We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Macdonald Drumossie Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Macdonald Drumossie Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

502 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 474: English reviews
perth
Level Contributor
116 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

room 300 Chanonry Suite.. amazing room one of our favourites! stayed 2 nights for our 36th anniversary. staff excellent, special mention to Rolans who looked after us very well!! one blip fire alarm went off at 0325 and no one knew much about it! food once again very good, 3rd time we have been here and it wont be the... More 

Helpful?
Thank 12121874
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
293 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here with my wife for 2 nights while visiting Inverness and the Hotel is in a nice quiet location but it was hard to find at first because the address needs a few more details. Check-in went well and the room was large, clean and modern.The restaurant was nice but the options were limited and the portion size... More 

Helpful?
Thank 123Shane
Aviemore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This isn't the usual modern hotel, its an art deco style one, even the corridors are rounded. Bedroom was huge with 2 rooms, well decorated and the beds were all very comfortable. The bar area was classic, very unmodern, smelled strange but it may just be the old furniture, which was in great condition BTW. Very comfortable sleep and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank aaron s
Denny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in an executive room for two nights. Our room was spacious with a big comfy bed and a big bathroom with bath tub and shower. The room was clean except for a layer of dust on the headboard of the bed which seems to have been missed out for a while by the housekeeping staff. This was the... More 

Helpful?
Thank missjille
IvanFranssen, Managing Director at Macdonald Drumossie Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your kind review. I am delighted you enjoyed the comfort of our executive bedrooms, our beds were all replaced a few months ago and with mattress comforters and Egyptian linen they are very comfortable. Please accept my apologies for the poor standard of housekeeping, I have discussed this oversight with our Head Housekeeper who also... More 

Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This wedding had been booked about 20 months ago. From then on we have visited from Stirlingshire several times and on all account the staff have made us feel at ease about the wedding. We arrived early the day before the wedding and our rooms were ready. We were met by Nancy and again she went over the itinerary for... More 

Helpful?
Thank fjack2016
IvanFranssen, Managing Director at Macdonald Drumossie Hotel, responded to this review

Dear fjack2016 Thank you so much for your kind review. The team and I are delighted to hear you had a fantastic wedding day and felt relaxed throughout. At Drumossie we pride ourselves in providing a first class wedding venue, great food and high standard service, the management team work together ensuring all details are taken care of. We would... More 

Carlsbad, California, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely perfect. Our room was large and well furnished with all the amenities. The bathroom was spacious with separate bath and shower, with a towel warmer. It is the only hotel in the past 2 weeks with a blow dryer near an outlet by a mirror. The hotels staff service was impeccable. Beba and Justyna were 2 excellent staff members... More 

Helpful?
Thank 419Kathy
IvanFranssen, Managing Director at Macdonald Drumossie Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 419Kathy Thank you so much for your wonderful review, both myself and the team are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Our bedrooms are all very comfortable and have the extra luxury of large bathrooms accommodating both a bath and shower. Baiba and Justyna are first class team members, they are dedicated in providing excellent customer... More 

Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We are two couples who thought we had booked premium rooms at a top quality hotel through an agency and instead were surprised with airport quality tiny rooms, terrible for premium travelers but perhaps okay for drunken locals. Tiny, beaten within an inch of its life, this room should be put out of its misery and something with modern plumbing... More 

Helpful?
Thank DARM2001
IvanFranssen, Managing Director at Macdonald Drumossie Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David M Thank you for your review, I am sorry to hear that you were not entirely satisfied with your stay. At Drumossie we have 3 categories of bedrooms, Classic, Executive and Feature all of which are 4 star. I am unsure which third party agent you booked with as you mention a premium room. The bedroom lamps are... More 

Omaha, NE
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived after a very long day of travel to be met with sour faces and cool dispositions. Certainly not the welcome we were used to receiving in Edinburgh or St. Andrews! When we asked for help with our luggage, help with the nonexistent wifi, or even simply a "to go" cup for our morning coffee, we were met with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Suhyou
IvanFranssen, Managing Director at Macdonald Drumossie Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Suhyou Thank you for your review, I am very disappointed to hear you did not receive a warm welcome on arrival, the front desk team are very customer focused and I must apologise that you did not find this to be the case on your arrival. ' To go' coffee cups is not something we have been asked to... More 

Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Now the room was quaint but what a kooky place. Service was very slow at the front desk and confused in the dining room. The saving grace was a bright young helpful employee named Ewan who seemed to be resolving situations for guests everywhere. He pounced on our lounge order, corrected our dinner order mix up, and offered valuable advice... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank TMnEL
IvanFranssen, Managing Director at Macdonald Drumossie Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TMnEL Thank you for your review, I am sorry to hear you did not find the hotel to your liking. Please accept apologies for the mix up with your dinner order, I understand Ewan had taken the order and the restaurant member whom he had given it to had confused part of it, I am pleased to hear Ewan... More 

Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I booked a trip to Inverness at the last minute and found this hotel on Trip Advisor. It didn't have a very high ranking but we didn't have many options. I took note that the room tips said "book an executive room cause others are quite small", so I did. I have to say of all the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank AgathaChristie2012
IvanFranssen, Managing Director at Macdonald Drumossie Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AgathaChristie2012 Thank you so much for your kind review. We have 3 types of rooms, all very comfortable and all with large bathrooms which all have seperate bath and shower. We provide luxury range of bedding and also beautiful toiletries, which I am delighted to hear you enjoyed, all touches which add to a pleasant stay. Our country location... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

126 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (123)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#7 of 33 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 stars 1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
2.4 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#3 of 33 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 stars 422 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Macdonald Drumossie Hotel

Address: Old Perth Road, Inverness IV2 5BE, Scotland (Formerly New Drumossie Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Price Range: $100 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Drumossie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Macdonald Drumossie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Drumossie Hotel Inverness, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Inverness
#7 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#10 Family Hotel in Inverness
#12 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay