We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Columba Hotel, Inverness

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Columba Hotel, Inverness
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

992 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 919: English reviews
Scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stopped in at Macnabs, part of the Columba Hotel for a Highland Cream Tea. Lovely location by the river and on a sunny morning great for people watching. Good tea, with enough in a pot for 2 good cups. The Cream scone and shortbread was presented nicely but don't think either were actually homemade as they looked more shop bought.... More 

Helpful?
Thank ScotlandChez
Brisbane
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed as part of a tour group. Rooms are clean, no frills. Agree with some of the other comments. Rooms and dining area are uncomfortably hot. Duty Manager Brian was a great host and a credit to the hotel. Other staff helpful but not of the same calibre. Was very disappointed with the food offering for our tour group -... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank newtravellerbrisbane
Warrnambool, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

For the room ordered at high price, we have very 'quaint' facilities. A small room, small bed and Internet really that works by the door. Not a lot of room for baggage to open up Dining facilities for the DBB package are basic and unappealing. Not sure what background the cook would have, but the menu and food do equate.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank JohnR_Timboon

Travelers are raving about these Inverness hotels

Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This was by far the worst stay I ever experienced. We were 8 persons with 4 rooms, and we all had a disastrous experience, it can't get worst than this place. Hotel is filthy, worn out and the staff is rude and impolite, manager included. We were greeted by SOSO who made a point to rebuke us on basic question,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny M
Management response:

Thank you for posting a review following your stay at the Columba Hotel. Firstly, I would like to apologise profusely for such a disappointing stay thus failing to meet all your expectations. By the content of your email, we did not look after you from the very start and for that I truly apologise. All your comments mentioned are being... More 

Ceres, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

We stayed in a room with a baby that was so hot....and i mean sweaty, no air to breathe, HOT all night even when it was cold outside. If you left a dog in that heat you would be prosecuted, yet the hotel thinks putting humans in it, is OK!!!! No air conditioning, the only window that faces a brick... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline G
Management response:

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post feedback following your recent stay with us. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. I hope that you were able to speak to one of the Managers on shift about your dissatisfaction as I am sure they would have done their best to move you to a... More 

Level Contributor
254 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A grand old building with a beautiful staircase overlooking the river. Well, some rooms might. You pay extra for that. A real rabbit warren of corridors, and some rooms hard to find. What I expect from 4 stars are small touches like tissues, hand washer and bedside lights that work. Sure I could ring reception and port these shortcomings but... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank wolfsbite
Management response:

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. I am sorry for such a truly disappointing stay as it is certainly not our intentions to have Guests leave dissatisfied. It is unacceptable to not have bedside lights working in your room as our maintenance check these on a daily basis. I will certainly... More 

Stoney Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

tired hotel on a quiet street about a 15 minute walk to the square restaurants and pubs nearby we had a good sized room and bathroom with all the amenities the meal in the dining was fine and the buffet breakfast was good the hotel is showing its age but has an efficient and helpful staff

Helpful?
1 Thank ciaotutti82
Management response:

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post feedback following your recent stay. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed all services and found the team to be efficient and helpful. We are currently working through a programme to upgrade and improve the Hotel as it is important to listen to our guests. Kind regards Columba hotel More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed two nights here. Room was comfortable although we could hear people moving about in there rooms next door and above. If you have a car, parking is available about 100 metres away for a small fee of £4.50 a night. The bar has a good atmosphere for a drink after your day of sightseeing and a great Italian restaurant... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank kylie s
Management response:

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback following your recent stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. It is always good to hear good comments. We are sorry about noise factor from the other rooms around you. We hope the see you again in Inverness. Kind regards Columba Hotel More 

Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

While this hotel boasts a fabulous facade and front view of the River Ness, the rest of the place is a bit depressing. We stayed here for only one night (Thank God) as part of a tour group. Some members of the tour group got front facing rooms that even had nice sitting areas in them, and they raved about... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Lisa_A_Wilson
Management response:

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback following your recent stay. I do hope that you were able to share your comments at the time whilst here as certainly it is not our intentions to hear of guests departing disappointed. We are truly sorry for such a disappointing stay. I appreciate you found your... More 

Carugate
Level Contributor
141 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Situated just over the bridge in the central area, this hotel has quite old bathrooms and even older fixtures. Friendly personnel, breakfast good enough. The main advantage of the hotel is its position, ideal to visit the city.

Helpful?
1 Thank SchnellCarugate
Management response:

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post feedback following your recent stay. We are pleased that you found the team to be friendly and you found breakfast to be enjoyable. Please be rest assured the team will see your comments. I am sorry if you found our bathrooms old and the Hotel to have old fixtures. We... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

247 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (220)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (114)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.3 mi away
pentahotel Inverness
pentahotel Inverness
#22 of 33 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 stars 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#15 of 33 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 stars 621 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#18 of 33 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 stars 1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Food & drink at the hotel
McNab's Bar & Bistro
McNab's Bar & Bistro
Cuisines: Bar, British, Scottish, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Columba Hotel, Inverness UK Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality is a 4-star hotel built in 1881 the hotel boasting a perfect position in the very heart of Inverness, yet located in a peaceful area offering marvelous views of Inverness Castle and the River Ness. There are 82 en suite bedrooms including a deluxe suite, many with river and castle views, restaurant and bar. The décor of Columba Hotel combines contemporary style and amenities with traditional comfort each room features excellent facilities as well as free high-speed wireless is available throughout the building. During the winter, the trees lining along Ness Walk are beautifully decked with fairy lights. The city has a host of historic buildings, notably in the Old Town, as well as fascinating shops from the Victorian Market to the new award-winning Eastgate centre which is a just a short-walk away. You can also take a stroll to Inverness Castle or St Andrew's Cathedral, set alongside the River Ness, one of Britain's most beautiful riverside settings. There is a circular walk from the castle along the river and through the Ness Islands and you can watch anglers trying to catch Atlantic salmon - or try it yourself with a daily ticket. There are forest walks and views of the Moray Firth from Craig Phadrig, the hill that towers over the city. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Columba Hotel, Inverness

Address: 7 Ness Walk, Inverness IV3 5NF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Price Range: $81 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Columba Hotel, Inverness 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Columba Hotel, Inverness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columba Hotel, Inverness Scotland
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay