We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Columba Hotel, Inverness

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Columba Hotel, Inverness
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,123 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,044: English reviews
Start your review of Columba Hotel, Inverness
 Click to rate
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We were in a small room which despite our best efforts with the heating system remained stubbornly cold. The bathroom in particular was very cold! Dinner was only average with a pathetic attempt at cooking vegetables. The beds were comfortable enough but we just couldn't get warm. Breakfast was ok and the service was good. All in all this was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ian G
Management response:

Dear Guest, thank you kindly for your feedback. We are very sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay at the Columba Hotel. We do have additional heaters that we can supply if our Guests require. This is detailed in our Guest Information Packs. Our Guests are vary with the temperature of the Hotel and some of the...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Bought a deal for my mum for Xmas but would not recommend this establishment to anyone else. The staff are very friendly but that's the only positive thing I can say about our stay. The place is tatty and run down, the food poor and the wine expensive. Not in any way a 4 star hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Anne B
Management response:

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay. Very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay and found our Hotel to not meet your expectations. Positive to hear you found our team friendly. We are in the process of injecting capital into the Hotel to improve areas requiring attention. Your...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed here for one night as part of a deal with afternoon tea, dinner and breakfast. Staff are all very friendly and attentive however the hotel is complete dump. The room and corridor leading to it had a fusty smell, the on-suite was v dated and the carpets and decor have not been touched for decades. It was off to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank stephen0512
Management response:

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to write your feedback following your one night stay. We are truly very disappointed to read that we failed to meet your expectations and you did not enjoy your stay. Your comments will be taken on board and discussed with the Team. We do recognise that some areas in the Hotel require...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited the Columba on a 2 day visit. Our first impression was this hotel would suit for a central location and will be Great for exploring the city. When shown our room we couldn't believe how dated it was. Not wanting to make an issue we just accepted that the room was old and as we didn't plan to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank graham m
Management response:

Dear Guest, thank you for providing feedback following your short stay with us. We are very sorry that we failed to meet your expectations and you did not enjoy your time at the Columba Hotel. Your comments will be shared with our Departments today and any remedial action will be taken. Our Hotel is a Victorian Building which has lots...

scotland, uk
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Central location, great views from in-house MacNabs Bar of castle and River Ness. Staff courteous and helpful. Booked twin room but double in room, however this was rectified in no time. Meals all good and decent prices. Hotel warm and welcoming. Would go again and recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank a_suthers
Management response:

Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, staff were helpful and food enjoyable. We will share your comments with the team. Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Columba Hotel

Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We returned to the Columbia as we thought the location was great. Our room was a shabby small space with a glass skip smashing outside the bathroom window. We paid extra to upgrade for our two night stay. The upgrade was passable. Food was nothing special, service was good. With our deal we got 2 tickets to have our first...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dodnbunty285
Management response:

Dear Guest, please accept our sincere apologies for such a disappointing stay. Your comments made will be discussed at our Management meeting. We do have 2 bottles bins at the back of the Hotel which are emptied once a week but after 9am in the morning. We are very sorry if this caused you a disturbance if asleep at this...

Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely hotel situated on the banks of the river ness and serves a lovely choice of breakfast. Located in a great location its close in proximity to Inverness town which boasts an abundant choice of Restaurant’s / bars, all within walking distance to the town you will find the local train / Bus station. For those of you who enjoy...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Liane N
Management response:

Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and our prime location. Your comments will be shared with the team. Pleased that you found our Breakfast a lovely selection. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards Columba Hotel

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent day/night arranged for my cousins suzies hen the 4th March. We loved it the staff location food drinks everything. Thanks Yvonne Macaulay and your sister. The hospitality was excellent thankyou.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mairi Jo B
Management response:

Dear Guest, thank you kindly for providing us feedback following your cousin's hen party. We are delighted that you enjoyed your party. We will share your feedback with the team as they will be delighted to hear you had a great time. Kind regards Columba Hotel

Ayr, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed on an itison deal dinner bed and breakfast plus cream tea. On arrival the reception staff were very helpful and polite told us we could park around the corner for £4.50 for 24hrs as this hotel has no parking. The room was lovely and clean the bathroom was very dated but nice and clean shower was good. We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sharon m
Management response:

Dear guest, thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and the team were helpful and friendly. Your feedback following your meal will be shared with our Kitchen Team. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your main course or your chosen dessert. We hope this will not prevent you from returning. With kind regards...

Isle of Lewis, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked this via a 3rd party site to get a better deal, I often wonder when you use a 3rd party site do the hoteliers look at your booking and put you in a "not so good room"...maybe! Check in was ok, no queue, charged to price as advertised. We were in a room 2nd floor and a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lesley3405
Management response:

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to post feedback following your stay. I hope you were able to share your feedback at the time with one of our Team . Indeed if you were unhappy with your room, we could have looked to see if we had an alternative room available. Our Reception team always try to accommodate...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

270 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (243)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (131)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#19 of 34 in Inverness
1,714 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#18 of 34 in Inverness
554 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Inverness Hotel
Mercure Inverness Hotel
#29 of 34 in Inverness
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Food & drink at the hotel
McNab's Bar & Bistro
McNab's Bar & Bistro
Cuisines: Bar, British, Scottish, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Columba Hotel, Inverness UK. Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality is a 4-star hotel built in 1881. The hotel boasts a perfect position in the very heart of Inverness, yet located in a peaceful area offering marvelous views of Inverness Castle and the River Ness. There are 82 en suite bedrooms including a deluxe suite, many with river and castle views, restaurant and bar. The decor of Columba Hotel combines contemporary style and amenities with traditional comfort each room features excellent facilities as well as free high-speed wireless is available throughout the building. During the winter, the trees lining along Ness Walk are beautifully decked with fairy lights. The city has a host of historic buildings, notably in the Old Town, as well as fascinating shops from the Victorian Market to the new award-winning Eastgate centre which is a just a short walk away. You can also take a stroll to Inverness Castle or St Andrew's Cathedral, set alongside the River Ness, one of Britain's most beautiful riverside settings. There is a circular walk from the castle along the river and through the Ness Islands and you can watch anglers trying to catch Atlantic salmon - or try it yourself with a daily ticket. There are forest walks and views of the Moray Firth from Craig Phadrig, the hill that towers over the city. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Columba Hotel, Inverness

Address: 7 Ness Walk, Inverness IV3 5NF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Price Range: $77 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Columba Hotel, Inverness 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Columba Hotel, Inverness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columba Hotel, Inverness Scotland
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Columba Hotel, Inverness staff and other travelers.
15 questions
Ask a question
north lanarkshire
5 months ago
11 months ago
Darlington, County Durham
Tangerang, Indonesia

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Columba Hotel, Inverness staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Run for the hills”
 of 5 bubbles stephen0512, 1 week ago | Read review
“Pot luck with the budget rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Dodnbunty285, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Get a room on the front for the view”
 of 5 bubbles Lesley3405, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“River view room”
 of 5 bubbles O5129DSanneb, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Executive rooms have view of the river ;-)”
 of 5 bubbles TiggerPucca, 4 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question