The city has a host of historic buildings, notably in the Old Town, as well as fascinating shops from the Victorian Market to the new award-winning Eastgate centre which is a just a short walk away. You can also take a stroll to Inverness Castle or St Andrew's Cathedral, set alongside the River Ness, one of Britain's most beautiful riverside settings. There is a circular walk from the castle along the river and through the Ness Islands and you can watch anglers trying to catch Atlantic salmon - or try it yourself with a daily ticket. There are forest walks and views of the Moray Firth from Craig Phadrig, the hill that towers over the city. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Columba Hotel, Inverness

Address: 7 Ness Walk, Inverness IV3 5NF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Price Range: $96 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Columba Hotel, Inverness 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Columba Hotel, Inverness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columba Hotel, Inverness Scotland
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Columba Hotel, Inverness staff and other travelers.
15 questions
Ask a question
north lanarkshire
6 months ago
over a year ago
Darlington, County Durham
Tangerang, Indonesia

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Columba Hotel, Inverness staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Worth paying the extra for a river view room.”
kerryandrich, 1 week ago | Read review
“Best views face the river”
vegeellison, 1 week ago | Read review
“ask for a castle view although I think it's an extra charge”
janicew146, 1 week ago | Read review
“A view of river Ness ,good outlook”
charlie19482016, 1 week ago | Read review
“Ask for a river view”
EMFORCORS, 3 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question